We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb South Indian Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chutneys

Chutneys
77, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
112497372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 317 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Superb South Indian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The buffet on Tuesday was absolutely delicious and at around 8EUR (1,550LKR) net per person was the best value meal we had in Sri Lanka.

The service was impeccable and the added touch of having dishes from the 4 states of South India clearly labelled was highly appreciated. A must eat in Colombo!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    125
    33
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Vegetarian: A La Carte dishes great but buffet not so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Was here for our anniversary (Jan 2014) and the a-la-carte dishes ordered out of a selection in the menu's vegetarian section were very nice particularly the Veg Biryani.

My review is about the Wednesday Vegetarian Buffet (Feb 2014) and we didn't have the same experience we had during our previous visit (as above). They had put eggs in parata and how can this be called a vegetarian item? Yet it was there in the buffet. Other dishes in numbers were sooooo many and some were really nice. However, the quality of some of these were felt to be not so good. If a dish is made for a lot of people there is a focus on 'volume' and the actual quality gets let down when volumes get achieved. This was my feeling about some of the dishes I had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have been here several times in the past 4 or 5 years.

The food quality is consistent and very good. Portions are reasonable and more than sufficient.

Authentic South Indian meals served by well trained staff.

Views are limited to the pool area and a speck of garden only.

Yes we would eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the food at this place. Not your usual Inidian cuisine restaurant and given that it is located within the Grand Cinnamon Hotel, the prices are very reasonable. Fantastic service from the staff and a nice view over the hotel's swimming pool in the evening.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food & good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food was excellent & worth for money. Though wine is not part of the indian cuisine, there were good wines at a discounted price. As we went to celebrate a birthday, we also got a very generous complementary cake.

The staff was very friendly & helpful.

If there were live eastern music the experience would have been even better.

Will visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutneys also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Chutneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chutneys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.