We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, but over-priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Court Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alfred Court Accommodation to your Saves list
Alfred Court Accommodation
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4A, Alfred Place, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Multiple
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, but over-priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Like most hotels in Colombo, this one was too expensive for what it was. However, it was cozy, clean though a bit humid, the bathroom was functional and had hot water, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was within walking distance (or a bus ride) to Fort and the main sights. At 75USD per night for a double room, you may want to add a few dollars and stay in a fancy hotel. Otherwise, this is a good address.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad you had a nice stay at ACA. We are sorry to hear that you found our Deluxe Rooms expensive. For a hotel of our calibre, we assure you that you would definitely not find a room at USD 75 in Colombo - 3. The standard and class of our Deluxe Rooms are equal to 4/5 star hotels in Sri Lanka based on customer reviews. Our aim is to provide the comfort of a 5 star room at a reasonable rate. We also have Superior class rooms which are priced lower for those who are looking for a cheaper option. Colombo is usually humid and that is beyond our control, which is why all our rooms are air-conditioned and also equipped with a ceiling fan.

Our staff are always looking to satisfy our customers and I will pass on your comments to them. It was a pleasure having you with us. At the bottom line, we are glad our Deluxe Rooms made you want to choose ACA despite your budget. We would love to have you back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Alfred Court Accomodation has exceeded my expectation.
It is in Colombo 3 and I has 9 rooms span over 3 storeys which is I like to stay when I am overseas.
Food City (supermarket) is just 50m away, A Chinese restaurant just besides it. The hotel staff are helpful and they will ensure that they get a tuk tuk for you insisting you that they switched on their meters.
I was happy during my stay there as I chatted with the staff and they also complimented about me for keeping them occupied with conservations of sharing our cultures. ( I am from Singapore)
Breakfast was served every day. I stayed in a room facing the back yard (another businessman house ) but I do not like it. Secondly there were some bugs on the bed after I did not get on my body the next day. After which I changed room and GREAT; I can see the busy road of people going in and out from the hospital opposite my room.
I did not rate it full star as it lacked the pool..
Please find the photos of me , staff and the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Peter-Chua,

Thank you for your wonderful review and photographs! We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and satisfy your requirements. Our staff are always looking to satisfy our customers and they also happened to find a special friend in you. They kept telling me what a nice gentleman you are and I was happy to have finally met you before you left. They definitely loved having you around and surely miss you! Not all customers are as friendly and love spending most of their free time with our staff, to which you were an exception.

I am sorry to hear about the bugs. We got the Pest-Control to check and we were told that those were not bed bugs, but some other type that isn't too harmful. Regardless we have taken the necessary action to make sure no bugs and insects etc. are in the room and around the hotel.

We doubt we can accommodate a swimming pool, but lets see.. Maybe in the future.. ;)

Thank you for choosing ACA. We absolutely loved having you with us!! Hopefully we will see you again, sooner than later! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location is great, rooms are very nice, service is good, i like the decor of the hotel and the rooms, wooden furniture and beddings were so nice, and they have room breakfast service which was great.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Laura,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you and your friends had a great time at ACA and were satisfied. Our staff keep working harder and these reviews are a definite motivation for them to work harder and serve those who come to ACA better. We designed ACA with utmost simplicity and class and wanted our furniture to speak for its self and I am happy that our efforts aren't in vain! :)

We were thrilled to have you all with us and will definitely love to have you back when you visit Colombo again!! Thank you for choosing ACA! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were on holiday as a family and chose to stay at Alfred Court Accommodation. The place is centrally located in Colombo. It is maintained well. and the staff are friendly and very willing to serve. We left the place happy and will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We take pride in not only maintaining high standards, but always striving to do better.
I will make sure to share your appreciative review with our staff. They do their job with genuine enthusiam, and will be ecstatic to hear their hardwork doesnt go unnoticed. Colombo is a bustling city and so ACAs central location is a definitely a boon. As always, our staff will be happy to offer assistance and suggestions whenever you need it.

We loved having you and your family at ACA and we'd absolutely love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The service was super friendly, even serving all the guests a traditional Sri Lankan new year's day breakfast. The rooms are clean and have ample space, and all the amenities work well: wifi, cable TV, hot water, A/C, etc. And the location is really perfect for exploring Colombo. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi there Ned_Aloha,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your excellent review. We love hearing from our guests and its super to see the postive feedback from your stay.

At ACA, our guests are our priority, and we're always striving to make your stay as comfortable as we can, providing as many amenities to make it so. We are glad you enjoyed our New Years day breakfast. We loved being able to share our culture and traditions with you in what little way we could. We will make sure to share you appreciation of our staff.

It was a pleasure having you at ACA and we'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Colombo is a real great place although not much different from any other crowded cities of South Asia if you see from its mere physical characteristics. And for me I believe in "don't go by the appearance" and likewise the same is true for Alfred Court Accommodation". After long 40 hours journey, sleepless nights and beating the evening traffic of Colombo streets, it was of great and pleasing satisfaction to be in cooler, simple but lovely room of the hotel. Located at a great place, almost at the heart of Colombo, with all the amenities required for a comfort stay and the presence of a caring hotel manager, it makes you feel at home. The staff are very good and treat you with lots of care and affection. As an Indian I felt highly pleased to stay a few nights here. If I come to Colombo again I would rather prefer to stay in this place because it offers much more than what the so called four star hotels with big brand names provides you at high prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi Mr. Dilip Das,

Thank you for your amazing review. It was definitely a pleasure having you with us and we are extremely happy that your stay at with us was up to your standards.

We are always working towards the improvement of ACA to make sure our customers have the best possible experience with us. I am happy to hear that my staff are doing an amazing job and I will definitely convey your feedback to them.

We look forward to having you with us again when you visit Colombo.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Clean, large, and comfortable rooms with A/C, satellite tv, wifi, fridge,hot & cold water, and balcony. There was an option for breakfast, which was made to request and tasted good. The personalized service provided was exceptional. The owners are very involved and always out to help u. Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff are always on hand to help with anything. Including organizing tours.

Couldn't have asked for more in terms of location either. Plenty of eateries and shopping within walking distance.

The hotel was being refurbished, and the newer rooms on the upper level are very modern, and pleasing to the eye.

Great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar A, Owner at Alfred Court Accommodation, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at ACA. We look forward to having you'll with us again when you'll visit Sri Lanka. :)

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfred Court Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred Court Accommodation

Address: 4A, Alfred Place, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alfred Court Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the bustling city of Colombo, ACA is the ideal place to unwind and rejuvenate, from the busy businessman to the family in search of a homely, comfortable, clean and safe place to stay. We at Alfred Court do our best to provide quality to ensure our guests have the best residential experience, whilst you enjoy the added benefits of a tropical, cultural or relaxing holiday on a sunny island. It is strategically based in Colombo's business hub, which makes it incredibly convenient if you like walking around and exploring the heart of the city of Colombo. ACA's proximity to key commercial locations will be much appreciated by every visitor. Times Change, but our dedication to perfecting your travel experience never will. Much admired, and not easily replicated, the personalised service we strive to offer you, in addition to friendly and obliging staff, embodies the comforts of a home away from home, for those who know and appreciate the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alfred Court Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred Court Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.