We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Property in the Center of the Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingsbury to your Saves list
The Kingsbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Property in the Center of the Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A great property to experience, great interiors. A superb spread of Breakfast with lot of options, just opposite to beach. The Swimming Pool is very nicely done and is great.I really had a very good time in this property.

Room Tip: Always go with the All Inclusive Package!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    222
    91
    42
    39
See reviews for
120
162
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Thankfully we only stayed one night at the end of our months trip around Sri Lanka. The first thing was on arrival to our room, making a cup of tea, the kettles handle was broken, so we were unable to use. We reported the fault and went out. On return we put the kettle on, when I tried to pick it up the handle came away from the kettle!! Could have been very dangerous. They did then come with a replacement.
The second issue was a party that started around 7pm that had extremely loud "boom boom" music that we could hear in our room. By 10pm it had got unbearable, so we were moved to another room.
The party was on the top floor, we were on 7th floor!
I appreciate the management tried help us to overcome the problem of the loud music, but I would think that they should have a policy in place to insure guests are not disturbed by functions that are obviously held regularly at the weekend.
We ate breakfast and lunch, both buffet style, but we were very unhappy with the quality of food.
We would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were booked into The Kingsbury as "the best hotel in Colombo". From checking in to dinner, everything went very well.We were upgraded to the Executive floor (9) and had a lovely room with a view over the harbour. At the moment there is a major land reclamation and refurbishment programme being carried out along the front, so the view was impaired by vehicles and materials. That was not a problem. We chose to eat in The Ocean dining room and the seafood was excellent and priced appropriately for this quality of hotel. The staff on the executive floor were first rate, helpful and friendly.
As we had to leave early (5.30 a.m.) to catch a flight to Cochin, we arranged for a packed breakfast, which once again was excellent. The problems started when retiring at about 10.30 p.m. We seemed to be right under the function room and were bombarded by heavy beat music. Expecting it to finish reasonably early at around 11.00 - 12.00, we didn't bother to complain, as we had to be up at 4.30 and by the time we had changed rooms and moved all our things, it would have been midnight. On reflection, we should have complained immediately. It finally ceased about 2.30 a.m. About half an hour later there was hammering on the ceiling. So we got up and got ready to leave. When checking out we received what I consider to be an inadequate apology and the explanation that the contractors were preparing for the next function and that the hotel had no control over what time they started! A very unwelcome end to what was a potentially delightful stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you arrange for a room that is not under the function room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kingsbury, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to note your stay at The Kingsbury was spoilt due to noise. Please give us an opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

I would personally attend to this, kindly mail me your next visit's details to mgrccpr@thekingsburyhotel.com

Thank you and yours sincerely,
Dinithi Somaratne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Kingsbury is a very nice hotel located on the Colombo sea face. Its recently been done up. Food is excellent and the view from the rooftop is amazing.
The only challenge is two elevators and during evenings when there is a banquet on the higher floors waiting can be really unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Unforgettable unique experience of a New Year's Eve celebration.
Great organisation, super service, helpful and very friendly personnel, excellent quality and variety of food and drinks, nice location

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Kingsbury - Lovely place to stay at colombo.

We checked in to The kingsbury on 10th March 14. Stayed there for two nights.
This hotel is located at a vantage point on the beach road with excellent view of the sea. We insisted on a galle facing room and the receptionist allotted the same.

Checking in was very simple and swift. The receptionist did everything without a smile. Our room was in the fourth floor with excellent view of Bank of Ceylon and old Parliament House on one side and the sea on the other.

When I switched on the TV in my room I was surprised to see my name on the TV Screen with a welcome note. Room was very clean and well maintained. Bath room was a little smaller with all latest fittings but there was no bath tub. To my surprise they have provided a weighing scale!! This hotel has a lovely swimming pool which every one will enjoy.

If you are keen on morning walk, this Hotel is the best place to stay. Walk on the beach road and enjoy the sea breeze every morning.

They had a fantastic spread for breakfast and dinner. However, We could not enjoy all that since we are vegetarians. With my experience at Kandy and Nuwaraeliya , first I met chef the partie mr.Jayasinghe and the Indian chef mr.Sanjay Prasad and told them that we are vegetarians. That solved all my problem. They looked after me like a king at Kingsbury for two days. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Kingsbury. I strongly recommend this hotel if you are not on a low cost trip to colombo.


---- Chandrasekaran

Room Tip: Select a Galle face room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

we stayed there for two nights in the end of our holiday in Sri Lanka. the hotel is beautiful and lovely, the rooms large with a very good view, the pool is amazing also with a good view and the food is good even the buffet. the sky bar at the roof top has an amazing view too and good drinks. the hotel is very close to the world trade center, galle face green and the dutch hospital where there is some really good restaurants and shops. perfect ending to our holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Kingsbury during your last visit.

Your appreciation and recognition of the hotel, along with your positive comments, is a great motivator for The Kingsbury team.

We would appreciate if you will continue to be a valued guest at our hotel and should you require my personal attention for any of your needs at the hotel, please email on gm@thekingsburyhotel.com


With best wishes,

Sunil Dissanayake
Director/General Manager
The Kingsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kingsbury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the turquoise blue brilliance of the Indian Ocean, The Kingsbury enjoys an unrivalled position in the heart of Colombo. It is by far the only city business hotel in Sri Lanka's commercial capital that offers the best of both worlds - every conceivable amenity and convenience for the business traveler coupled with a unique ambiance that transports each visitor to the realms of luxury resort life. A win-win service offers that is ideal for both the business and the leisure traveler. Situated in Colombo's central business district - and just a minute's walk away from the heart of the city's commercial icons, The Kingsbury is the preferred choice of visiting dignitaries and VIPs. An expansive and impressive entrance beckons, the classical English architecture melding perfectly and endearingly with the colonial charm of the city's surroundings. Majestic to the eye at first glance, The Kingsbury is one of Colombo's most lavish hotel properties that are also an architectural icon. Classical English elegance rules the architectural stance. Public spaces that are largely neutral in tone are brought alive by shots of colour infused through tasteful decor interspersed with elegant fittings and luxurious fixtures. In the luxurious and personal confines of the 229 rooms earth tones please the eye, white marble bathrooms, and furniture with a relaxing ivory tone, gives a sense of luxury and space. A truly European ambiance prevails, artfully balanced with the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality.Look out of any one of the 229 rooms at The Kingsbury and enjoy the endless views of the Indian Ocean melding with the kaleidoscopic colour that rules the famous Galle Face promenade. By early evening, The Kingsbury is Colombo's best place to witness the riot of colour that is characteristic of the Sri Lankan sunset. The options are endless - be it in the solitude of your room, or over a glass bubbly at the Sky Lounge or even while enjoying a dip in the brand spanking swimming pool. From different vantages enjoy the various faces of Colombo - and it is only at The Kingsbury that this scenic luxury is generously dished out. The Kingsbury brings to Colombo, a culture of hospitality that is equal to the very best offered by global hospitality stalwarts. The Kingsbury is a fully functional five-star luxury hotel and the very first of its kind in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.