We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Hotel to your Saves list
Shalimar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 80 Colombo B&B and Inns
Holon, Israel
1 review
“excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are a couple aged 50, we were at the hotel for 2 nights, the hotel is located in the city center Easy access Toktok or bus to anywhere in the city, the staff is great and welcoming. The hotel restaurant is very good.
Excellent room price (ask for a room with air conditioning in the back of the building).
In short - excellent value

Room Tip: ask for a room with air conditioning in the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    35
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
54
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sigiriya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for the February perahera. Expensive compared to other parts of Sri Lanka, but well located near the Maradana station (better than Colombo fort if you want to get a seat on the train!), and cheaper than the alternatives.

Food is very good, large portions. Map offered at reception and helpful advice on places to see from the management.

Beware leaving the bathroom door open as cockroaches come in from outside through the bathroom ventilation!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel is cheap and makes a good base for going off exploring. Just a 4 minute train ride from Colombo Fort. It has air conditioning, a fan and hot and cold water. Dinner can be purchased at the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night after a late night arrival at Colombo airport. The accommodation was ok with our 1am arrival. We chose to stay here as it seemed like the best budget option that was close to Fort Railway station for us to head to the hill country early the next morning. The accommodation was fine - clean and comfortable enough, albeit with a slightly Hitchcockian feel. Would recommend for a one night stay due to the location, but for a few days I would find somewhere else with a more inviting feel to it. We also ordered room service and were slightly unsettled by the waiter who kept walking into our room (rather than waiting at the doorway) and ogling us as he delivered and collected the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was fairly central although the hotel itself was fairly quite with not so many other guests. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was of average quality i.e. nothing really wrong with it, but not outstanding either. It was fairly expensive compared to other places in Sri Lanka. Not really sure how it compares to other places for price in Colombo as this was our only experience of a Colombo hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Good place for 2-3 days stay, not far to the center (200 lkr tuktuk). Pleasant rooms, could be better for the price. Nice local bar inside the hotel. Free wifi, and restaurant correct. We started our SriLanka tour by this place, good prepartion berore taking the train to the north.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Been here last May just for a day on transit on my way to Singapore. When I arrived i noticed the place is really quiet and a bit dark. They had me waiting for almost an hour to prepare the room, though they let me use the bigger room for the mean time just to let me have my breakfast, have a shower and begin my tour. The staff and manager are really informative, friendly and informative.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Address: 46, Panchikawatte Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shalimar Holidays)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.