We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are back and tried the fish and chip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seafood Cove

Seafood Cove
100 Hotel Rd | Mt Lavinia, Colombo, Sri Lanka
(011) 271 5221 7
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 319 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“We are back and tried the fish and chip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Returned to Seafood Cove with some friends in the late afternoon.
I learned from my last visit that cost me around 10,000rps for a small family,
Hence, we know what to order - the Fish and Chips.
It turned out to be a good surprise...it was delicious and less than 1,000rp per-plate.
The staffs are very helpful and friendly...didn't pressurize us to order expensive dishes.

We have a relax time on the beach and good food.
Will be back again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have been staying at the Mount Lavinia Hotel for a number of years (excellent service and location) and usually go to the Seafood Cove for a special meal. Unfortunately this place has deteriorated considerably and although we were told before hand, did not believe it. Choose oysters - mushy, king prawns - very nice, two lobsters - one was disgusting (thermidor) and the other mediocre, son had crab - gross and his prawns we wanted plain but the garlic butter was too strong. Service was not with a smile and not very good. Did not bat an eye when I complained about the very expensive lobster tasting not very nice. To top it all our son woke up vomiting at 2am and I felt sick most of the evening. Stuck to the hotel food and luckily some family home cooked delights. Great location but terrible food this year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Romantic seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stroll down from the hotel onto the beach, kicking off your ridiculous high heels in the process. Wiggle your toes in the sand - pure pleasure - and get stuck into some really fresh, simply cooked seafood and fish.
Enjoy the view out to sea as the waves break within 20m of your table as well as the view back to the beautifully floodlit Mt Lavinia Hotel, gracefully perched on the hill behind you. The candlelit table is conducive to a long lazy dinner in the warm tropical night.
You chose your fish or seafood from an impressive display, the method of cooking and accompaniments. It’s a wide choice and all tastes and palates are catered for. Thai fish cakes and simply grilled prawns were excellent but the grilled red mullet was exceptional. I was also pleased to find a wide choice of wines by the glass – all available. My white pinot arrived chilled and delicious.
Our one slight complaint was that the service (very friendly and helpful) was slightly slow. It wasn’t a busy evening. However we were a business group in a resort hotel – if it was a romantic dinner, in this setting, time would have no meaning…
One heads up - take the mozzie repellant with you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food but that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here due to good reviews on trip advisor but were a disappointed. As Seafood Cove is in a five star hotel our expectations were high. However when we arrived at the hotel we quickly realised it was far from 5 star - dated decor, peeling paint on skirting boards and grimy corridors leading to the outside areas. It seemed to be a bit of a Butlins in Sri Lanka. So although the food was good - you can't really go wrong with freshly caught seafood - the service was poor. Very disorganised and slow. And again as it's a shabby shack on the beach, it's very far from 5 star!! I think if this was half the price and actually a local place, without the waiters dressed in ridiculous uniforms it would be great. But marketed in a 5 star hotel, it will continue to remain distinctly average. Not quite the romantic experience we were hoping for!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent View towards the Indian Ocean Horizon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ideal way to relax and enjoy your meal with the sea breeze wafting through your tresses. A very romantic way to spend your evening with the choice of your sea food

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Cove also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Seafood Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafood Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.