We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. Mixed reviews and hit and miss depending which room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunshine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sunshine
Save
You added Hotel Sunshine to your Saves list
5a Shrubbery Gardens Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 80 Colombo B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Average. Mixed reviews and hit and miss depending which room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have stayed here twice, in September and October and had a different experience both times. On both occasions I have emailed in advance and been told there are no budget rooms available so have had to book superior doubles however when we have arrived there has been no guests around. Since it has happened on more than one occasion we think it is a ploy for customers to spend more. It cost 2600Rs per night and 300Rs per day for wifi.
The first room was nice, very clean and comfortable with a balcony, hot water and toiletries and the wifi was super but after a few days staying we were called by the reception staff and instructed to pack our belongings as we needed to move rooms to make way for new customers. Not knowing what was happening we packed and was shown to a room that smelled really a strongly of urine and was a lot worse quality. We quickly refused to pay the same price for a sub standard room and requested to move back which we did after a very long and challenging talk with the manager. The customer service was terrible and the whole experience was stressful and unnecessary.
The second time we were in a very dark, small room, with a strong smell of perfume. Although it was clean there was no wifi signal even though we had paid extra and it was on the stairway.
Overall, this hotel is one of the cheapest in Colombo and was one of the only ones within our budget but for the price the quality of service and room standard does not make it value for money. The location is good, you can get a taxi or a bus into the centre with ease and there are a lot of local, friendly arteries to try around the streets of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for stay at the hotel sunshine Colombo 4 and taking time to share your feedback.we sincerely apologize for the servere inconvenience experienced by you during your stay with us.The problem you encountered is not in keeping with the high standard that we try to do our best at all times.how ever ,I would request you personally to give us another chance to make these thing up to the standard.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
9
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Looking for a reasonable buget hotel for one or 2 night stop over in Colombo then Sunshine hotel offers great value. The hotel is clean and staff are curtious and helpful. In the heart of colombo everything is within walking distance. There are no meals served but there are plenty of small street eating places within the vacinity where you can eat cheaply. The hotel does have WIFI factility.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for staying at hotel sunshineColombo and especially your recommendation. We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and our staff we look forward to welcome you back should you visit srilanka again.

Happy new year

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here two nights on our way out of colombo last we week when in town. The rooms are nicely kept, recently upgraded & very clean. On top of that the staff is extremely friendly & the prices are affordable. Located in Colombo 4, by the ocean ( not on the beach ) with access to all main roads. Almost all attractions, restuarents, pubs/clubs from this hotel is an extremely short cab ride away ( less than 500 rupees on a Cab and prob less on a tuk-tuk ).. Great budget/medium price ranged hotel in Colombo!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on an upper floor facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel sunshine Colombo and especially your recommendation. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you were not disappointed.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and of course the facilities on our top floor; and look forward to welcome you back to yet another memorable stay and a further indulgence in our Sunshine hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Since 2004 i used to stay on this hotel for my business trips to Sri Lanka, the rooms are good and clean, at the rate of LKR 1750, its great value for money. i like the lobby of this hotel which was very spacious and calm, also the staffs are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello
Thank you for staying with us continuously. We look forward to having you over again. We do our very best to make sure our guests has a comfortable and a pleasant stay .

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked Hotel Sunshine on the basis of other people’s reviews and it turned out to be a good choice. The room was decent for the price and the reception staff were helpful. It’s situated near Bambalapitiya Railway Station in Colombo 04, so you can get a train or a rickshaw into the Fort/Galle Face Green, or walk up Galle Road. Also, it’s a couple of minutes’ walk from House of Fashion, which is a clothes shop with lots of bargains (if you like that sort of thing).

We had to pay 300r/day extra for wifi - I'm not sure whether this is usual in Colombo but everywhere else I've stayed in Sri Lanka it's been included at no extra cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, Owner at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at hotel sunshine Colombo 4.Its greatly satisfying for us to learn that our hotel has met with your expectations in facilities comfort cuisine and the location.Its our endeavor to provide the best possible experience for all our valued guests and we look forward to welcome you back,should you visit srilanka again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Budget accom in colombo is tough, but I think this may be the answer, rooms average at about 2750rps, but i got mine for 2000rps! Room 107, room was clean, but could do with a bit of a touch up..advertised as cold water only, but o my second night i had the hotest shower i have had in weeks!! wifi 300rps per day. Location is good, supermarket 2 min walk away! 300rps tuk tuk to bus station in fort.
Plenty of budget southern Indian restaraunts located nearby, as well as chinese,thai etc.
All in all. If staying in Colombo on a budget, you could do a lot worse than here!!

Room Tip: room 107, was fine, no issues or concerns at all!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for stay at the hotel sunshine Colombo 4 and taking time to share your feedback.we sincerely apologize for the servere inconvenience experienced by you during your stay with us.The problem you encountered is not in keeping with the high standard that we try to do our best at all times.how ever ,I would request you personally to give us another chance to make these thing up to the standard.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place was perfect for us. We stayed in Room 101, a simple fan room, and a great value at US $15. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the room was very clean. It was nice and quiet when we were there. This hotel is located in Bambalapitiya, which is three train stops south of the Fort railway station. The train is very easy and inexpensive to use, but not during the rush hours when the trains are loaded to capacity. From the railway station, you walk about 6 or 7 blocks south along the water to Shrubbery Gardens Road. A tuktuk hired from the front of the hotel can take you to the Fort, or better yet, the Fort bus station for the airport bus, for just 300 Sri Lankan rupees, and then the AC minibus bus directly to the airport costs just 150 each. It took us about 2 hours from the hotel to the airport, but we allowed 3 hours to be on the safe side. Another nice thing about this place is its proximity to delicious South Indian vegetarian food. The Saraswathie across the street on Galle was our favorite, and its open from 6:30 AM to 10 at night. Plus, Hotel Sunshine is just a few blocks away from House of Fashions, an outlet for the Sri Lankan garment industry where you can spend quite a bit of time sorting through the racks - no try on rooms, you can return for exchange only. Most important, the staff is friendly. The entrance and lobby has a boutique stylishness that surprised me in this price range. There was some noise coming through the airwell in the bathroom, but we just kept the door shut. There is no top sheet provided, you could try requesting one, we bring our own. There were a couple of mosquitos, but not bad, just to be aware in case you are really sensitive. The wifi costs 300 rupees extra, but it wasn't working on the day we were there. Anyways, we were really happy to stay here and everything was great.
Thanks, Hotel Sunshine!

Room Tip: room 101 was really nice if you like a good value fan room with cold water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asitha L, General Manager at Hotel Sunshine, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at hotel sunshineColombo and especially your recommendation.
We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our location, rooms and our staff we look forward to welcome you back should you visit srilanka again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: 5a Shrubbery Gardens Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A/c and n/ac comfortable rooms with free wifi / elevator/24hrs room service/laundry /24hrs security / Taxi service/ Master / Visa card accepted / close to all major shopping malls and hospitals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunshine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.