We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at The Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Colombo

Save Saved
You added Hilton Colombo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 2, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Colombo
Nerja
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at The Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a beautiful setting this hotel is in . I didnt stay here , I was on a cruise and we stopped for the day in Colombo and after a 2+hour private taxi ride seeing the sights , then a walkaround , what better way to end the day than being British , and having afternoon tea ! Well , there were a choice of around 20 varieties , it was a lovely way to the end the day and looking out to the beautifully landscaped gardens. Thankyou Hilton Colombo , very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Flamencolass,

My team and I extend our warmest thanks for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your brief time at Hilton Colombo.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel's premises and afternoon tea. We hope that when you next return to Colombo, it would be to stay with us for a few days. Thank you again for your kind review.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    395
    161
    46
    24
See reviews for
111
248
97
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

cheted for the price we payed , hotel needs a serious upgrate not in same standard as any 5 star we stayed, had to move to 2 seperate rooms as the quality was poor , no efford to help from desk front to improve the situastion as there were no management to make dissisions......................................................

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Hendrick P,

Please accept my personal apologies for the recent disappointing stay at Hilton Colombo. Contrary to the impression you have gained from your experience, we are dedicated to ensuring the comfort and well-being of all our guests.

We have discussed your feedback regarding the level of service delivered by our Front Office team and recognise that we could have better executed your room change request. We wish to assure you that the team continue to work hard to deliver customer-focused and prompt service delivery to all our guests.

You will be glad to know that the hotel will indeed undergo major renovation works soon. Our guest rooms, facilities and premises will receive a much needed facelift and we look forward to presenting a revitalised Hilton Colombo to all our guests in the near future.

My team and I sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity to deliver a better stay experience to you in the future. It will be our pleasure to be of service to you again.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Still the best Hotel in Colombo. The food in all restaurants is outstanding and really top class. Visit the Curry Leaf Restaurant if you are there - its a MUST. Great, that the Hilton managed to retain so many of its staff over the past 15 years I have been visiting the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AnjaYates,

Thank you for your generous review of Hilton Colombo, the pleasure is ours to be your home away from home!

Your continued patronage is very much appreciated and we are pleased to learn that our service and restaurants, especially the Curry Leaf, have been consistently outstanding for you. We continue to be at your service and look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times, and I find the service to be consistently excellent and very personable. The staff make me feel very welcome, and this is one important reason I return whenever I am in Colombo. When the staff noticed it was my birthday, they took extra steps to be gracious and sent a cake to my room.

Room Tip: My rooms have faced the ocean with great views. Fitness "facility" is a little worn, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Frank N,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Hilton Colombo on Tripadvisor, your continued patronage is valuable to us.

Every guest is an important individual to us and it was our pleasure to help make your birthday a memorable occasion. The team extend their warmest thanks for your kind feedback on their good hospitality and service, which always highlights your stays with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and to continuing to delight you through our warm and friendly service.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on the way to another part of Sri Lanka and then again on the return...

the hotel is lovely, has several restaurants in there... we ate in the hotel bar itself which was nice, could of been better as our food arrived cold, I think there was a mix up in the kitchen.
We ate in the Indian Restuarant too which was nice...

On the 2nd part of our stay we went to the pool, sauna and steam area which was nice
the staff are all very professional,

Room Tip: High floor with a view of Sri Lanka
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Anne_Marie_79_11,

It was a pleasure having you and your family at Hilton Colombo during your holiday in Sri Lanka.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed both your stays with us and made good use of our facilities. While it is good to know that your dining experiences were positive, your feedback on the service delivery is much appreciated. My team have since taken steps to address the points you have raised to ensure that the high standards of our food quality and service are upheld.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you all again should you return to Sri Lanka for another holiday in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The lobby, restaurants and onsite jewelry shopping is phenomenal. There is even an outside restaurant on the water and it made for the perfect evening. The breakfast buffet and setting is beautiful as well and over looks a beautiful pool area that houses ducks that swim by. But the room was terribly in need of updating. The carpet needs to be reinstalled and the furniture does as well. Not a nice room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear SayvilleNY,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hilton Colombo, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your kind feedback on our facilities and breakfast buffet. You will be glad to know that the hotel will soon undergo extensive renovations, which will certainly address your comments regarding our rooms.

We hope that you will return to stay with us when the hotel is fully revitalised. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back and present a brand new experience to you.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenfeld
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Hilton in Colombo is like all Hilton´s: convenient, semi-luxury, decent food and good location. Overall a good place for business travels. The breakfast is rich in variety, the concierge is always helpful. The spa and leisure locations are a minus as they are quite a bit of a walk

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Michel_k73,

Thank you for your thoughts and insights on Hilton Colombo, it is good to know that the hotel is well-suited to your business requirements.

My team extend their warm thanks for your positive feedback on our breakfast variety and the friendly service delivered by our Concierge. We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Colombo.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 2, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Colombo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.