We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient for the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Gum Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Gum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No 219/1, Tudella | Ja-Ela, Colombo 11350, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 86 Colombo B&B and Inns
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very convenient for the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka as the hotel is very close (15 minutes) to the airport. It is a little bit hard to find but well worth the effort. The rooms are large and clean with very efficient air conditioning. The lounge area for the floor we were on had sofas, TV and tables where our evening meal (home cooked rice and curry) and breakfast were served. The staff were very helpful at all times and organised our transfer to the airport at a very reasonable cost. Despite being close to the main Colombo coast road the hotel is very quiet and provided a non-stressful end to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
11
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The only thing that i can say about this hotel is that it's very close to the airport, only 10 minutes, compare to 1 hr from downtown Colombo. The staff is very helpful but the language is difficult. It was hard just to find the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, super clean, the friendliest staff I've met on my trip. The room are a good size, and again, clean. lounge area for breakfast, even all you need to iron your clothes. Always someone at reception so ok to check in late. Good value.

Room Tip: High up, on 3rd floor. (last floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Even though this is not a star class hotel it still offers great accomodation and facilities at a low rate.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Gum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Hotel

Address: No 219/1, Tudella | Ja-Ela, Colombo 11350, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Gum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Blue Gum experience with spacious luxurious rooms with spectacular views, fully equipped with air conditioning and the option of an attached bathroom with both hot and cold water capabilities. Each floor also has adjoining fully furnished dining and living areas for relaxing nights in front of the television. We also provide a free wireless Internet connection for easy access to the web. We are located to the north of the Colombo CBD and conveniently situated off the Colombo-Negombo main road. We are only a short fifteen minute drive from the Bandaranayake international airport, with the beautiful Sri Lankan coastline also only a short ten minute trip away.10% service charge will be added. No additional taxes. Breakfast included to the Room charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Gum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.