We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend to friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Oriental Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not recommend to friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed there for 3 days there with my boss during our business trip. It was may. Very big lobby and staff willing to cooperate. However I found quite a few mosquitoes in room and ac was noisy. Bathroom clean but there was no force in shower. Old hotel with good explanation of its history in lobby. Small bed no satellite tv channel & dirty rooms. 96 dollar with breakfast expensive choice. Breakfast excellent with harbour view. I do not recommend it. Ramesh parajuli from Nepal

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    80
    119
    48
    42
See reviews for
42
99
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The only thing Grand about this hotel was the name!. The air conditioning in my room did not work, the shower recess flooded the bathroom and when I put my laundry out it did not all come back. The hotel staff did not try to locate the laundry items and sent three men to my room to obtain a description of the lost underwear. The hotel was not clean and there were small piles of dirt in various locations. The food was very ordinary. The hotel was large and the lifts way too small. In an emergency such as a fire it would be bedlam. Fortunately I was able to find alternate accommodation for the remainder of my stay in Columbo. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone - if you must stay there - do your own laundry and take gum boots for when you shower!

Room Tip: There is no pool and I didn't see a fitness centre??
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

GOH is probably the oldest hotel in Colombo. If you love nostalgia, it`s the right place to stay. Even Chehov stayed in that place.
But..GOH needs definitely refurbishment!!! Especially bad rooms. I stayed 3times in GOH and always were the same case with bad rooms : quite old and not 100% clean.
Since the hotel was used to be a barrack for the British army most of the rooms are quite big. Generally it is quite loud in the hotel.
Staff is not so professional.
The single room price( 96 USD incl. breakfast) is a little bit to high for this hotel. But I guesssince all the other hotels in Colombo are much more expensive, the GOH Management dont see any need to change it.
Harbour Room, where you can have breakfast, lunch, dinner is the best part of the hotel. Very nice view to harbour.
Summary : if you stay only for 1 or 2 nights, it is ok.


PS: No swimming pool.But all the rooms have air condition.

Room Tip: 308, 316 are quite big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

On a recent vacation trip to Sri Lanka, my tour agent had made bookings for my group of 8 at the Grand Oriental Hotel, Upon arrival at about 9.30pm, we were met by a bellhop who refused to help carry our luggage. The staff at the reception were so rude and unfriendly. Though we were booked into the new wing, the staff refused to provide us rooms there. Instead we were shown rooms at the old wing which had heavy cigarette and liquor stench, old furniture, a noisy air-conditioner and the list can go on. No progress even after our tour agent had spoken with the Manager. When we turned down the old wing rooms, the Manager told us curtly that we could leave.
Fortunately, our tour agent made alternative arrangements at The Hilton where we had a wonderful stay.
I strongly advise anyone visiting Colombo to give the Grand Oriental Hotel a miss. Don't be fooled by what is written on their website.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A old hotel in Colombo but great! Fantastic Rooms! Great staff. Having stayed in the Deluxe room we enjoyed our stay in the Grand Oriental Hotel! The only disadvantage was that there was no channel to watch Euro 2012 and you'd have to go to watch in Hilton! other than that everything else was very nice! I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A dump is what I would call it. Spent one night and then ran away to Ramada in Colombo. I landed by the early morning flight from Mumbai and reached the hotel at 6 am. They gave me a room saying use this room till 10 am as all rooms are full. The room was terrible. A small bed, shower churning out water drop by drop... Everything that could go wrong was wrong here. And to think it was USD 96 for a night. Whatever other reviewers may have said, I would say just don't go there. Avoid like plague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived here after a flight from the maldives, and the hotel is in very british style.
The room was spacious and the bed really comfortable!
Right in front of the hotel there have been always drivers to you from a to b for very small money... (Never pay more than 350Rupees!)

We had breakfast the next day and it was really really nice, with fresh fruits and coffee...

Would definitaly stay here again, but if you´re more that kind of person that needs only a bed to sleep, I would recommed otheres.
One for example is Hotel Sairas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Address: 2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oriental Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.