We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo National Museum

Colombo National Museum
Albert Crescent, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 attractions in Colombo
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum of Asian civilizations is one of the oldest in Sri Lanka.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very sad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After all the museums I have visited over the years, I suppose i have high expectations. They were not met with this museum. The building is a beautiful colonial place, but it seems they forgot about adding anything about the colonial period (a big part of Sri Lankan history) and it seems from the few exhibits on display, that the only history to come to Colombo was 2000 years ago… several rocks does not a museum make.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    112
    64
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quite big and well maintained.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Quite good for history lovers. They've artefacts from all eras collected throughout the pearl island.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

One thing the colonials left behind is some wonderful buildings, and this is one of them. A very grand building.

The exhibits were well layed out and described, covering mainly the pre-colonial history.

We did want to see the natural history museum at the same location and were directed to it by fairly unhelpful staff. So after building up a 5 year olds expectations that he would get to see insects we got there only to find it was all closed - would have been helpful if this was communicated when we asked about it.

The is a large park with kids area right behind the National Museum, that is a pleasant place to vist afterwards.


Ticket pricing - seems a number of wingers about the difference in prices for foreigners and locals, have to say I am all for it. The 500 rupee entry is fair for tourists and the free entry for locals means they can afford to see their own national instutions. Any attempt to align the prices would exclude some locals - and that would be the most unfair outcome.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

But needs a bit of a spruce up :). I thought the place was interesting though, lots of quite ancient statues and reasonably well explained...under patronised and in need of renovation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

They have very good collection and the distribution of art with the periodic history is nicely done.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colombo National Museum also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Colombo National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colombo National Museum to your Saves list