We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Italian option in Colombo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ponte

Il Ponte
2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Fort, Colombo, Sri Lanka
(011) 249 2492
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 323 Restaurants in Colombo
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“good Italian option in Colombo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice terrace,nice ambience, good food!not the cheapest, great to dine outside.pasta is cooked next to your table,fishing is Tasty, pizza is Will made

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Italian way to heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

IL PONTE is a brilliant place to eat if you like italian food. It has a great variety of foods like pasta,pizzas and steaks.The way they present their food starts with an explosion of bread,garlic and sauce. The warm bread is brilliant. After that we got a warm,creamy soup which i am not very sure of what it consisted but it was spectacular. We then got our Blue mountain pizza on a stand and gobbled it up. I would say their Blue Mountain Pizza is Wonderful. Do sip it down i had a extremely good pulpy orange freshly squeezed juice. I can also recommend their chocolate kousee which is a very small portion but wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Italian way in the way you like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our usual haunt for watching games. we watched almost all the games during the Football world cup at Il Ponte a few years back and never went anywhere else for Italian food again. The staff are friendly and attentive. Goes the extra step for any meal you want, begin flexible enough to swap or change ingredients on Main meals.
Love the bread baked in the small pots, the roasted garlic and the tangy sauce in the thimble sized dishes :))) more of this would be too much!!
Pizzas are the way they are designed by the Italians with the thin crust just flaking off. Beer on the tap and all drinks are poured in sizable glasses. Pastas are great, al dante, sauces are creamy and full of flavor of the individual signature dish. all in all, Love this place!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent start... poor end!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Exceptional home-made bread served while waiting for food together with tasty dips. Pizzas were mediocre and the seafood on top of them gummy which tells a lot about the freshness of the ingredients... quite surprising considering Colombo's location directly on the sea! Lastly: I've never paid in my entire life an average of 25$/person when going out for Pizza... stay away from this place unless you have money to waste and never tried Italian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They have the nicest bread which they bring out whilst you wait for your dinner...in fact too nice I ended up eating so much of it I couldn't finish my pizza!! It's a nice setting by the pool and staff again are friendly and helpful and although they did get my colleagues order wrong it was corrected shortly afterwards. I'd like to go again and try out some more of the dishes though wish they had the all time favourite lasagne!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ponte also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Il Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.