We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Harbour Court - Kingsbury Sri Lanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingsbury to your Saves list
The Kingsbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Harbour Court - Kingsbury Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was the former Intercontinental Hotel , now fully renovated & refurbished. We personally did not like the new appearance of the hotel & thought that the architecture did not suit a hotel , specially a hotel by the ocean.
The service by everyone was very good & staff at the entrance, valet parking, as well as in the restaurant was very efficient & helpful. The food was very good - good quality. The buffet had a good salad bar & the rest of the buffet also had a very good variety of food.
The negative factor in the restaurant was that the seating arrangement for couples was too close to each other ; when two people sit they are too close to the next couple.
Hope Kingsbury will keep up the good work & maintain the good quality of food in its restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for those encouraging words.

We would be delighted to invite you to our Sunday Oyster Brunch at the Harbour Court or you could even drop by at our seafood restaurant 'The Ocean' this Sunday for a seafood brunch.

You have many options to choose from including authentic Chinese dining at Yue Chuan or you could even grab a quick snack and lounge by the pool at our pool bar & grill.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    220
    90
    40
    38
See reviews for
117
161
38
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Even though this hotel was not ready, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay due to the wonderful staff and the service. The food was excellent, the facilities were not ready but i am sure it will be amazingly good. The high tech TV and service beats the other hotels by far.
I would love to go back after the hotel is complete and i am sure my review will be 5 stars again.

The quality of the fixtures was very good and the quality of linens cleanliness etc was unsurpassed,
5 star all the way. Good job.

Not sure what it was like before but this really gave me a feel of comfort.

Kunal
Indonesia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for lunch over a weekend. The spread of food is fabulous. In fact, I could easily say its possibly the best 5 star buffet spread in Colombo. There in an amazing range of starters and deserts with lots of local deserts as well.

The interior is very unusual and has very different kind of appeal. There’s a lot of construction work going on so its best to keep that in mind when going here. However, the staff make a lot of effor to make you feel extra special and welcome.

Overall, I think it will look fabulous once its done, specially the pool area. The restaurant also has outdoor seating which will be really nice, especially in the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Varuni,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a wonderful review.

We greatly appreciate those kind words.

We would like you to invite you to the most lavish Sunday Brunch in town at the Harbour Court or a delectable seafood brunch at "The Ocean" our seafood restaurant.

You could also indulge in scrumptious Chinese cuisine at Yue Chuan or simply lounge by our infinity pool for a quick snack and a refreshing cocktail at the Pool Bar & Grill.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Yes, it is a beautiful hotel in a beatiful location with wonderful views and good staff. Restaurants and bar look good, and there rooms although not very big are very tastefully and thoughtfully done. Very Beautiful. BUT, make no mistake it is not ready, and it will not be ready for several months! We didn't stay but had a thorough tour, checked both suites as well ad standard rooms. Only two floors are in operation at the moment, all others are still under construction. We went on a saturday, and there was construction noise even then. There is no pool, no other sports facilities or parking as all of that is still a construction site! The staff said that the pool is supposed to open in two months (April 2013), but how reliable that is remains to be seen. If I was staying at this hotel, I would feel robbed as there are no facilities, not even all the restaurants are open. yet there is no discount. I'm sure when it is ready it will be wonderful, but make sure it is completed before you plan on staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for your valid feedback.

Please don't hesitate to contact us on 0112421221 for any requests or concerns, we would be happy to assist you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

who was the person behind in decorating the lobby , no taste and no concept behind it, we were disappointed when we walked in.
I thought the front desk was a storage area and walked right by it.
The staff look lost like a bunch if chickens without heads. But we gave them some slack cause its still new. One of the directors Mr. Fernando we found extremely rude and arrogant and very unprofessional yelling through the restaurants.
One thing we enjoyed was the food, better than the old hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings from The Kingsbury !

We would be grateful if you could get in touch with us on our general number 0112422121 and discuss your concerns, and we would be happy to assist you with your suggestions or requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The newly opened 'The Kingsbury' radiates warmth and opulence. The architecture reminds one of the old colonial era. The staff are exceptionally warm and polite. This is one feature that stood out significantly. We wee treated like royalty.

Room Tip: Choose one that overlooks the Indian Ocean. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Anver,

Thank you for those encouraging words about our hotel.

We would be delighted to invite you to indulge in the most delectable array of food at our restaurants including 'The Ocean' for the freshest seafood in town and 'Harbour Court' our world cuisine restaurant.

And many more options to choose from.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I traveled from Karachi to Singapore having stay in Colombo, the location, atmosphere in very good, the hotel service, staff @ reception are very welcoming even i reached in night,
lobby /tea are is very wide, my room was superb , every best thing was available in room. and i cannot forget my breakfast with great view of Colombo from top floor.

i ll visit again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHColombo, Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Ceylon Continental Hotel and appreciating our service. We are really happy that you enjoyed the view, food and service at our Hotel.

Currently the Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and will be re-launched for the season. We most definitely look forward to the pleasure of delighting you once again on your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kingsbury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the turquoise blue brilliance of the Indian Ocean, The Kingsbury enjoys an unrivalled position in the heart of Colombo. It is by far the only city business hotel in Sri Lanka's commercial capital that offers the best of both worlds - every conceivable amenity and convenience for the business traveler coupled with a unique ambiance that transports each visitor to the realms of luxury resort life. A win-win service offers that is ideal for both the business and the leisure traveler. Situated in Colombo's central business district - and just a minute's walk away from the heart of the city's commercial icons, The Kingsbury is the preferred choice of visiting dignitaries and VIPs. An expansive and impressive entrance beckons, the classical English architecture melding perfectly and endearingly with the colonial charm of the city's surroundings. Majestic to the eye at first glance, The Kingsbury is one of Colombo's most lavish hotel properties that are also an architectural icon. Classical English elegance rules the architectural stance. Public spaces that are largely neutral in tone are brought alive by shots of colour infused through tasteful decor interspersed with elegant fittings and luxurious fixtures. In the luxurious and personal confines of the 229 rooms earth tones please the eye, white marble bathrooms, and furniture with a relaxing ivory tone, gives a sense of luxury and space. A truly European ambiance prevails, artfully balanced with the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality.Look out of any one of the 229 rooms at The Kingsbury and enjoy the endless views of the Indian Ocean melding with the kaleidoscopic colour that rules the famous Galle Face promenade. By early evening, The Kingsbury is Colombo's best place to witness the riot of colour that is characteristic of the Sri Lankan sunset. The options are endless - be it in the solitude of your room, or over a glass bubbly at the Sky Lounge or even while enjoying a dip in the brand spanking swimming pool. From different vantages enjoy the various faces of Colombo - and it is only at The Kingsbury that this scenic luxury is generously dished out. The Kingsbury brings to Colombo, a culture of hospitality that is equal to the very best offered by global hospitality stalwarts. The Kingsbury is a fully functional five-star luxury hotel and the very first of its kind in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.