We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you ever had a steak before?????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sizzle

The Sizzle
32, Walukarama Raod,, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
+94 71 688 8777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 319 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, American, Dessert, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have you ever had a steak before?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I went to the sizzle after seeing many good recommendations on TripAdvisor but was incredibly disappointed. At first it seemed fine, the staff all very nice and welcoming but the food was terrible. The meat was stringy over cooked and dry and then served over sizzled over cooked veg. When asked how I felt about my meal I said I was not pleased with my meal and the waiter just walked away. Over all very disappointing and I regret ever going and this will make me think twice about going somewhere based on TripAdvisor. However they did acknowledge my complaint and compensated me the the bill arrived although I would rather have had a good steak.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valuable Reviewer, We were expecting your review on Tripadvisor after your experience at our restaurant. As other reviews suggested that our steaks are the best in town, however in your case, in all your four meals for your family your good self did not want any sauce topping. It was clear that the meals will be dry and not tasty as the sauces when topped on the meal on a hot sizzling plate would bring in the taste & flavours. That is the reason we gave sauces to your good self in the side for you to add on the meals, even though your good self preferred to have the meals without any sauce. It was obvious that without any sauce on your hot plate the vegetables would get over done. The captain serving you immediately brought to our attention of your unhappiness of the meals and our Manager together with the undersigned decided that we should not charge for two meals and such was communicated to your good self by our Manager in person before settling the bill. As a further measure from your experience we will inform our captain to tell our customers who are selecting meals without sauce to advise them against it. Thank you for your input. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    126
    29
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was a great service & the food was excelent Even they have a good birthday celebration for all. Overall very good restaurant. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks you very much for your fantastic review. We love it and thank you for your 5 star rating. This gives us confidence and assures us that we are on the right path to make people happy. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything sizzles, even the ice cream...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Even though its not my first experience at the sizzle, would like to comment on the last experience i had.. Food was delicious and the quantity was good.. Can choose from a wide range and best place to sit is the outside area with the coolers on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We like to hear such good things and this ensures us that we are on the right path to make people happy. Thanks again. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Favourite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Enjoyed there food very much. There customer service is best. Good quality, tasty food. Loved it..
Thank you sizzle, keep us the the good work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very very much for that fantastic review and the 5 star rating. We would like it to be everyone's favourite restaurant and your review says it all. Thanks again. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sizzle Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

An overall great restaurant. The food was piping hot, delectable and the portions were generous. Customer service was up there as well. It was crowded for a Wednesday Night, so reserve your table in advance

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
"Sizzle Away" - Wow!! That is wonderful. We love your words of praise and thank you very much. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sizzle also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Sizzle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sizzle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.