We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy your breakfast n coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar

Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar
Crescat Boulevard, Lobby -L1 | Colombo 00300, Colombo, Sri Lanka
+94 11 2446229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 284 restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sugar Bistro , a lively and exciting new restaurant and bar from the team behind Lemon Bar & Kitchen and Silk is now open. It's home to a relaxed dining experience and underpinned by great service and a menu that includes hearty dishes from around the globe including the infamous Sugar burger. The aim is to deliver a great experience whatever time you choose.
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy your breakfast n coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am a regular at this place for over an year now.... Sugar Bistro gets full marks for its location, service and coffee....certainly the best place in colombo to enjoy a hearty breakfast with great ambience ......must visit in colombo

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    50
    32
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“''WOW" IT IS A "SUGAR EXPIRIENCE".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place holds a place in Colombo for good reason! From arrival the service was terrific, great atmosphere from the Garden/Deck area... And the breathtaking views looking up the Galle road (ask for an outside table when reserving)
The food was excellent, my wife asked for something super hot with prawns and maintains it was the best she had ever had, compliments to the chef.
The service all night was attentive and not intrusive.
We only had a glass of wine each so our overall bill was very reasonable at just over 3000 RS [34 us dollars]
Congratulations SUGAR team, all round an excellent evening, thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Sugar has imp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have reviewed this restaurant about a year ago when I was not so happy. I now want to review it again as Sugar have grown into a nice place . You cannot really find similar in Colombo : the ambience, the staff politeness . We know the menu by heart now as we have been taking many lunches since they have opened. Nice place to stop for a glass w a friend, good variety for lunch and simple dinner.Breakfast option is making it super flexible! A quesadillas and fresh lime would perfectly do if you are hungry and in a rush.A light dinner when is late and nothing in the fridge. A cozy evening with a couple of friends and a glass of wine. And if you are lucky therei s live music at times.Simple,cozy and modern place of which not so many in Colombo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I have enjoyed many meal at Sugar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

this is by far one of the best restaurants in Colombo.
As well as the air condition part there is a terrace with a number of tables where u can rest, have a drink or a meal and meet your friends.

the food is just great and the Staff couldnt be more helpfull.

whenever I m in Colombo this is my favourite eatery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This restaurant saved my trip to Colombo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its allocated right in area 3 near the cinnamon Hotel. This is a western restaurant with great food and great atmosphere! we ate here breakfast, lauch and dinner. The prices are normal for Sri Lanka pretty cheap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bistro & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.