We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're paying for the location and the history” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Save Saved
You added Galle Face Hotel Colombo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Colombo
Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You're paying for the location and the history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a beautiful old colonial-style hotel in an amazing location. The breakfast buffet was also excellent, and the other food we had was pretty good. However, given the price, the room and service were really nothing special (although we did have a wonderful view of the ocean from our window). All in all, I think it was worth staying here once, but probably wouldn't again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    454
    233
    95
    77
See reviews for
210
495
85
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived 4.30 pm and our room was still Not cleaned, we had to wait 30 min. When we entered the room: water and towels were missing, bedro was not wiped, bathroom was not cleaned (smelled worse than a Public toilet), the staff at the reception was not friendly
Only positive thing: the sea-view from our room

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Galle Face for 2 nights at the beginning of our Sri lanka trip. The hotel is a beautiful Colonial style and in a superb location right by the sea.

We loved the old charm of the tiled floors, the grand high ceilings and the original lift!! The sweeping staircase up the rooms with old photos on the walls gave you an insight into it's former life. True the room was a bit dated but it was clean with a large bathroom.

The garden area was lovely for sunset cocktails that were very reasonably priced. We ate dinner in the buffet restaurant, super food, great choice and and again very reasonably priced The breakfast included was again buffet style, lots of choice and freshly made.
We found all the staff to be most helpful especially the guys running the pool bar 'Shehan' and his colleagues helped us with our onwards travel plans to which we were most grateful. The inside bar area was perfect for sitting and chilling out.

The hotel had a mini museum with different historical items which was quite interesting.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a pre or post trip stay, especially if you want to experience a 'time gone by' era in a bit of Colonial Splendor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Galle Face Hotel for 1 night. The prestigious reputation and history of the hotel were enough to lure us and we held high expectations for the service this hotel would provide. Sadly, we were bitterly disappointed. On arrival, the welcome was insincere, there was no one there to help with our bags and the staff member who checked us in barely made eye contact. We asked for a superior room with a bath and instead we received a room lacking natural lighting and the bath was smaller than average. The following morning, at breakfast, we experienced the same insincere welcome as per the previous night. The staff members preparing breakfast were either rude or inattentive. Upon ordering some eggs, the staff member simply prepared the eggs, and left them on the counter with no attempt to call us to inform us that the eggs were ready. The complacency of the staff members made us feel unwelcome. We have stayed at numerous hotels during our stay and the hospitality at these other hotels surpassed all of our expections. It's sad to see such a prestigious hotel offering such appalling service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zew Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

why stay in a clone of a western hotel when you can experience a genuine former colonial treasure. We booked a deluxe room and were put in a suite the royal scandavian suite,biggest room I have ever stayed in in a hotel. Lovely old wood everywhere a/c clean bathroom, quite gracious in a slightly faded way. The buffet breakfast was terrific especially the hoppers, and the buffet lunch also great. i wish it had been at the end, not the beginniing of the trip and I would have been more discriminating about which of the many dishes i had. I would definitely go back. The poo,l, wqs great andd the grounds ìn tidy order. In was fun to watch the man whose job it was to scare the crows with stick and slingshot.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a lunch buffet in the Veranda Restaurant at this Hotel when visiting Colombo for the day - The price was very reasonable and the service from the Restaurant Captain down to the Water Boy polite and attentive - The buffet was plentiful and desserts good quality -
We looked around the Hotel after lunch and decided would spend a night here if visiting Colombo again as a base as the Hotel had a good ambiance about it -
The only thing negative I could see was that there was not much beach area if you wanted to sit out - only pool side but for a short trip this would not be a problem

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here after a month traveling round lovely Sri Lanka, and it was the perfect ending. From first step over the threshold you are drawn into the reassuring calm of this grand old hotel, and it nurtures you. Our allocated room was a perfectly-fitted but titchy 3rd floor with a double-bed, not suited to a mother and daughter sharing. No problem. Hotel staff were warmly accommodating offering an upgrade for a surprisingly small supplement. We and our luggage were swept grandly into a spacious room with enormous carved wood twin beds, on the ground floor, overlooking the garden. Heavenly thick mattresses, soft white bed linen, fluffy towels. Immaculately clean and beautifully equipped. What a great place to re-charge before the journey home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galle Face Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 82 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galle Face Hotel Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.