We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo Courtyard to your Saves list
Colombo Courtyard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bombay,India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous Hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I ate last night in the Colombo Courtyard Hotel, it is a small restaurant although its very nice indeed! The service was very friendly and I observed smiley happy faces! I would like to visit this place again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. You review gives us teh impression that you dines at Scarlet Room. We do hope you'll try the Cloud Cafe, a rooftop cafe with a breezy ambience or the Loft Lounge Bar next time.

See you again at Colombo Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    164
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
174
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Though located on a very busy road, the rooms seem to be well isolated from the traffic noise. I was in the cornermost room which was quite 'on the roads' kind - yet had a good night's sleep all through.

I stayed for a week @ this place & was truly overwhelmed by their hospitality. The staff are very courteous n always there to help u in manner as possible.

This place has sm very good restaurants & bars. There seemed to be quite a lot of patrons visiting on most evenings. The food is deliciuos & the chefs are ready to go out of the way from the std menu items to make you feel at home.

Rooms are neat n clean. Large enough - the bathrooms are what i liked - very spacious.

Couple of things which i felt were missing- a gym/health club & a swimming pool & yes, the tiles in the rooms can @ times get very slippery.

Overall, an experience i cherised - will definetly stay at this place the next time i visit colombo.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review - we are deeply encouraged by your comments on the quality of rooms with specific note of the superior sound proofing as well the remarks on restaurants and our team.

We are pleased to inform you that with the expansion due to be completed by December 2012, we will have the addition of a spa and a swimming pool.

Do stay with us again to experience our enhanced product offerings.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmadabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Hello to all. Had a nice stay at courtyard. By entering the hotel I felt it different. Rooms are good. Had read previous details so took the room on the backside. Was surprised to see mac book in the room. Internet is complimentary and have good speed. Food and its options are less. But breakfast is good.
Will return to same hotel. If would get good price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you appreciate features such as the i-mac desktop in suites. Other suite features include the wine chiller, cappuccino maker and much more - we do hope you'll be back to experience each.

We have now launched a new menu at the Scarlet Room and are also introducing enhanced menu's at each of the other outlets.

The Colombo Courtyard Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the courtyard at colombo during the T20 world cup. Very nice cute comfirtable and funky hotel in the heart of colombo. The industrial design was really interesting.the rooms are well appointed with huge bathrooms and huge bathtubs. Great service. Location wise also you are in the heart of colombo. The dining choicr is sonewhat limited but breakfast was great. Highly°c recommended. Rooms on ground floor was great as you get a small lawn outside also.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your response.

You feedback on the unique design elements of the hotel are greatly appreciated, as are teh encouraging remarks on service and breakfast.

For food beveraage we offer, Scarlet room, Cloud cafe, Loft Lounge Bar and Graape Expectations the Wine Lounge. Even at present we are enhancing many of our menu's and also introducing varied cuisine during promotions. We do hope you'll be back to try out more.

The Colombo Courtyard Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed one night at this hotel and we were sad we had to leave again. The hotel room (suite) was very nice furnished and it had everything we needed. Unfortunately you have to pay to make a cup of coffee with the dulce gusto coffee machine (300 rupee). The iMac in the room was great! All the staff is very friendly and helpful. They are still busy to finish the hotel. In two or three months there will be a big swimming pool (now they only had a small plunge pool, which also is nice) and also a gym will be opened soon. So, if we decide to visit Sri Lanka again, we most definitely will book Colombo Courtyard hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. You encouraging comments on the staff and features such as the i-mac computer are appreciated.

Our expansion will be completed by December 2012 - we do hope to have you return then and enjoy the pleasures of our new pool, spa and much more.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My dtay was a very short one.However, evjoyed it very much.
Cool and frindly place to be at. Friendly and very helpful staff. Looking forward in staying at the hotal for a longer stay.
Only advice to the Hotal Mgrmt. Pleas change the welcome drink.
Hope to see u guys soon :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and remarks on our team.

We do hope you'll be back for a longer stay very soon.

The Colombo Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at Colombo Courtyard on October 25th and 26th, 2012. They arranged an airport shuttle for me and the driver was waiting for me outside baggage claim with a sign with my name on it. He was respectful, kind and very pleasant. He had a nice, clean, air conditioned van, which you will be happy to have in Colombo because it is quite humid. I arrived at the hotel about 6 am so it was going to be an early check in. I was not charge anything extra and the staff were very kind, spoke good English and obviously trying to provide a good quality service, they succeeded! The atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxed and an escape from the busy city outside the walls. I was taken to my room where I again was very pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the room. It was clean, had a small refrigerator, clean spacious bathroom, sliding glass door into a small garden area, flat screen TV with clear television channels of which several were English speaking, air conditioning, good internet, and quiet. The restaurant was very good. All the staff were very accommodating and an absolute pleasure to deal with. This is a very professional and well managed hotel. Well worth the money! I will stay here again and hold no reservation in recommending it to others. Internet and breakfast were included in my nightly room charge, the only additional charge I had to pay was for the Airport Shuttle which I knew beforehand. Taxes and all I paid approximately $45 each way, well worth it as it is about an hour ride from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo C, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Courtyard, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review especially the very encouraging feedback on our team.

We do hope to see you back at Colombo Courtyard soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Courtyard

Address: 32 Alfred House Ave, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colombo Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city, Colombo Courtyard is an urban boutique hotel that perfectly captures a fusion of contemporary style with intrinsic elements of environmental design. The hotel offers a choice of 15 suites & 17 rooms complete with all modern features, 3 dining areas - Scarlet Room & Cloud Cafe, Loft Lounge Bar, a Library, Jacuzzi and Plunge Pool and even a corporate Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Colombo Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.