We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful co-existence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Samudra Colombo

Save Saved
You added Taj Samudra Colombo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Colombo
Ahmedabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful co-existence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Honestly speaking all the participants were a bit apprehensive about participation in the International Conference in a city which has bomb blasts rather frequently in spite of being removed fromJafna and north eastern part of the Island nation of Sri Lanka.
Selected by Govermnemnt of India and sponsored by the UNAIDS,I was not very keen about the venue for the above mentioned reasons strengthend by the perceptions(and misconception) of many friends and colleagues In Tamilnadu.
The stay was a pleasant surprise because of the extremely hospitable behaviour evinced at the hotel,venue and all the places of visit in the city.
It never gave even a remotest semblance of a strife torn city/nation as feeling of celebration,camaraderie and confidence was writ large on all the faces.
The hotel people were very courteous and extended all types of help definitely not mentioned in their job descriptions which made the stay in Taj Samudra Colombo a memorable one.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — none whatsoever
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    282
    157
    45
    32
See reviews for
135
168
50
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I frequently visit Colombo on official matters and the first time I visited I had also taken my family alongwith me. We put up at the Taj Samudra, Colombo and the experience was very beyond my expectation. We stayed for a week in the Hotel. I had to go for my official meetings for the first two days and my pregnant wife & daughter spent time in the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and very accomodative. Everybody from the reception to the bellboys and the room cleaners had a smile on their face and very prompt in their responses.
We were staying in one of the Sea Facing Executive Suites on the sixth floor and the view from the open balcony was one of the best postcard views ever. We were offered flowers and a wine bottle on arriving at the hotel. The Taj Samudra is parallel to the shoreline (walking path) unlike the other Galle Face Road hotels. Its got the BEST VIEW. Opt for the sea facing balcony suites. Having tea/ coffee in the gallery while u hear the waves splash and staring into the horizon gives you a sense of tranquility and much needed calm. Also the Taj is placed in a high security zone with the army check posts positioned every 500 mts, so also makes it one of the most guarded places in the war stricken nation.
The Hotel Lobby is also tastefully done and there is an array of wine n alcohol bottles very smartly arranged.
The rooms also seemed to have been recently done up what with the wooden flooring and the glass panelled bathrooms. We had a 32" LCD, an electric kettle, a fridge and internet facility in the room. Room service is prompt and all the toiletries provided were of the Forest Essentials premium range.
The breakfast spread would be exhaustive with food to cater to all your taste buds. The restaurants in the hotel were also class apart and the quantity of the food provided was quiet ample in sharp contrast to other Indian Five star hotels. I would recommend the Prawns Biryani at Navratna and also the Chinese Fares at the Golden Dragon. Also the steaks at the grill house are mouth watering and you need to really build an appetite before placing your order. The pricing isnt too high considering the quantity offered.There are happy hours in the lounge and there is a band playing on certain days of the week. The gym is also well equipped and the swimming pool is also well maintained, except that it was very hectic trip for me to indulge in the gym or the swimming pool. Also on every friday night, one of the restaurants host a Sea Food night wherein you can pick the fish of your choice and will be prepared right in front of your eyes. Also the whole decoration of the Sea Food fest is very beautiful complete with fishing nets and Sea Shells.
I must make a special mention of the maitre d' at the breakfast tables. The lady was kind enough to offer to on her own and even did pack some bananas and apples and also some muffins for my wife and child on knowing that they were going out shopping advising not to eat much of oil fried snacks. Such personal touchs made our stay at the Taj Samudra a very memorable one.
While in Colombo, shopping at Odel makes sense. Its a department store. Clothing is priced very resonably and accessories, etc are worth a look. As tourists, its advisable not to roam around freely and the army are entiltled to stop your vehicle for enquiries. We were advised to always carry our passports for identification all the time but at the Taj they had also provided us with an electronic safe in our room; so we had kept our passports in the safe and would carry the Hotel card with all the neccessary information details lest somebody asked.
All in all the trip was quiet successful, enjoyable and very memorable.

  • Liked — THE BREATH TAKING OCEAN HORIZON VIEW
  • Disliked — Poor travel desk
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zyx007
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Phenomenal ocean views from the sea facing rooms. Renovated executive floor with upgraded amenities and new furnishing and fixtures including comfortable office chair with glass desk, rain shower, 32 inch LCD TVs and DVD players. Some benefits have been downgraded like the happy hour for Executive floor has now become only one drink at the bar. Another glaring defect was that during the author's five day stay, any sugar substitute like equal, sugar-free or calendra had run out and remaiend out of stock. Good value for money though with reduced pricing now in effect.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Very pricey internet
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The hotel is the best for Businessmen to stay there as it provides, along with the basic amenities, a feel your own home. The bands playing, the restaurants, pool..everything is gr8.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We directly contacted the hotel for booking. We had stated that we are interested for a sea facing room only and the reservation desk informed they will reserve one for us. However when we arrived they stated all the sea facing rooms are full. Not thrilled with the response, we asked for our rooms and it was not ready.

The TAJ property is beautiful. You can spend most of the day roaming around the property. Rating 4 out of 5. however the service is not satisfactory to the level of a 5 star hotel.

Food is repetative and boring. There is a Dragon Chinese restaurant. Food I would rate 2 out of 5. Service 2out of 5 and please visit it when you have a lot of time to yourself coz the wait time after you order is very long. Moreover,in case a celebrity arrives just cancel your order and move out coz, all staff will entertain the personality. There is an Indian Restaurant Navratna- rating 4 out of 5.


Overall 3.5 out of 5

  • Liked — Property
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My stay began with a wonderful view of the Colombo seaface.. Wake up in the morning to the hustle of a city which is surprisingly modern.. Breakfast was great and 1 of the better ones Ive had for sometime.. Hotel is very modern and spacious and gives a homely feel the Taj & the Sri Lankans are famous for.. Decently large pool and other facilities though there was so much to do that I didnt realy get time to try them

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing much
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

An imposing, beautiful entrance, and your mind is made up already: I am gonna love this vacation! It's done up in a grand Sri Lankan style, complete with ivory and gold for effect and breath takingly done-up, beautiful indoors.

If you like the feel of luxury, frills, fancy stuff, be assured you've arrived at the correct place.

I must admit I was worried that the food there may not suit my palate. You see, I am not much of a fan of coconut curries, pastes, milk in all m food. I like coastal food only once in a while. But I was pleasantly surprised that they did have sufficient choice- not extravagant variety, but sufficient. Both the Indian restaurant as well as the Chinese one were great! The buffet was splendid, too!

One tip though: please do insist on mineral water when visiting such countries, no matter where you choose to stay.

The room service is prompt, and takes care of minor variations in food if requested.

The view is good too, but I would suggest you leave the hotel for a walk in the beach- it will completely mesmerize you!

While in Sri Lanka, do not miss on the shopping bit. Odel is a shopper's paradise, at a fraction of the normal price!

One last piece of advice: leave ample margin if you a flight to cath/ an appointment. It's Sri Lanka: you may be held back for some unexpected reason for some time. Even though we didn't have to use this piece of advice ourselves, we felt better every time that we did have enough time on our hands.

  • Liked — The Presidential Suite is so memorable!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
#7 Family Hotel in Colombo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets – Latitude – all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna – Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon – Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine Steak & Grill House – Fine Dining Restaurant that offers the best Steaks in town MIX Bar – A game of pool, live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends Barbeque Terrace – an open air barbeque restaurant Lobby Lounge – Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining – 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Samudra Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.