We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptous Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Samudra Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Samudra Colombo to your Saves list
Taj Samudra Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
pune
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sumptous Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the best hotels I and my wife recently visited was the Taj Samudra @ Galle Face Road,Colombo.Sri Lanka.
The rooms are very spacious and the breakfast one of the very best, I have personally enjoyed as the array was vast and sumptuous.The staff were exceedingly helpful and very courteous as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    348
    188
    58
    43
See reviews for
192
217
59
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, india
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

For sure a renovation anytime is a must. definitely 5 star with the taj hospitality as usual at its best. Restaurant choice is pretty goo with the coffee shop serving a all day dining at world standards. The indian restaurant Navratna will put the Indian chefs to a stiff competition. Nice food, nice pool area. Rooms for sure need renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having read some recent poor reviews, we were a bit apprehensive about the hotel. Well, we need not have worried. We had two separate nights seven days apart. On the first, we were upgraded to an executive room. Great view and excellent facilities. On the second night, we were in a standard room. Again, a large room, clean, well furnished, not quite as opulent as the first and the bathroom, although clean and functional was a bit outdated.

On both occasions, the service was superb from check in, restaurant, bar, pool and housekeeping. Nothing was too much trouble and all done efficiently and with a smile. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food compares with any of the other hotels worldwide that we have stayed in - and at reasonable prices. The only minor complaint was the cost of the wine.

Some have complained that the decor is tired. We could find no evidence of this. Every part of the hotel was clean and looked well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is great property of a renowned group---but currently seems to need more attention, priority and financial investment support from the company. Largely the issues relate to maintenance of the hard facilities, cutting down of supplies and facilities in the rooms, etc---but the personalised attention and service of the staff, the food quality, etc. have continued to be outstanding ! Surely it is only a matter of time, before these aspects get improved, and it will be back as a top hotel of the region !

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We (my wife, daughter who joined us on winter vacation, and I) enjoyed our stay (nights of 1st & 2nd Jan 2013) at the Taj.
The staff at reception counter was most efficient and courteous when we checked in and even more so when we checked out at 4.30 am. Mr Mahendran at the counter even promised (in case we had to return from the airport as we had ticketing complications) to keep the same room available for extended stay till receiving my confirmation from the airport on whether we could board the flight.
The room was very comfortable with great view of the ocean during the day and Galle sea face lights after sunset. The ocean face across the road in front of the hotel though not a beach but is a cornice with a walkway where famous residents of Colombo are known to take their morning walks. A very good gym with a squash court, where I played for half an hour with my daughter was a huge plus for us. The buffet breakfast was superb with wide variety including traditional Indian cuisine. The best was the Indian restaurant where we had dinners on both days as the preparations were finest not to forget the famed Taj hospitality of each and every staff in the restaurant. The restaurant manager even provided us with a special dish saying that was a gift courtesy Taj and then the Chef came over to enquire about our likings.
Overall experience of our stay was overwhelmingly very pleasant except that internet, paid for separately was not as quick as other Taj traits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Desperately in need of a facelift... Terribly dull despite sitting on a fantastic location.
Service is slothful... As a Taj regular, I was shocked by the service levels and upkeep.
Business travellers would do better at some of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Some floors are renovated with wooden floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I must warn all those who are looking for a good 5 star experience to stay away from this property. Just no value for money. Very Jaded property with the rooms being very smelly as well as outdated. Even the quality of bed mattresses is poor. Only silver lining was the buffet breakfast which was good and the Indian restaurant Navratna which served outstanding food. Even the staff hospitality was not upto the mark. Unless you are forced one should avoid this place. Am told they are closing in April for renovation for 2 years. I will return to this property once fully renovated as the location is very good.

Room Tip: If forced to stay then take the rooms from 3rd floor onwards as they have a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets – Latitude – all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna – Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon – Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine Steak & Grill House – Fine Dining Restaurant that offers the best Steaks in town MIX Bar – A game of pool, live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends Barbeque Terrace – an open air barbeque restaurant Lobby Lounge – Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining – 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Samudra Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.