We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and always ready to help!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Samudra Colombo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Samudra Colombo to your Saves list
Taj Samudra Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Ghaziabad, India
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and always ready to help!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one amongst the best places to stay when in Colombo.

The service, quality and management everything was just fabolous. I went there for a conference which our company had organized and overall it was a very memorable experience. The staff was very helpful during the conbference and stay of the entire group.

I am actually writing the review quite late (stayed in November 2010)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    307
    168
    51
    39
See reviews for
154
194
51
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here one night at start of our honeymoon. Nice hotel but nothing special in comparison to other places in Sri Lanka. This hotel really is just a corporate bland hotel, as other reviews say lacks charm. Also lacks some of the excellent customer service of Sri Lanka, which is usually well above normal international standards.

Food ok but overpriced for Sri Lanka compared with the other 5 hotels we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for a couple days while visiting Colombo for work. I had been to Colombo once before and stayed at the Hilton. I thought this was a better choice, more modern, better kept, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were good. Location is fine, not on the beach but very central and the service was good. Colombo has a pretty poor choice of hotels so this is a good choice considering the dearth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice during a cricket sports tour in September/October 2012. We found the level of customer service excellent, and the prices for drinks, bar snacks, coffees etc very cheap.
Overall the hotel could do with a bit of freshening up as some parts were looking slightly jaded.
The hotel pool and facilites were excellent, and the staff could not be more attentive.
We ate in both the Chinese and Indian restaurants attached to the hotel....without a doubt, the food in both was exceptional, and we would thoroughly recommend people to visit them.
One thing we didn't agree with were the charges for wifi - would have expected this to be free considering the number of business visitors.
However, for a great standard of hotel, great location, great staff, great restaurants, we would have no hesitation in staying again

Room Tip: Probably at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area. To minimise disturbances, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Taj Samudra is fine as hotels go, but nothing to write home about-- I'd rather stay over at the Galle Face and soak up the atmosphere there. Breakfast was OK and the pool was nice. Great location but pretty generic as hotels go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a regular guest of Taj hotels worldwide, I was extremely surprised at the sorry condition of this Colombo property. The guest rooms' are outdated, so make sure you book the "renovated" room. Towels and sheets are also old - sometimes with holes in them! However, when brought to the Housekeeping supervisor's attention she gladly changed them with new ones. For a 5-star hotel, one shouldn't have to do this. They say they have started with renovations in some floors, which I very much hope should be finished very soon otherwise regular Taj guests would opt to stay at other new Colombo hotels such as Cinanmon Grand and Cinnamon Lakeside. (note that in Sri Lanka, especially in Colombo, hotel room rates are government controlled, so all "5-star" hotels basically offer similar guest room rates.)

The saving grace for Taj Samudra at the moment is its Staff -- from the doorman, the lift assistant, in-room dining staff, F&B and front desk. There is the "usual Taj personal service" one expects from all Taj properties. The warmth of its staff from the moment you arrive in the middle of the night (all international flights seem to arrive at past midnight) to the early morning greetings when you go out of the hotel for a quick run along the Galle seafront before a day full of back-to-back business meetings.

I shall await with great expectations when Taj Samudra finishes its renovations by December 2012 (according to the hotel resident manager.) The property sits in a perfect central location in Colombo: 4-6 minute drive to the business centre, great views of the ocean... The guest rooms facing the ocean are the best in the city, with its balconies perfect for evening cocktails.

Summary:
1) Great views and location
2) Great staff (efficient, warm and attentive)
3) Poor physical condition (worn carpets, chipped wall paints, outdated)
4) Not 5-star -- should be 3-star at this time
5) Love the historic building architecture
6) Fast internet access in rooms (but pay usual daily rate)
7) Efficient in-room dining, great breakfast buffet selection

Room Tip: Ask for "renovated room" facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been to Taj Samudra thrice in the last 4 years. the renovation work started in 2008 and is still going on on on on on on on. the 7 floors of the hotel has only 5 new floors and to my bad luck i have always stayed on the 6th floor which still did not get the chance of looking beautiful.
the lobby on the other new floors looks exciting but the top floors, i mean, the executive floors still have the old look.
otherwise ,the service and etc are good and the excellent helping staff are always there.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from floor number 1-5 only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Greetings from Taj Samudra!

Thank you so very much for your heartfelt review of the overall experience you had with us at Taj Samudra Colombo. I am indeed very pleased to note that you were delighted with the service provided by my Team and the compliments on the new look of the lift landing areas on guests floors. Thank you for all your compliments which I have shared with my entire team who delighted you with their dedicated service as it is sincere feedback such as yours indeed that motivates my team to achieve higher levels of service.

I have also noted your feedback with regard to our product and renovation and wish to inform you that we are embarking on a large scale renovation in the coming year and I am confident that the new look of the rooms, bathrooms, corridors, banquet halls and enhanced services would elevate the hotel to World Class Luxury Standards.

I sincerely regret for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Samudra Colombo during your next visit to the Emerald Isle.


Warm regards,
Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25, Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Colombo
#6 Family Hotel in Colombo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets – Latitude – all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna – Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon – Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine Steak & Grill House – Fine Dining Restaurant that offers the best Steaks in town MIX Bar – A game of pool, live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends Barbeque Terrace – an open air barbeque restaurant Lobby Lounge – Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining – 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Samudra Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.