We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best possible welcome to Colombo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape to your Saves list
Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape
47/1, Jawatte Road | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 86 Colombo B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best possible welcome to Colombo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Tucked away just of the main streets of the south of the city, you walk through a half-hidden doorway and into another world – peaceful, secluded and intimate. The quality of the service is just wonderful, and nothing is too much trouble. The Villa itself is an architectural gem – the very best of 70's (I'm guessing) funkiness – and the atmosphere is relaxed and informal. Outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It is a 6-bedroom villa in the heart of the town. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, tastefully made. Though the best part is the service. We arrived very late in the night, but they reopened the kitchen and offered us dinner. We were a big group of 4 couples with infants and kids, and during the entire stay, the food was made to order. They have a nice little pool and a small garden with seating. Gladwin, property manager, was always available when needed and made our stay pretty memorable.

Room Tip: Room number 1 on the ground floor opens directly to the main pool. Room 3 on first floor is much big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A small hotel in the south of the city, but still handy to everything you might want to see and do in Colombo. The team at the hotel were really friendly, helping with suggestions of things to see and do as well as restaurants. Great pool, nice rooms, friendly staff. Make it your city hideaway!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived here after a long days travelling from London.
This small hotel offers peace, a good, comfortable room and bathroom. All properly equipped.
The breakfast was good, both European and Sri Lankan. The staff are very helpful and friendly,
We slept very well for the 2 nights we stayed it is quiet here at night. The small pool and patio areas are excellent. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The two rooms we saw looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were a group of 5 and this was the first hotel we were booked at for our trip to SL. It is a house renovated as a hotel. The rooms were clean, beds were massive and extremely comfortable. One of our rooms opened to the pool and it was the highlight of our stay there. we had a great time at d pool. The bathrooms were clean. The staff were extremely helpful and provided us info on where to go to eat, club etc. The food was decent. Will definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Everything about our stay at Ceilao Villas was fantastic.
The room was very spacious and modern, with a lovely bathroom and extremely comfortable beds.
We didn't use the pool during our stay but the grounds outside are well maintained and very pleasant to relax in.
The food was delicious. On our second night we chose to have dinner there and it was great - we fell in love with Sri Lankan cuisine there and then.
But the best thing about Ceilao Villas is all the staff there. They were so helpful and accommodating literally on hand for anything we might need and always with a big smile.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ceilao Villas to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went as a group of 7 and this was the perfect place to begin our holiday of Sti Lanka.
Extremely friendly and accommodating staff who were on hand to help us.
Big clean modern rooms and super comfortable beds.
Handy location to all the tourist sights.
So glad we didn't go for the typical hotel option, highly recommend Gladwin and his team !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape

Address: 47/1, Jawatte Road | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fusion of minimalist design with vibrant and exotic features, this modern day boutique hotel offers you a blank canvas to paint your own, unique experience. Located in the very heart of Colombo, this 6-bedroom hotel provides an escape to a tranquil and peaceful environment that invites you to indulge in all that is refreshing and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceilao Villas Colombo City Escape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.