We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombo zoo with 3 kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of National Zoological Gardens of Sri Lanka

National Zoological Gardens of Sri Lanka
Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Dehiwala, Colombo 10350, Sri Lanka
+94 11 2 761554
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 45 Attractions in Colombo
Type: Castles, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This zoo features animals from across Asia, as well as a nightly elephant circus.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Colombo zoo with 3 kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was hot, humid and overcrowded. Went there during Eid. It was not the best experience. We rushed though and skipped some displays.

It is expensive for the state the zoo is in. I have to say they have a good collection of animals, some that we had never seen before.

It is well organized. If You just follow the numbers, you will see all the animals.

Some animals are in a very poor state or very small enclosures.

It was an ok visit. Would not do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    20
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockdale, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Worth visiting for short time & more expensive for foreigners ???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

During my short visit in Central Colombo between 25/08/13 to 29/08/13 I decided to visit the local Zoo on Wednesday 28/08/13, i arrived early to avoid the crowds however I was surprised how many local families were waiting with many children when I arrived. On checking out the admission fee I'm surprised with the cost between the locals & foreigners & I paid Rs 2000, when I asked the staff why the cost is higher for foreigners they just said they just follow the rules !!! [Imagine over charging more for foreigners in Australia that would be called discrimination & many people would object]. The visit was OK and spent around 90min's looking around, the most enjoyable part for me was witnessing the Elephant bath time, the overall activity around the Zoo wasn't that exciting with many enclosures empty or animals sleeping, of course the gardens were crowded with many children & families...... Glad I went but wouldn't visit again & didn't see anything extra for my Rs 2000 !!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of the best Zoological garden I have ever visited. Very safe place for you and your family members to see all kinds of animals. So many varieties of animals are there from all around the world. I certainly recommended this place as a must visit place for any traveler. One of the major attraction in sri lanka for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sad Zoo with badly engaged animals.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a hot day when I visited the zoo it was fairly busy with locals who threw things at the animals to get them to move. The animals show signs of discomfort and most look sad and are caged in small areas. The cost of entry was 2000 for foreigners and 100 for locals, the reason for this is that foreiners can afford to.pay more. Ive never understood that policy but it happens in India too. The zoo needs to be upgraded and the animals need to be housed in larger areas. This kind of zoo should be closed as the animals all looked to be suffering.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great attraction for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Liked the acquarium the best. A little sad to see animals caged. It is a place to learn about animals and the variety is large. Still enjoy visiting the zoo every year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Zoological Gardens of Sri Lanka also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to National Zoological Gardens of Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Zoological Gardens of Sri Lanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.