We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing city stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo Courtyard to your Saves list
Colombo Courtyard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing city stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Whilst writing this review we are still in Sri Lanka, just couldn't wait to put a review up for the courtyard. We landed on Friday last week @ 4am for my best friends wedding. We decided to book the courtyard hotel. This was the best thing we did! We paid an extra $ 60 for an early check in, this was so simple! Then we went to our room to get some rest. The room we had was nice clean and very well designed. Every time we went past a member of the courtyard team we where greeted with huge smile and a hello. This made feel very welcome. The cloud bar and loft bar where both very nice. We enjoyed our dinner on the roof top bar. It was handy being in a main road as getting a tuk tuk was easy. The road is busy however we found that after 10:30 pm the beeping of traffic stopped, and would start again at 8:30am. Don't let this out you off as the beeping is a great alarm. I would recommend this hotel to friends. I do look forward to going back. Keep yo the good work courtyard...... :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It was truly a pleasure for my Team and I to read such a detailed and exemplary feedback on your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience - thank you so very much.

You were very generous with your comments, and we are very much appreciative that you found the overall staff to be friendly and very service oriented. Kindly rest assured that we will share your praise with all the team.

Your words of praise are truly an encouragement to us and we will certainly continue in our endeavor to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests.

Whilst thanking you for your very high recommendation, we look forward to welcome you back, to yet another memorable stay with us.

Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    164
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
173
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the colombo courtyard for one night at the end of a two week visit to Sri Lanka. The hotel is well decorated, the staff were excellent but it is let down by a number of issues which detracted from our stay. Avoid room 306 at all costs!!! It is right below the kitchen/bar and there is no soundproofing. This meant you could hear the band playing above until 11pm and then the kitchen cleaning up after. We requested a move which was promptly arranged but there is no way anyone could sleep comfortably in that room with the level of background noise. Also small details let the hotel down, the jacuzzi was lukewarm with a weak non adjustable bubble-stream, the towel rack in the bathroom fell off in my hands, the shower leaked all over the bathroom and the paintwork seemed unfinished. With a little effort this could be a great hotel but sadly it doesn't live up to its 5 star ambitions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Colombo Courtyard and we appreciate your words of praise on our staff.
However, we regret to hear about your disappointment about the disturbance from the noise and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay with us.
We have taken your comments as constructive feedback and we assure you that the management is in the process of making a sound proofing plan for each room to resolve the issue and are glad to mention that we have been making progress on the same.
We also thank you for bringing to our attention the other issues you faced; we will certainly take necessary corrective action regarding them.
You are very important to us, and as such we will work towards making sure your next visit will be most peaceful and relaxing.
We hope your future travels will bring you back to Colombo and we look forward to welcoming you again. Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.
Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, I found the rooms to be nicely layer out and appealing upon the eye.

Space, quality and function seemed high, sleep quality was good. Customer service levels were good and staff friendly and willing to assist.

Perhaps the internet could be the only minor complaint, having to continuously re enter credentials was massively frustrating, additionally white couch in room was far from clean and as a result unusable.

That said, I would happily stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Colombo Courtyard and for your review.

We are glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable experience at our hotel and thank you for the kind sentiments expressed.

We also thank you for bringing to our attention areas that we need to look into and take corrective action. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced due to them.

We look forward to welcome you again on your future visits and assure you of our best in service, facilities and hospitality.

Until such time, very best wishes from all of us.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This is very much marketed as a hip and chic urban retreat, and mostly it really does fit the bill. It has a cool sense of design and style and cool things such as desktop iMacs in the room. The pool is small, but also clean and nice. Breakfast was delicious, but served in a room not in keeping with the stylishness of the rest of the hotel. Felt a bit like eating in a lobby! The staff were mostly kind and courteous, although some of the newer members were hanging around for tips at every turn in a way that felt slightly grating. I am generally happy to tip, and usually do, but I don't appreciate feeling pressured into it- especially in this sort of up market hotel, where I escape for peace. Having said that, the majority of staff were lovely. I really loved my room and found the location to be convenient and good. This is a good, although not awesome, hotel. It is trendy and lively and the rooms are spacious and beautiful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Colombo Courtyard and for your kind review. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your compliments on the decor of the hotel and amenities offered.

Whilst appreciating your compliments on majority of the staff, we are very sorry to learn about your disappointments relating to the newer staff. The issues and subsequent inconveniences you faced are not in keeping with the high standards that we try to maintain at all times and we will certainly investigate into them and take necessary corrective action to ensure there are no recurrences.

We do sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention, since professionalism is the most important thing we pride ourselves on and something that we do not compromise nor take lightly.

We will ensure that next time around your experience with us will be unique and more memorable in every aspect.

Until such time warm regards.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I enjoyed the avant garde tropical layout and decor of the room. This was definitely the place for young hip, well-to-do honeymoon couples. The rooms were stylish, well equipped and clean. The pool and courtyard area was pleasant.

It was a noisy place. The street noise was fairly constant and because of the heavy use of concrete surfaces the foot traffic and conversations of the room attendants were clearly heard in the room. Also you could somewhat hear what was going on in the adjoining rooms. In many evenings there would be musicians in the pool courtyard area. They were always great, but in your room it was like being there. On this last comment I should mention that they always ended at a reasonable time so did not seriously interfere with sleep. In spite of all of this noise it was not particularly terrible but if noise is an issue with you, you would not want to stay here. If you like the sense of people being around you and being in a lively place, this is for you.

I don't think this would be a very good place to bring kids, especially small ones or ones who like to have an active pool bash. It is also not the place for you if you have serious mobility challenges. There are lots of step ups and step downs that would make wheel chairs impossible. These steps would not be a problem for most people.

It is slightly overpriced, but I think the hotel feels the price sets a certain tone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay amongst us.

Our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, so it is such a pleasure to read how much you liked your accommodation and amenities offered. Also we are really pleased that you found the room décor delightful and stylish.

We have noted all your constructive comments, and will take necessary steps to change wherever necessary and possible in order to ensure that next time around your experience with us will be unique and memorable in every aspect.

We also had to remind all staff who work on the guest floors to always be mindful of any noise, be it generated by other guests or colleagues.

We were very happy to have been able to take care of you whilst you were with us, and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you on your next visit to Colombo.

Until such time warm regards from Colombo Courtyard team.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Was here for 4 nights. This place has a great location and friendly, obliging staff - from the lobby staff to the room service staff. The rooms itself were very modern, clean and up to standard. The bathrooms are spacious and the range of toiletries one offer were more than adequate.
My only gripe is that 1) the wifi kept dropping off every 20 minutes which meant logging in each time and 2) the healthy Sri Lankan breakfast was not offered at all, despite being on the menu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments posted on TripAdvisor following your visit to Colombo Courtyard in December.

We were simply delighted that you really enjoyed your couple of nights with us.

Colombo Courtyard is the most convenient and ideal location you could find in Colombo whether it may be shopping, holiday or even a romantic getaway for two! We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations.

I was also truly happy to read your positive feedback on the spaciousness and the cleanliness of our rooms, which is a wonderful reward to our continuous efforts to meet our clients’ outlook.

Your comment on breakfast offering was so not in keeping with the feedback we generally receive, yet I am very appreciative that you brought this negative experience to our attention.

We do have five types of breakfast that we serve, the latest addition being the healthy option with a choice of seasonal fruit juice or king coconut, fruit platter, oatmeal porridge ,choice of egg white omelet and brown toast served in your room/ restaurant. We will ensure that your experience next time around, will be much better.

Your relevant remarks regarding the wifi connectivity also have been duly noted and addressed.

Once again let me convey our gratitude for sharing your experience and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Until such time warm regards from all of us at Colombo Courtyard.

Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was really pleased with my choice of hotel on arrival as I prefer smaller scale, design-focused properties (as an architect and owner of boutique beach villas, which I operate with my wife in Kerala).

However, it soon became clear that the noisy Galle Road was going to be a problem. I had a night of disturbed sleep punctuated by early morning rush hour traffic and buses honking their horns.

The staff dealt with my request to move rooms very efficiently and offered an immediate upgrade to a Suite, which I was very grateful for. However, I then discovered that the new room was under the rooftop 'Cloud Cafe', so I was disturbed by loud music and noise from the open bar/kitchen until 11.30pm (throwing empty bottles, clearing cutlery/pots/pans and the dragging steel furniture across the concrete roof). The Cafe is open until midnight and I only stayed during the week, so it could be worse on weekends?!

The combination of wooden blinds that let in light, low quality single glazed windows, lots of hard surfaces and a maze of rooms that all open into shared courtyards all contribute to the acoustic (and sleep deprivation) problem. Maybe I was just really unlucky with the 2 rooms that I was appointed (but they were both higher category rooms!).

The Colombo Courtyard has great design, great facilities, friendly staff, good food and a good location; but if you require great sleep, then choose your room carefully!

Note to the Management: You have a wonderful property, but PLEASE invest in high quality sealed acoustic double/triple glazed windows and heavy curtains that would provide blackout and reduce noise (at least in rooms 201, 301 & 306). Some more fountains in the courtyards might also help with some background ‘white noise’.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Rooms 201/301 as they are closest to the main road or 306 as it is under the rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, chief Executive Officer at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words about Colombo Courtyard. . We are honored that an architect with experience of running your own boutique hotel has found Colombo Courtyard to be satisfactory in most of the aspects..

Giving you a personalized service is our forte, and we are very happy to note that you are satisfied with the standards we have had, to offer you. Whilst We have also shared your thoughts with all our Colombo Courtyard team members.

Also thank you for some lovely comments in your review, regarding the décor.

We are truly sorry that you were disturbed by the functions at the Hotel and due to the traffic noise. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Despite the shortcomings, we find it quite amazing that you still found it in your heart to call us a hotel with great design, great facilities, friendly staff, good food and a good location and rest assured that I will personally see to the points being addressed.

We have also taken your other comments to heart and will review and change wherever possible.

We do hope you will recommend us to all your friends and family and visit us soon. Until such time warm regards from all of us at the Courtyard.


Nishan Moonesinghe
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, Colombo Courtyard is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.