We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place with a nice view of the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingsbury to your Saves list
The Kingsbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48, Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A friendly place with a nice view of the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a good hotel for business travelers. There're WiFi connections in the rooms which you need to pay for access, major TV channels, clean and spacious rooms with friendly service. Though the hotel is quite old, the rooms and facilities have been well maintained. There's a decent gym for you to work out which opens from 6am till 9pm. The Emerald Cafe serves good buffets and the breakfast spread is pretty good with lots of variety. If you have any special requests, they will try their best to accommodate. Laundry service is also pretty good and timely. Overall, I'm happy to stay at this hotel for my business trips. The hotel will be closed from Feb 2012 for a 6 month renovation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    284
    105
    47
    42
See reviews for
147
212
44
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I would rate it as a good hotel. The breakfast spread is splendid and sure business and leisure travelers like it. Best thing about this hotel is that it’s located overlooking the sea giving a beautiful view from the room. The only minus point I saw was that the room I stayed looked a bit outdated but most importantly it was clean and the facilities provided were satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharastra, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here the first time, even though I have been to Colombo many a times before. The hotel is very well located and has a lively bar with a live bands playing almost all evening.. the food is quite good and I recommend their Nasi Goreng, which is tasty and sumptuous for one person.
The rooms are small and quite dated, especially the toilets put you off a little because the room and toilet seems to have got stuck in the 70s however they are very clean...
the best part of the hotel is that you can just walk out of the hotel for a stroll on the beach side and very pleasant to walk in the evenings. The door men are extremely helpful in ensuring that the autorikshaw (tuktuk) guys don't take you for a "ride" on the fare.. lovely pool if you like to take a dip during the stay.........

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajkot
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

we were shifted to this hotel as our booking in galle face hotel had gone missing!!
big hotel with small rooms.free buffet dinner was an added throw in but not too many vegetarian options
well located and nice to go out and walk on the beach early in the morning
great choice of breakfast options and good attentive service
neat and clean place

Room Tip: choose sea facing rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending 24 hours in beautiful SriLanka as a transit passenger of SriLankan Airways. The hotel itself is 35 kms from the airport which usually takes 1 hour to travel.
The hotel itself looks old but newly renovated, so you wouldn't realize it until you enter the rooms. The check in process was quick but not as efficient as I would expect in a 5 star property. The lobby was however beautifully furnished and made the waiting a little pleasant while they assigned me the room. However there was no bell boy or concierge to help me to my room, and I was just given the room keys with the directions to the elevator. Maybe it was because I had no heavy luggage, but it definitely does not score points for them. The room itself was very modest. You could easily make out the age of the hotel and though it was clean and newly furnished, there were still some Knicks and cracks which alludes to otherwise. For a single night stay, I should have no complaints, but it wasn't definitely on a 5 star level of service. They did not really make you feel welcome. The rooms and service I would put more on part of 3 star.
The breakfast timings was from 7:30 to 10 am. I had got up at 7:30 am and asked for house keeping to send in fresh toiletries and towels. Unfortunately I had to call them up twice again, before someone delivered at 8:30 am. By that time I was already frustrated and left the room just after brushing my teeth so as not to miss my breakfast.
Breakfast itself was actually quite pleasant, the hotel has many restaurants but buffet breakfast was served in the Emerald restaurant in the ground floor. They had a healthy spread of buffet with mainly the local cuisine and while I had no complaints about the variety or the quantity, the quality was certainly not 5 star. It fell more around 2-3 star. The restaurant service staff were polite and courteous but individual attention to every diner was not maintained, either because they were short staffed or they did not feel it necessary. However the view from the restaurant more than makes up with a beautiful scenic beach side swimming pool.
Lunch was also a similar affair, although they could do well by increasing their lunch timings till at least 3 pm instead of 2:30.
Overall it was a pleasant and hassle free experience for an overnight stay, but they can certainly do lots more to improve....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had a quick one night stay in this hotel on 2 separate occiasion in the same month.
A few other people have spoken about how old the hotel is, in respect to its fixtures and fittings etc'. Well, I also found this, but for me it made the stay all the more interesting. It was like being in a bit of a time warp which I rather enjoyed.
The room itself was very basic, but functional for what I needed (sleep and a bit of relaxation).
The food in the restaurant was excellent with very helpful waiting staff, and even better food.
Just watch out for the call asking if you want a massage though!!!! LOL

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

If this hotel were a 3 star, and the price you were paying was for a 3 star, it would be fine, I'd have been happy. But you pay here for a 5 star, and it's not even close to a 5 star. Everything is old and not renovated in the Ceylon Continental: lobby, toilets, elevator, furniture in bedrooms, curtains, swimming pool (very bad maintenance).
The people working there are very nice, that's the best thing. Food in the restaurant is nice. And the view from my room was great.
Overall, you are paying much more than the hotel deserves.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48, Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kingsbury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury is business hotel in Sri Lanka's commercial capital that features 207 elegantly furnished guest rooms, 21 lavish Suites and a magnificent Presidential Suite, all which include a view of the Indian Ocean. Elegance and charm in the design and ambience, designer branded amenities, lavish comfort and impeccable service all make a stay at The Kingsbury a luxurious experience. The hotel's Executive Room category includes exclusive facilities from express check-in/check-out at the Executive Lounge, baggage packing and unpacking (on request), pressing of one suit during your stay on complimentary basis, 24 hour butler services and much more. The Executive Lounge offers an attractive range of complimentary amenities and services to guests who stay on the Executive floor (9th floor). Start your day with a complimentary continental breakfast and enjoy the exclusive 'Happy Hour' with unlimited beverages and snacks every day from 5.30Pm To 7.30Pm. Another very novel introduction is "Wicked Wine Wednesdays" at the Sky Lounge from 5.30Pm onwards. The hotel's numerous restaurants, bars and lounges provide an intimate dining experience in a truly special atmosphere. The outlets include Harbour Court for international cuisine, The Ocean Seafood Restaurant and Yue Chuan (Chinese: authentic Cantonese and Szechuan menu & Chinese Sri Lankan menu). The Kingsbury also features bars and lounges including The Kings (lobby bar), Sky Lounge (rooftop music lounge & bar), Pool Cafe (pool bar), The Score (sports bar) and an exquisite coffee shop experience with The Cake. Only at The Kingsbury can you pamper yourself endlessly in lavish comforts. Choose from a blend of relaxing and luxuriating treatments at the Senses Spa, or maintain your fitness at the fully equipped Gymnasium. Thereafter, embrace the tropical sun and stretch out on a sunbed by the pool before a cool dip. Equipped with an extensive range of facilities and contemporary amenities, the hotel's function spaces are ideal for MICE, weddings, meetings, social events or special occasions. Situated in Colombo's central business district and just a minute's walk away from the heart of the city's commercial icons, the World Trade Center and Central Bank of Sri Lanka. A truly classical English ambience prevails, artfully balanced with the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality. Majestic to the eye at first glance, The Kingsbury is one of the most lavish hotels in Colombo that is also an architectural icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.