We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo City Hostel to your Saves list
Colombo City Hostel
68 S D S Jayasinghe Mawatha, Colombo 10250, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“totally awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stay'd at Colombo City Hostel for one week and what a cool place to hang out at.This place is so clean,the barth rooms are just awesome.rooms are very comfortable and the friendly staff.well what can i say they went out of the way to help you, where ever you need'd help they were there for you so friendly.I meet some guess that were stayin there and wow what a time we had with the staff went out clubing and partying,this is more than a hostlel is a cool place to hang out.It's close to shops cafe supermaket and it's easy to get to the city by tuk tuk which is a cheap way to get around.This place really made my stay in Sri Lanka enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH_SL, Manager at Colombo City Hostel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for this refreshing review. I am really happy you enjoyed the time at the Colombo City Hostel that much and appreciated the friendly atmosphere. We surely will not forget you as one of our first and long-time guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    35
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a hostel like a hostel should be like:
- cool places to hang out
- fun people
- partys
- awesome & friendly staff
- big kitchen
- many great bathrooms
- really comfortable beds
- big lockers
- 24/7 open

It is not really in the center of Colombo, but you can reach everything easily with a tuktuk.
20$ might be a little too much for one night compared to most guesthouses (except in touristy areas), but in a guesthouse you will never experience as much fun & possibilities to hang out as you can at Colombo City Hostel!

Definitely worth a visit while you're in Colombo :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH_SL, Manager at Colombo City Hostel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review in which you pretty much pointed out, what makes us different from all the other guesthouses and Hostels in Sri Lanka. We are a place where travelers meet other travelers, where they have a good time but also where they find a chilled and relaxed accommodation and we will always give our best to make the stay unforgettable! It is really nice, that this effort is acknowledge by our guests! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As backpacker, I won't stay anywhere else in Colombo, the convenience the value the hospitality and the assistance additional to the programs they organize made my visit to Colombo unforgettable.

As a hostel sharing a room with 7 other people, the room was kept amazingly clean,

Netting can be provided from reception to keep out the nasty Mosquitos.

Wifi is free :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH_SL, Manager at Colombo City Hostel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much that you give us a review after your stay at the Colombo City Hostel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and that you came back a couple times showed, how much you liked it! :) We still do our best to keep the rooms as clean as you experienced them and we fixed a net at every bed. I hope to see you again at the Colombo City Hostel in the Future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have visited the Colombo City Hostel on numerous occasions and am greatly impressed.
In comparison to all other budget accommodation options in and around Colombo, it stands out as the cleanest and friendliest and with only 3 bedrooms it should really be called a boutique hostel.
The colourful bunk beds (4 bunks per room), the spacious lockers and the top-notch bathrooms make it a comfortable and safe place to stay. The open-air kitchen has everything you need to be able to make yourself a meal and store your food.
But the best thing about the hostel is the friendly and knowledgable staff who can give you tips on almost all aspects of your journey around Sri Lanka. They also organise fun events for the guests, and the lounges have free WIFI, musical instruments and games and are a great place to socialise with other travellers. This makes it ideal for people who have arrived in Sri Lanka alone but are keen to meet a travel buddy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good value for money. This place is clean and comfortable. Friendly attentive staff who really takes care of you in a very hospitable manner. The owner rocks and makes you feel at home :)

Was there at the launch party and it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are looking for a convenient, cheap and cheerful place to stay while in Colombo, don't miss the Colombo City Hostel. It's bright interiors, comfortable bunk beds, clean toilets and kitchen facilities are absolutely superb. So if you love back packing and don't mind meeting new travellers and sharing stories over a cup of coffee, check in! The manager Kathleen is very organised and helpful...she'll even make you breakfast:) and is ever-handy on her Smartphone, helping you with directions to places. Since the place is pretty well located, you will find no problem getting tuk-tuks to commute around. Also at 20$ a night, this place is the best bet for a backpacker who's looking to stay for more than a couple of days.

Room Tip: Make sure you have directions to CCH before venturing there. The signage is very small so you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH_SL, Manager at Colombo City Hostel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Colombo City Hostel and for giving us a review. It is nice to receive such a nice review from one of our first guests and of course we are always interested how you experienced our Hostel and how we can improve. So for example, when you come the next time, we will actually have a corkscrew so we can actually drink the wine instead of trying all possible ways to open it without success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I did not stay at the Colombo City Hostel as I live in Colombo, but I went to a few of its events and the opening celebrations. This hostel is a nice, clean, friendly place with dedicated staff and quality rooms. It just opened up few days ago so I had the chance to visit it and speak to the manager, guests as well as other visitors. The rooms are quiet and clean, there is a spacious outdoor kitchen where you can prepare your meals, free WLAN, enough washrooms with decent space and equipment. It has three rooms with 8 beds each, so it is more like a boutique hostel than one of these big places. One can well connect with the other guests or chill out on the sun beds in front of the place. There is a grocery shop close by and enough tuk tuks to get to other places in Colombo. I traveled to more than 50 countries so far and this is one of the nicest hostels I have seen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hostel

Address: 68 S D S Jayasinghe Mawatha, Colombo 10250, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colombo City Hostel is the first of its kind in Colombo with a simple Philosophy: Clean, Safe, Fun and Cheap Accommodation. CCH was started by two friends and is about 2 things - promoting Colombo to travellers and having a fun place where people can come hang out, rest well and exchange travel stories/tips on Sri Lanka and relax over a beer. We endevour to exceed our travellers' expectations: we will be having band nights, BBQ nights and a whole lot more. Our staff team is professional while friendly and will be just like one of you- A Traveller who has found their way to Sri Lanka... We aim to be the coolest, best fun, the safest and all within a tight budget. Your home away from home.... And THE place you remember when you get back to your "real home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Colombo City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.