We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to go for a Colombo only traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo National Museum

Colombo National Museum
Albert Crescent, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Attractions in Colombo
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum of Asian civilizations is one of the oldest in Sri Lanka.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best place to go for a Colombo only traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you dont have time to go and see the ruined cities in Anuradhapura or Polonnaruwa you may at least go and see what you can see in those places. Also if you wish to see the throne and the crown of the last Sri lankan King dont miss this place. If you are a foreign traveler on a short stay dont miss it. You will like the place for sure. After all it is a magnificiant building too with a large garden to relax.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    141
    74
    27
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The museum is only covering the Buddhist Sri Lankan kingdoms but nothing else. It is therefore not complete as the last 2 hundred years are only mentioned very briefly. The main focus is on Buddhism. I did expect more than that. Also the rooms are not air conditioned and we had to rush through as our baby had problems with the heat. You have to pay extra for taking photos - stupid.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I nearly didn't go to this Museum as I had seen some bad reviews but I did go and I am so pleased I did, I really enjoyed my visit and had a great couple of hours here. I went on a Friday so only 3 rooms were open but they were large and had many stunning artifacts on display. For the first time I also began to have an understanding of the history of Sri Lanka and became aware of the many historical sites on the island due to the extremely interesting and well displayed information in the first room I visited. As others have mentioned the building appears to be undergoing some renovation. The part of the Museum that I visited was very well maintained and newly painted. Warm yes, but not unbearably so, fans on to help us keep cool and after a long, cold English winter there is no way I am going to complain about heat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Huge Land but lacking Class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It's a nice location amidst situated in the heart of City.

Beautiful large land, green and beautifully landscaped but the real historical & valuable artifacts and not protected.

But it's a great place to know about strong history of Sri Lanka. This place shows the proud history.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quite a good experience for Sri Lankan Standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having viewed the Dutch museum in Pettah I was not sure if the Colombo Museum was going to be a disappointment. I was actually quite pleased with the display of things and the descriptions. Thanks to funding, especially from HSBC, the museum's rooms were very well organised. It was a pity that the overall museum did not have a printed guide that described the artefacts but that also would have given the person viewing an idea of the history and culture of Sri Lanka. The building itself done during Governor Henry Ward's period if fantastic. The gardens and the large Nuga Tree gives it a sense of calm. It was very hot though as there is no air conditioning inside. An attraction that must be on anyones list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colombo National Museum also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Colombo National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.