We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo Courtyard to your Saves list
Colombo Courtyard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Earn Sri Lankan FlySmiles Miles
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The room, and the hotel more generally, was absolutely stunning – waterfall shower, gigantic bath, two TVs, apple computer, huge comfortable bed and all kinds of exciting condiments. Compared to what we got at other, more expensive hotels, Colombo Courtyard was an absolute bargain. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Vincent, it is all but extremely exciting and overwhelmed to see your review. Very glad indeed to see yourself for having taken the time in posting such fabulous and encouraging comments regarding Colombo Courtyard. We are proud to say the concept, design and of-course the features and amenities you found in rooms are only so far provided at Colombo Courtyard. We believe industry, demands and expectations of a traveler has changed immensely over the years hence appreciate very much all these have been noted and talked about. Colombo Courtyard provides ultimate luxury for the price we charge and no doubt you agree it is an absolute bargain. Kindly accept our sincere gratitude for highly recommending us and extremely confident we will see you in the very near future should you come to this beautiful Island.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    135
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
140
21
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was blown away by the luxurious rooms and elegant lobby space. My room had a separate alcove living room area, a Mac desktop for my personal use, and such a nice bath and shower. The staff was very kind and attentive. The decor is cool and unique, and the rooftop terrace is a great hang out spot (with an excellent cocktail menu). I spent an entire month on the island, and this was absolutely the nicest place I found. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Elizabeth, we are overwhelmed to see your review and thank you indeed for taking the time in doing so. We are proud to say that Colombo Courtyard is the only Boutique Hotel to provide such luxurious features as stated by your good self in rooms. We believe in going the extra mile in service and satisfaction which is the ultimate. In addition to the Imac you will find a juicer, coffee machine, 42' LED , electronic alarm system which is rare in many a hotel in the current context, we have invested enormous amount of time and effort in going into each and every detail in order to achieve the WOW factor. Your comments have been shared with all our associates who join me in conveying our sincere gratitude for the lovely sentiments. Hence very confident you will patronize Colombo Courtyard and recommend us to all your friends and family passing the skies of Sri Lanka.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent a night in this lovely hotel, every thing was very good, the staff is very friendly, we had a free upgrading, the room was very clean, a little bit smelly but tolerable.
I would prefer an extended breakfast timing till 11.
Anyway I recommend this hotel for sure and would return there surely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are indeed impressed to see your review and thank you for taking the time in posting same. We at Colombo Courtyard take utmost care in order ensure all our clientele experience the WOW factor and go with pleasant and everlasting memories of Colombo Courtyard, associates, food, service and of-course a product which is extremely unique in concept and design. We do thank the reviewer for bringing up your concerns regarding the unpleasant odour in your room and very pleased to inform you that this has been rectified. We do take extremely pride in paying attention to positive or negative comments made by all our clientele as it is merely genuinity in such comments which enable us to constantly look into improvement. Furthermore very thankful and pleased to note that you have no hesitation in recommending Colombo Courtyard to all your friends and family passing the skies of
Sri Lanka. Eagerly anticipating to welcome you to Colombo Courtyard for yet another splendid stay.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

rooms were quite simple, but lobby, restaurant, pool area - beautiful. Cant forget to mention the roof terrace, which was a lot bigger I expected. nice staff and great location.
only bad thing to mention is: we waited for the airport transfer/taxi for one hour. they wouldnt go and get a taxi from the street, but push on waiting for their hotel car. kep giving silly excuses why they arent getting car from the street and that their car is 5 min or 10 min or 15 mi away etc. ended up waiting for more than hour. would advise you to go and get it from the street yourself so u dont end up missing your flight

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are very pleased to see your review regarding Colombo Courtyard especially pertaining to design, concept, staff, location and of course service hence you may have noticed with majority of the management responses Colombo Courtyard is a design of its own with great attention to detail and undoubtedly the only art boutique hotel in existence in Sri Lanka as at date. Furthermore having won the coveted Asian Pacific Best Interior Award for 2013 amongst the top end Hotels in the region proves it all.

Your concerns pertaining to airport transfer is here by very well noted and very pleased indeed to acknowledge same.

Colombo Courtyard has a fleet of top end SUV's dedicated with valet drivers to cater to such requirement, trained in ultimate customer satisfaction and service. As a Boutique Hotel catering to the elite and a potential discerning traveler looking for ultimate luxury and pampering and especially considering the Colombo Courtyard brand which is second to none we are extremely cautious in recommending third party transfers with no guarantee of security and comfort, for our clientele which is self-explanatory. We are sure you appreciate the said justification which is of utmost importance and priority. We do hope you will pass the skies of Sri Lanka in the near future and certainly recommend Colombo Courtyard to all your friends and family who will no doubt appreciate and admire what we have in store to offer which is extremely unique, personalized in all areas concerned as a hospitality provider offering ultimate luxury to the discerning traveler.

Thank you once again and very best wishes from Colombo Courtyard.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Let's just say am not a traveller easy to impress, am well travelled and enjoy the finer things in life and like my comfort and luxury while holidaying. This new hotel on the block fits the bill perfectly. At 150 odd dollars a night all inclusive you get a better room than any other five star has to offer. At this price, bigger, nicer, more comfortable and luxurious, with super fine interiors and great attention to detail. The entire hotel is beautifully done with every inch of its space wonderfully utilised and carefully planned giving a natural and earthly feel while in luxury, fine taste and great service. This place inspires you to take to painting or writing if you already don't do that. It's what poetry is made up of......inspiring, beautiful, natural, elegant and simply awesome! Stay here, you would be rest assured that on great service, fine taste, attention to detail and for value for money. You would not be let down. Try it! I have been impressed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are overwhelmed is what we could say pertaining to the reviewers genuine feedback regarding Colombo Courtyard. Colombo Courtyard boasts itself as the only Art Hotel in Sri Lana still in existence, its unique concept and design is rated second to none, which is proven by having won the coveted Asian Pacific Best Interior Award for 2013 amongst many of the top countries.

Colombo Courtyard is the only Boutique Hotel in Sri Lanka with its unique concept of recycled material used for majority of its design and furniture. We boast of a feature tree and crows made of bicycle parts, entrance gate and lobby designed with recycled copper, recycled flooring, restaurants equipped with handmade paper chairs and lamp shades, bar seating made out of conventional tractor seating, bed side lamps in rooms made out of bicycle cogwheels and the use of jute cushions spread across the property and minimalist design and furniture.

We are glad the reviewer found all these a master piece and one to remember. Your comments with regards to exceptional customer service in all areas concerned have been shared with all our associates. Our fervent wish is that you return to Colombo Courtyard in the foreseeable future yet again for an unforgettable experience and genuine hospitality.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were there for a 2 nights transit stop and it's was ok. It's not really in the central touristic area, but it's easy and cheap to going with tuk tuk. All the staff is nice and helpful. It's a small hotel, and be aware, without elevator... to depend the price you pay it's can be good. I booked with agoda at a discount price (around $100), but if you pay more than that, i find it's overpriced. You can fnid better for 135$ to $150... If i have to comeback, i will going more central spot, like Cinnamon hotel...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We thank the reviewer for taking the time in posting the sent feedback hence Colombo Courtyard has three room categorize to select from starting from entry level deluxe, superior and suites. 50% of Colombo Courtyard's inventory is made up of suites, where we offer absolute luxury; such as 42 inch LED, I-MAC computer, coffee machine and juicer to name a few which you do not find in many Hotels. it is further noted client stayed in the entry level deluxe room which is once again sheer value for money considering Colombo Courtyard is situated in the heart of the city and commercial hub with fantastic transport links. It is the only Art hotel of its kind still in existence in Sri Lanka with unmatched character, concept and design which is a must see. We hope you will visit us once again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Colombo Courtyard's decor and service are indeed impressive when compared to other Colombo hotels and we were grateful for the great pick up service, welcome and genuinely kind hotel staff.

My problem (the adage 'quick to complain; slow to thank' isn't true here) I have been over charged around Rups 31,000. The hotel admits this and I have lengthy correspondences with the manager to demonstrate the reasons why - however - at 8 weeks since staying there I am still waiting. This obviously taints an otherwise pleasant but brief stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
John we are in-deeded overwhelmed to see your comment regarding the concept, design, service and associates of Colombo Courtyard hence you rate us highly considering you are a frequent traveler considering you have patronized several hotels around the world however please accept a humble apologizes having over charged you due to an over sight which we immediately honored on detecting same. The transacting bank in Colombo was informed of the said reversal immediately upon us having been inter-mediated by your good self however extremely astonished to note the unforeseen delay in this regard. We are investigating this matter as a matter of utmost priority and very confident you appreciate it is purely due to circumstances beyond our control as we are depending on a third party however rest assure this matter will be resolved before mid week. We at Colombo Courtyard strongly believe service and product quality comes first and always endeavor to get it right the first time every time. We do very much appreciate your patience in this regard. Furthermore rest assure this will not be a repeat experience at Colombo Courtyard. Thank you very much for patronizing Colombo Courtyard and look eagerly looking forward to hosting you if you pass the sky's of Sri Lanka.

Sunny regards,
Liya Jayasinghe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, Colombo Courtyard is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.