We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slick hotel - loved the bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Colombo to your Saves list
Hilton Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 2, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Slick hotel - loved the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My wife & stayed at the middle of March in a King Corner Suite on the 5th floor (I think) overlooking the seaward side of the hotel. We had to insist on the view since they seemed to be pushing the room with a city/dock view - OK but I'm not much for ship spotting.

The room was great - comfortable big bed with soft pillows and towels. The hotel itself was pretty impressive too. A great lobby and really attentive and friendly staff.

The bar was excellent, and even though the prices are high for SL, the place was worth it for the good bar food and pitchers of beer while we watched the rugby in our own seating bay with own tv. About the best bar in Colombo - although I haven't tried them all. The nearby foyer cake shop is amazing and good priced too - be prepared to put on weight.

I would heartily recommend the seafood buffet in the restaurant on the way to the pool (can't remember its name). And the pool itself was great - especially for children with all the inflatables the staff throw in there !!

We also stayed at the Mount Lavinia (see the other review) and the biggest difference was the atmosphere. Mount Lavinia is more "adult" and straightlaced whereas the Hilton is more relaxed with more modern facilities. Both have their merits - but for room comfort it would have to be the Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    484
    196
    59
    28
See reviews for
151
309
119
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Have stayed at the Hilton at the start and end of our 8 days tour of Sri Lanka. It is all you expect from an international hotel chain - clean rooms, professional and friendly staff, excellent food (really good!!!).
Would probably not stay there for a whole holiday as there is not much in the area and seeing the security all over the place is not what I would like to see all the time.
Pool location is slighly annoying as you have to cross the bridge above a very busy road (again with a security guard on it).
With the current situation there are not many turist in Sri Lanka so the price was a real bargain and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

I have just attended an exhibition here. The Hotel in situated in a fabulous location and the staff are very friendly. The lobby is large enough to arrange mini conferences and meals are up to quality.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

The hotel itself is very nice with good rooms, a great international buffet and Chinese restaurant, a reasonably priced spa and beautiful grounds.

The pool and spa are on the other side of the street, you take a bridge to get to it, but that didn't bother me.

In these times of unrest in Sri Lanka, you should know that's it's directly across the street from the government house that serves as an office for the President, military officials and an exercise camp for their military. It made me nervous, however there were no incidents. There were search lights on the river every night and loud speaker announcements that you can hear if you are outside, but did not bother me inside the hotel. Also the helicopters land often. There are also stickers on the window requesting that you not take photographs out of your window (though it is a nice view...)

We used the conference facilities for the event and they were good with extremely helpful staff. However in order to pay the AV company we had to hire, I had to physically go to their shop to pay our bill with a credit card.

Overall a good property, just keep in mind the location.

  • Liked — Good rooms and great international buffet.
  • Disliked — Location.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Last year when I visited Colombo i stayed at the nearby Galadari hotel which was a pleasant experience as well..but this time round when i went to rebook the Galadari I found their rate comparable to the Hilton Colombo so i decided to book the Hilton instead and really glad that I did.

Everything about the hotel is top notch. From the room to the facilities and especially the staff. Room has all you'd expect of a 5 star hotel..tea/coffee making facilities, in room safe, in room iron...good toiletries...satellite TV...and a extremely comfortable bed.. I had requested a non smoking and sea view room and got that without any issue.

The food at the hotel is excellent as well...and the buffet breakfast was so large that it was impossible to sample half the items !!

The only minor issue i faced was the pool that was located across the road from the main hotel and connected by a walkway bridge...a 5 minute walk away or so...still nothing to make me change my mind about staying again at the hotel.

Oh..one other point is the location...on Galle Face...close to the shopping malls...but also in a high security area so there was repeated checking which could be irritating at times.

All is all will definitely book here again on my next trip to Sri Lanka and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The walk to the pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful throughout.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean and we got an upgrade no hassle, with a great view.

The Dim Sum at lunch is fantastic and it's great to have a glass of wine in the lobby bar.

The pool is great and has great food as well.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Overall great experience.
  • Disliked — The pool is a bit of a walk away.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We used the Colombo Hilton as our first hotel after arriving in Sri Lanka, for a three night stay. We were due to attend a wedding at the nearby Galle Face Hotel, before staying at four other hotels around the country for our holiday.

The Colombo Hilton was almost perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Even though we were only there for three nights, the staff (particularly at reception, the liftman and at the Executive Lounge) made a real effort to chat to us and seemed genuinely interested in our plans.

The Executive Lounge is small, but perfectly equipped, and the views are stupendous.

We were given an Executive Room overlooking the port side at first. An interesting view, but we really wanted to overlook the sea, and so a few moments later we were swiftly moved into a room overlooking the sea.

The room was normal sized, and had all normal facilities. My slight criticism is that the room was more traditional than the usual Hilton brand would suggest,, but pleasant nonetheless.

The real highlight of this hotel is the facilities. It has everything on site, including a gym, outdoor swimming pool and massage rooms (accessible via a short bridge), a beauty salon, a few shops for essentials and for souvenirs, and a number of restaurants.

It was at the main restaurant (where you also have your buffet breakfast) that we found this hotel's main attraction. The breakfast contained a lot of choice - juices, breads, sri lankan and western cooked breakfasts, japanese food, pastries. The evening choice here is also a buffet, and contains such a wide and interesting selection of food, that put together with a choice of six other restaurants, you will never get round to eating everything, no matter how many times you dine here!

All in all, I could not fault it.

Having attended the wedding at the Galle Face Hotel, I would recommend the Hilton for its facilities. If it is a more traditional and colonial atmosphere that you would prefer, then the Galle Face Hotel is better.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Cannot fault it!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 2, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.