We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel. Awesome staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Samudra Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Samudra Colombo to your Saves list
Taj Samudra Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tired hotel. Awesome staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is currently under some much needed renovations! This hotel product is tired and from the front entrance looks like a construction site.
If it wasn't for the staff who made it bearable! Ruwan in the Fitness centre was outstanding and helped me during my stay. Coming back to my room each day from work my room attendant (Anukumar? Who cleaned room 166 from 19th-22nd) rocked! Room was clean and tidy (as it should be) but what was impressive was the smaller details. Animal designs made from towels, each day a different animal was awaiting me. When I mentioned that I like elephants the next evening an elephant was awaiting me. I placed a paper napkin as a marker in my reading book and on my first day, in its place was a book mark from the hotel. It is the small attention and thoughtfulness of all the staff that made my stay. Good luck with the needed renovations and please let the construction commence after 7am!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    348
    188
    58
    43
See reviews for
192
217
60
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was so excited to go to Taj Samundra after viewing their website however it turned to be a disaster. The bed is smaller than the ones in the hospital, I had requested to change room to a queen size bed since my room was twin dwarf size bed and staff were very much unhelpful, I was told that since renovation was going on these room were the only available away from the noise. but as matter of fact even accepting the terrible room there were construction noises next door throughout the day till 19:30 non stop and worst of all I woke up at 05:20 AM in the morning from construction noise, I had to complaint to reception and duty manager before the noise stopped however I COULD NOT SLEEP ANY MORE. The room was tired and they still have TVs from the 90s. (so much of their beautiful pictures on their website) The shower is horrible next to my bed above the floor base there where holes on the wall, the furniture had thick layers of paints....the toilet flush of my colleague was not working this was repeatedly reported but no action was taken....my colleague had to pour water to toilet bowl from the sink. Staff is inefficient since they never pay attention to our needs.
There are better hotels in Colombo such as the cinnamon grand with a great selection of restaurants I really wished I had been there instead.
To the Hotel management thank you for making my stay a terrible one I hope to not come to your hotel ever again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Hotel is undergoing substantial renovation, which is to be completed before the CHOGM global meet in mid-Nov 2013. Though this causes disruptions, and currently reduced availability of rooms, the Hotel is handling this inconvenience to guests very well---and the expectation is that the experience after Nov 2013 would be even much more enjoyable and rewarding than it has been so far !

Meanwhile, the excellent food and the caring service continue to be maintained---it is the Taj standard !

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea-facing room, and in the higher floors if possible---there is a great view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here about a month ago, Location is wonderful and the Staff at the hotel are absolutely brilliant. They are very caring and lovely. They treat you like your family, from my experience at least. Pricing is very cheap, I mean you can order everything and still not have an expensive bill during checkout. Drinks by the pool were lovely and served chilled. ( Some hotels around the area don't do this for some reason). The room is out-dated, very old... but there is some construction going on around the area.. Would love to see this property when its all finished up.
Would go back and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Taj Samudra Hotel is located across the road from Galle Face Green, the best part of Colombo. The location is perfect. The room I was given was unfortunately on the same floor as where some construction work was taking place, and the hammers start knocking at 9am, not exactly conducive to a good sleep-in. My room was medium sized, but the furniture and fittings were old and tired. You would also need to pay extra for Wifi / internet. On the positive side, the pool was absolutely gorgeous - 23 meters in length and perfect for a few laps. The restaurant had an excellent buffet breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Avoid construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way back from Kandy. A beautiful place with great service. Our room had an amazing sea view and the beds were comfortable for a good nights rest. Would recommend this to adult travelers looking for that bit extra

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were travelling to south India and stilaka to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. .. the hotel is ideally located and we got a suite with beautiful view of the ocean. ... the rooms were big, well done like any other Taj rooms... we however had problem with the bath tub and the shower,the water wasn't ckean... the staff too lacked warmth.. although ppl at managerial positions were making efforts to interact with the guests.. all in all a good stay..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets – Latitude – all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna – Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon – Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine Steak & Grill House – Fine Dining Restaurant that offers the best Steaks in town MIX Bar – A game of pool, live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends Barbeque Terrace – an open air barbeque restaurant Lobby Lounge – Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining – 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Samudra Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.