We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lavinia House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lavinia House to your Saves list
Lavinia House
23A, Simon Abeywickrama Mawatha | Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 86 Colombo B&B and Inns
berlin
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was absolutely not satisfied
I booked the guest house 2 months before because I saw the pictures
when I arrived the price was more than we agreed and the breakfast not more included
the bathroom we can see the picture that I taked in the room 103

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canacona, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lavinia house, we found very good. Positioned in a quiet area of Mount Lavinia, an easy walk from the beach, some excellent shops and bar/restaurants it was still in a quiet street.
The room and linen were clean and comfortable. True some of the recently painted walls had begun peeling again, but we are in the land of monsoon.
We were hosted with warmth and charm by Patrick and the staff, and at all times felt welcome and safe.
Overall, exactly what I look for in a budget residence, cleanliness, great position and great value.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Colombo for short or longer stays, as it is in such a good location.

Room Tip: It's not the Ritz, it's a budget guest house, but it is clean, friendly and well situated. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Tarnovo Province, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent a week here. Fantastic location, extremely helpful. You get what you pay for. The guys are cheerful and even gave their number in case we needed any help on our trip around Sri Lanka. Will be spending our last night here before flying out :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The place is in need of some serious repair. I stayed there in Sep 2013. He first told me I had to check out early in the morning but then was okay for me to leave later. The taxi he fixed for me was reasonable and the driver friendly and helpful. The staff were friendly. But you cannot get a cup of tea or juice. It is also lacking in privacy as it is like a house turned into a hotel. It is far away from the airport and bus stop too
shubha

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed the nights of 6 and 7 Sep 2013 at Lavinia House and paid US$22 per night for two adults and a 6-year-old in a room with two beds, nets and a private bathroom. Breakfast is available on request for an extra LKR300-500. A tuk-tuk will take 10-15 minutes and cost LKR600-800 from the Fort area. A few minutes' walk to shops, restaurants and Mount Lavinia train station, and a 5-minute walk to the beach. Owner was helpful with local information. Recommended for those on a mid-range budget staying in the Mount Lavinia area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Good sleeping experiance,room was neat and clean ,very closer to beach side besides for food we have ordered from outside.Here you could get and feel bus and train facility very good.We checked in early morning and have to wait as hotel as few rooms only..But still liked it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nothing exaggerated here. The hotel is located very close to beach (walking distance) to the beach, about a kilometer to the railway station. Spanking clean property. No food service, smoking allowed. No TV, No travel arrangements provided. The place is good for stay only .. just crashing out .Please do not expect anything more.

Regards

Andy

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavinia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavinia House

Address: 23A, Simon Abeywickrama Mawatha | Mount Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places and HostelWorld so you can book your Lavinia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavinia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.