We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long menu in a very small space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avirate Cafe

Avirate Cafe
30 Maitland Crescent | Colombo 7, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #282 of 348 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Fabulous cafe (next door to a fabulous dress shop) -opposite Lemon. Grilled chicken sandwich (with a touch of Sri Lankan Spice) is fabulous. I would suggest one of the best coffees in Colombo and the Ginger Spice Ice Crush is worth the visit.....if you like smoothies must make the effort!
Restaurant details
Description: Fabulous cafe (next door to a fabulous dress shop) -opposite Lemon. Grilled chicken sandwich (with a touch of Sri Lankan Spice) is fabulous. I would suggest one of the best coffees in Colombo and the Ginger Spice Ice Crush is worth the visit.....if you like smoothies must make the effort!
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Long menu in a very small space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was getting some stuffs at the sport shop across the street, since I got a car park space hence I checked out this Cafe. I was amazed that the shop have so many menu blackboards with lots of varieties in this very small shop.
The drink is good and usual 300 - 500 rp range.
Most of the items are pretty pricy.
I think if not for the clothing shop next door - this cafe will be hard to sustain it's business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great smoothies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tiny cafe attached to a boutique, but good food if you're feeling peckish. The 'power smoothie' is yummy! Chairs could be a little more comfortable, but overall nice place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avirate C, Manager at Avirate Cafe, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will take this into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not to happy with the taste and price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I went there 3 times while I was at Avirate clothes shop and i have ordered from the chocholate stuffs and also the savoury stuffs. For the price you pay it was below my expectation. One of my friend said the frozen yougurt they introduced recently is worth a try.. So I will update when i try it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avirate C, Manager at Avirate Cafe, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Please do update us on the frozen yogurt. We will take your pricing concern into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Old cakes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

For some reason, both times we went, we were offered really old cake slices. sadly, since it's so hard to park there, you have to get what's given and run back before they tow your car. Staff are friendly but unhelpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avirate C, Manager at Avirate Cafe, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank You for the feedback. We have taken your review into consideration & improved our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes in Colombo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A frequented stop for smoothies and cupcakes when I'm looking to indulge. Not much in the way of seating but worth a pass through if you're in the shop or the area. :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avirate C, Manager at Avirate Cafe, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the feedback..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avirate Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Avirate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avirate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.