We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel by the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingsbury to your Saves list
The Kingsbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Mangalore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel by the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A great hotel by the ocean. Good buffet spread for breakfast. Rooms offer fantastic views of the ocean! Bylgari toiletries add to the luxuries. GalleFace Green adjacent to the hotel is a walkers delight.Beware of touts persuading you for sightseeing trips or buying gems at great discounts

Room Tip: Ocean facing room is the one to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you very much for your review on the hotel. It is indeed a pleasure to have been able to provide our service to you, and to see such a pleasant comment makes me feel triumphant.

Our staff will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast spread, the magnificent view, and our designer amenities.

We hope your next trip to The Kingsbury will be soon, as my team and I will be delighted to welcome you and ensure you continue to experience a fabulous say.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    220
    90
    39
    38
See reviews for
116
161
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

When we received our room it was on the smoking floor which was totally unacceptable. Quick call and we were moved floors. Rang for cot . Quick reply and service.
Food in sports bar was just what we needed on arrival. Staff were friendly.

The wedding we attended at the hotel was superbly handled by hotel staff making the experience with a young baby enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Firstly, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at The Kingsbury. Indeed, your response has elated our motivation towards improving our services to our valued guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Kingsbury, especially the food at the The Kings Bar and the service. I will convey your feedback on the wedding to the respective staff who provided you with the great service, who, I can assure you, will be delighted to hear this wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcome you to The Kingsbury once again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for one night; two rooms, with family. It was nice stay. I enjoyed swimming pool and nice sea view. The rooms are nice thought you can hear who is in walkway. My wife and I love the bed and how we had nice sleep.

Room Tip: It is good for short stay in your way out of the city to other cities. Overall, it is new hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

My team and I are very pleased to hear your positive feedback of your stay at The Kingsbury. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the pool, sea view and the rooms.

We hope you plan another visit to The Kingsbury as we will be delighted to have you as our esteemed guest at a place where you can surely call home.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Kingsbury is very grand and well maintained. The staff are welcoming and helpful. When I could not connect easily to the Internet in my room someone came straight up and fixed it.

The food is very good in the Chinese restaurant and the breakfast buffet has a wide variety of options.

We only stayed for one night as we landed in Colombo and it was exactly what we were looking for. A calm, tranquil and impressive stay to get out of the busy streets of Colombo.

Not quite the ocean view I was hoping for (looked out mainly over the roof of part of the hotel) but we weren't too worried as it was only one night.

Thank you for such a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Your review on the hotel was indeed pleasant and I was delighted to share it with my team as well. I take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback of your stay at The Kingsbury.

You have experienced the precise ingredients of hospitality that makes our hotel one-of-a-kind. Your recommendation on the view from the room have been taken into consideration to further develop the experience we offer our guests at The Kingsbury.

We hope you visit us again and, rest assured, your experience will be better than the last.

On behalf of the team,

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male, Maldives
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My and my wife, for the first time, stayed at The Kingsbury recently and it was just a marvelous experience. The rooms, the array of magnificent food (and its quality), the friendliness of its staff and the overall customer service was superb. Not to forget its location too is quite good. Although it's on the verge of becoming a full 5 Star, I hope and wish it would get even better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Kingsbury with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comment on the service is indeed a motivator for my team and I to further develop on our standards in hospitality.

We truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next trip to The Kingsbury.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had the privilege of enjoying a scrumptious and very tasty lunch at this hotel in the Harbour Room Restaurant. The variety was amazing from the soup, starters to the main course. It is definitely family oriented so its a place one can enjoy with all family. The location is another plus as looking out to the sea makes ones lunch all the more tastier. Definitely worth another visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

We appreciate your comments and feedback of your experience at The Kingsbury. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and experience. I will be sure to convey your positive feedback to our chefs and the rest of our staff at the hotel.

It is our goal to be positioned as the hotel of choice among our guests. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit to The Kingsbury.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Kingsbury is indeed sparkling new but perhaps too new for its own good. The service is terrible, starting with the check in desk - too my friend and I 30 minutes to check in whereas compared to the Cinnamon Grand, they make you sit and come to you to check you in!

Then we were checked in a small but nice room to find the safe not working (it was brand new yes, but useless because not working), the Wifi was not working either and they had put 1 strawberry, 2 grapes and 2 small apples as a welcome fruit basket - no word of a lie! with 1 fork. The room was obviously not ready to welcome 2 people but 1 as there was only 1 item of everything so basically, we had to share 1 bathrobe, 1 toothbrush, 1 pair of slippers and 1 body lotion between the 2 of us.
I called reception for the Wifi, housekeeping for the safe and to be provided with extra items to be told that someone would be straight up within 2 minutes - surprise surprise, nobody ever showed up.
I then called back to speak to the manager who again, told me he would be there in 2 minutes - 20 minutes later, still no one so I had to call back. The manager thinking his time was too valuable for me and my friend, decided to send another manager to try and sort everything out, by then, I had already spent 1 hour in my room just trying to sort all this mess out -- this is a 5* we are talking about here.
However, the manager who turned up listened to us and nicely enough, gave us another room on the 9th floor, the supposedly Executive floor where we could avail breakfast in the executive lounge and a round the clock dedicated buttler service.
After checking that everything was in order, we settled down. Since we only had 1 beer in the mini bar, we call housekeeping - our dedicated butler service - to bring us some but guess what? someone turned up only ages later.
No, that's not the end of it - Since we had to catch an early flight in the morning, we were told that breakfast would be ready from 06h30 am and were looking for a nice continental breakfast before leaving at 07h00 am.
To our surprise, indeed, breakfast was nowhere ready at 06h30 supposedly because someone had forgotten the pastries downstairs so we were politely told "sorry for the inconvenience" for the 10th time since we had arrived and told to go have breakfast on the 1st floor -- so basically, keep your extra cash you wanted to spend on the upgrade - not worth it (and the rooms are exactly the same as the other rooms!).
Check out was as similarly disastrous but not worth mentioning!
I would honestly recommend the Cinnamon GRAND 1 or 2 blocks away!!

The only good think I can say about the Kingsbury is its nice location next to the Old Dutch Hospital where you can have a good meal and a few drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback of your stay at The Kingsbury.

I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel, causing you a negative experience on the whole. I understand your frustration and assure you that the necessary measures have been taken to in order to rectify such happenings.

Hoping you would give us another chance to provide you much better service and a good experience at the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kingsbury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the turquoise blue brilliance of the Indian Ocean, The Kingsbury enjoys an unrivalled position in the heart of Colombo. It is by far the only city business hotel in Sri Lanka's commercial capital that offers the best of both worlds - every conceivable amenity and convenience for the business traveler coupled with a unique ambiance that transports each visitor to the realms of luxury resort life. A win-win service offers that is ideal for both the business and the leisure traveler. Situated in Colombo's central business district - and just a minute's walk away from the heart of the city's commercial icons, The Kingsbury is the preferred choice of visiting dignitaries and VIPs. An expansive and impressive entrance beckons, the classical English architecture melding perfectly and endearingly with the colonial charm of the city's surroundings. Majestic to the eye at first glance, The Kingsbury is one of Colombo's most lavish hotel properties that are also an architectural icon. Classical English elegance rules the architectural stance. Public spaces that are largely neutral in tone are brought alive by shots of colour infused through tasteful decor interspersed with elegant fittings and luxurious fixtures. In the luxurious and personal confines of the 229 rooms earth tones please the eye, white marble bathrooms, and furniture with a relaxing ivory tone, gives a sense of luxury and space. A truly European ambiance prevails, artfully balanced with the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality.Look out of any one of the 229 rooms at The Kingsbury and enjoy the endless views of the Indian Ocean melding with the kaleidoscopic colour that rules the famous Galle Face promenade. By early evening, The Kingsbury is Colombo's best place to witness the riot of colour that is characteristic of the Sri Lankan sunset. The options are endless - be it in the solitude of your room, or over a glass bubbly at the Sky Lounge or even while enjoying a dip in the brand spanking swimming pool. From different vantages enjoy the various faces of Colombo - and it is only at The Kingsbury that this scenic luxury is generously dished out. The Kingsbury brings to Colombo, a culture of hospitality that is equal to the very best offered by global hospitality stalwarts. The Kingsbury is a fully functional five-star luxury hotel and the very first of its kind in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.