We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business Men not for Tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Colombo Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Colombo Residence to your Saves list
Hilton Colombo Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Union Place | Colombo 02, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for Business Men not for Tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First at all it has to be mention, that all employees, doesn't matter which position are extremely friendly and helpful. However, it's an aging property which needs some facelifting, especially in the rooms. Breakfast is excellent, great variety of food items, local as well international dishes. Elevators are vey slowly, the music on all floors in front of elevators has a terrible sound. Housekeepong generally good, but kitchen are quiet dirty. Location of HCR is not the best, 10 -12 min walk from the Ocean walk. The HCR is good for Business People but not realy suitable for tourist.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear GERTraveler,

Thank you for letting us know what made your recent stay a delightful experience, it was a pleasure having you with us.

I am very pleased that the service delivered by my team was outstanding and you enjoyed our breakfast buffet spread. Your feedback regarding the foyer music and the kitchen has been noted and we have since taken steps to address these points. We are currently upgrading our apartments and facilities, and as we do so, we contintue to do our best to ensure that our guests are treated to the warm Sri Lankan hospitality and efficient Hilton service at all times.

The Hilton Colombo Residence offers full business facilities for our business guests but at the same time, is a popular accommodation choice for families and holiday-makers who wish for both five-star service and a home-away-from-home environment.

Thanks again for your kind feedback and if you wish to share more details of your experience or plan to return to Colombo, I invite you to please contact me directly on manesh.fernando@hilton.com. My team and I would be delighted to be of service to you again.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    124
    37
    10
    10
See reviews for
133
35
14
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were upgraded at this hotel, mainly due to renovations being undertaken at the time. These commence around 10am and go until 4.00pm (lots of drilling and thumping). However that said the upgrade made up for all that. We were placed in a 3 bedroom apartment.
Meet with free fruit and cookies and wonderful rooms and furniture we had definatley been placed in a new apartment.
Our housekeeping staff member Sampas (I think) who cleaned our rooms was a delight, very helpful and always had a smile.
Linens were excellent, beds comfy and the ensuite in main room had a lovely big bath and shower area.
Spa good but had been relocated to near pool area again due to renovations so it was noisey. Pool large and service here was good.
Try the restaurant reasonable and very good food, we opted to order from menu other than buffet and ate here a couple of times because it was so good. Staff remembered us and offered extras and remembered wines etc - cannot recommend the restaurant enough.
Great small balcony area - for smoking available and great view.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jake S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Hilton Colombo Residence, it is a pleasure to know that my team did their utmost to make you feel comfortable during your stay. As our upgrading works to our facilities continue, we are doing our best to minimise as much as possible any inconvenience to our guests.

My team and I very much appreciate your feedback on our newly refurbished apartment and especially your dining experience, which also highlighted your stay. I would welcome any further feedback on the hotel and invite you to please contact me directly on manesh.fernando@hilton.com. We would be delighted to welcome you back, should you return to Colombo in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Recently we held our visipaha batch party at the Banquet hall. Hall was excellent and lighting was perfect. Air conditioning was very comfortable. Staff were well trained and gave an excellent service. Food was great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sanjeewa A,

What a delight to hear from you again! Thank you for letting us know how the Visipaha Batch Party went, my team and I are pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves. It is also wonderful to receive great feedback on our service and food.

Should you have further feedback or be planning more events, please do contact me directly on manesh.fernando@hilton.com, it would be my pleasure to hear from you. See you again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice apartments for group stay. Very comfortable and fully furnished. Very good alternative for short or long stay.
Very economical when compared to other 5* hotels, with equally good service, quality & comfort.
On;y issue is limited availability of eating out-lets/ restaurants and many not really in favour of Indian travellers.

Room Tip: any room on upper floors is equally good. Got the frou-side view, either to lakes or to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear RahMeh,

Thank you very much for sharing your insights from your recent stay at Hilton Colombo Residence. I am pleased to read that you felt comfortable and well-taken care of by my team.

Your feedback on our restaurants is much appreciated and my team will review the variety that we offer and make the necessary refinements that would enhance our guests' dining experiences. In the meantime, at the Union Bar & Grill, we pride ourselves in putting out an extensive array of local and international delicacies that everyone can enjoy. We are also proud to offer a wonderful selection of Sri Lankan dishes that have garnered much praise from our guests at the Verandah Bistro & Bar.

Should you have any further feedback to share or plan to return to Colombo, I invite you to please contact me directly on manesh.fernando@hilton.com. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back on all your future stays.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent desk staff and more than excellent F&B service,Apart from the hotel being excellent, the staff were amazing. Very very helpful .specially breakfast staff.
The suite that we stayed in was also absolutely fantastic with plenty of space - what a delight!

Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear naleefn,

Thank you for commending my team for their outstanding service, it is wonderful to know that you felt at home and well-looked after during your stay. We truly appreciate your recommendation of the hotel and I invite you to please contact me directly should you have further feedback to share or be planning another trip to Colombo. My email address is manesh.fernando@hilton.com and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

- Very good hospitality
- Apartments are spacious and well done
- In downtown area
- Very peaceful location and easy access to other parts
- the breakfast spread is very good, love the fresh juices served and even they even make whatever you ask for…salads, breads etc
- odel mall close by
- Beach is also close
-a food mall is just next door, good for long stay

Room Tip: - pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear amishajshah,

It is very refreshing to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and felt at home with us during your recent stay at Hilton Colombo Residence. We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Colombo. Do email me directly on manesh.fernando@hilton.com should you have any inquiry or require assistance for your next stay with us. See you again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for four nights to start my trip to Sri Lanka and two nights to end our trip. As a HHonors Gold member, I was upgraded to a very high floor, provided free breakfast, as well as fresh fruit and a bottle of wine on arrival. The best part is unlike other HHonors properties I didn't have to ask for any benefits, they were offered without asking. Their renovated suites are very nice and the cleanliness is excellent. The hotel restaurant (Union Bar and Grill) while pricey is good. Room service was excellent and offered basically the same menu as the hotel restaurant except late at night.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay for the upgrade to a higher floor. The views from the higher floors are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHCR, General Manager at Hilton Colombo Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dharmithran,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Colombo Residence, it was a pleasure having you and your wife with us. Your loyalty as a Hilton HHonors Gold member is of great value to us and I am pleased that your overall experience was memorable. Your positive feedback on Union Bar & Grill and Room Service is also very much appreciated.

Should you have any further feedback to share or plan to return to Colombo, I invite you to please contact me directly on manesh.fernando@hilton.com. My team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Colombo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo Residence

Address: 200 Union Place | Colombo 02, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Colombo Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an outstanding, suite and room experience in the heart of Sri Lanka’s largest city; Hilton Colombo Residences is the ideal choice for business or leisure. Take in panoramic views from this 33-storey tower, offering vistas of the Indian Ocean, city and harbor. The hotel includes superb venues for conferences and events for up to 850 people; it is located within 5 minutes of the central business district of Colombo, within close proximity to major banking institutes, supermarkets, shopping and cultural destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Colombo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Residence Hotel Colombo
Colombo Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Colombo Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.