We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag - Amazing Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Galadari Hotel to your Saves list
Galadari Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mixed Bag - Amazing Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this property for 1 night mid-April 2013. Check-in was swift and efficient, however the room we stayed in was not what you would expect from a 5* property - rattan furniture, very tired decor and a general 'down-beat' feel. However, the view from the room was amazing - out over the Galle Face coast and Parliament buildings. The breakfast buffet was of a good standard and the staff were pleasant enough - although not what you would expect from a 5* property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjula K, Marketing Specialist at Galadari Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Edstar. Thank you for the review. We had similar comments on the decor and ambiance, but that was a few months back and had it fixed right away. Our guests have made references to the subtle changes we’ve introduced and are very happy with it. The rooms are in fact inspected regularly to ensure high standards. We are not in any way disregarding your feedback, but baffled by the very aspect that this has come through despite the regular checks we make to ensure guests are treated well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    172
    93
    52
    31
See reviews for
72
90
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Well, a beautiful property just beside the sea. The location of the pool is fantastic. Good food at the dining room. Staff was very attentive. Check in went smooth whereas check out was abit late compared to. Anyway that did not bother us as we were on our vacation to Sri Lanka. But if we were on Business, it would have made a big issue. So please be aware of it to protect the good service of the hotel.
Thank You

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjula K, Marketing Specialist at Galadari Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review Christine. We understand that delays can be very frustrating and does drag the entire experience down. This will be shared with the relevant division to ensure such service lapse does not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the first week of Feb 2013. It is a very nice sea facing property in Colombo. The location is very nice with sea view, parliament building and other 2-3 five star properties near to it. But there is not much shops in the nearby areas. Lobby, conference hall, and the staff are very nice. Standard rooms are bigger enough and clean. But I a little dissatisfied about the food especially lunch and dinner. Even though we had requested Indian food for the taste is not much Indianised. Even though the Indian dishes for the breakfast was not tasty there other so many options to have. Flexibility is one thing which I liked about this property. Our group which was there for the conference was allowed to continue meeting even after 10 pm in the night without any additional cost. The Gala dinner party was also well arranged. My only suggestion is they should have a very good Indian chef otherwise it is a very good property to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Sri Lanka and I am really glad we chose the Galadari Hotel. The reservation was made on telephone and the staff was very attentive and responsive. We got an offer of US$183/- double occupancy, inclusive of breakfast for two and taxes. The other 5-stars were quoting around the same rate. But we chose Galadari maybe because the photos on websites looked appealing but more importantly because they promised us early check-in and a half-day rate for late check-out. The staffer also particularly asked us if this was our first visit and then promised to give us a good room.

All flights from Mumbai to Colombo seem to depart around the same time -- 2 am -- so an early check-in facility was crucial. Our Jet Airways flight arrived at Colombo at 4.30 am and our visa-on-arrival and immigration formalities took barely 30 minutes. Why can't Sri Lanka's simple and efficient Visa-on-Arrival system be adopted by other VoA countries ? Absolutely hassle-free and you pay by credit card and it's over in <5 minutes. Although we had not asked the hotel for an airport pick-up, there was indeed a receiver there with a placard and our name on it. Maybe it's their standard operating procedure. He quoted us 3200 Lankan Rupees (US$ 25/-) for the one-hour ride. The car we got was a Toyota Prius that packed power and comfort and sped smoothly through the dark streets like another plane. The early signs of Sri Lankan efficiency and hospitality were looking good.

We got to Galadari around 6 am and, true to their word, they checked us in early at no extra charge. Usual check-in is 12 noon, so we were getting 6 hours free -- just when we needed it with sleep-heavy eyes. Our holiday coincided with the Sri Lankan New Year holidays and so we were largely confined to the hotel throughout our stay. Because our hotel room was so good with a MAGNIFICENT view of the ocean and the Galle Face we could spend several hours standing by the window every day and feasting our eyes on the sparkling clean road undulating over the Galle along the ocean and the many holiday-makers playing in the waves.

The Indian restaurant "Flavors" is located in the lobby and serves good food but has rather limited variety. The breakfast in the coffee shop was a large spread of bread, pastries, Indian and international foods. If you are cavernous -- which we are not -- you could convert your breakfast into a lunch and eat away the large variety merrily. I rather liked this enclave in the lobby with the coffee shop on the right, the Indian restaurant in front, the Arabic restaurant "Sheherazade" to its side and the Lobby Bar to the left. They have a live band or a pianist playing oldies every evening. The Lobby Bar is a good place to unwind with a drink, listening to the piano tunes wash over the enclave alongwith the soft gush of a water fountain in the midst.

Galadari offers many beautiful views from different corners. Step out of the lobby from the Margarita pub and you will step into a nice shady deck in the sun with palm trees and recliners to lounge on and the ocean across the road. This is a particularly good looking front because the elegant-looking Kingsbury Hotel is just across at the corner while the Bank of Ceylon tower and the World Trade Center towers soar silently into the sky by the side. The President's residence is in between and there is a lot of security in the area ; but not to worry they are always smiling and unobtrusive.

However, as other travellers have pointed out here, this is not really a 5 star hotel on par with other 5 star hotels in the world. It certainly is very good ; probably by Colombo's standards it is 5 star. The Kingsbury has similar rates but their rooms are much smaller than Galadari's. Our room was spacious and clean and comfortable and the service was good. Housekeeping is done twice a day and the room is kept very clean and homely while the staff all over the hotel are always smiling and attentive. the outside and Full marks to the team at Galadari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Its an old property, but fairly well maintained. Rooms are fine, but bathrooms are small. Lobby, restaurants and bar are very nice. Good food, good drinks and great music. They have friendly staff, good travel desk and nice little tea shop. Like most 5 star hotels in Colombo, they offer complimentary drop and some free chips for casinos. Overall, a comfortable, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful one! The staff are exceptional in all areas. They made our stay! Tip your staff and commend them for their hard work! The staff are truly beautiful people. Thank you so much to the staff at The Galadari!!!!!

Room Tip: Be pleasant. A smile goes a long way. The staff work hard and long hours and will do anything possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

without doubt an excellent location and perhaps we were just unlucky to have a room on the 11th floor but it was terrible. When you stepped out of the lift the floor smelt musty and the room cannot have been updated since it opened with 70s rattan furniture, a depressing bathroom with chipped tiles and greasy broken light fittings and ripped blankets on the bed.
The public areas were good and the food and staff very good but not what we were expecting of a 5 star hotel

Room Tip: make sure you have a room that has been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galadari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.