We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start... poor end!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ponte

Il Ponte
2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Fort, Colombo, Sri Lanka
(011) 249 2492
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 319 Restaurants in Colombo
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent start... poor end!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Exceptional home-made bread served while waiting for food together with tasty dips. Pizzas were mediocre and the seafood on top of them gummy which tells a lot about the freshness of the ingredients... quite surprising considering Colombo's location directly on the sea! Lastly: I've never paid in my entire life an average of 25$/person when going out for Pizza... stay away from this place unless you have money to waste and never tried Italian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They have the nicest bread which they bring out whilst you wait for your dinner...in fact too nice I ended up eating so much of it I couldn't finish my pizza!! It's a nice setting by the pool and staff again are friendly and helpful and although they did get my colleagues order wrong it was corrected shortly afterwards. I'd like to go again and try out some more of the dishes though wish they had the all time favourite lasagne!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Used to be the best Italian restaurant in Colombo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've been a regular for years, the menu has changed two or three times, and the quality of the dishes have slowly declined.
Pros:
The service is still great.
Wine list
Atmosphere can be great. A lot depends on how busy and loud the swimming pool is.

Cons.
Pizzas used to be pretty good, but the dough has been quite ordinary recently. The sauce is quite average as well. Very thin spread
Pastas are quite feeble.

If it's a hot day, make an indoor reservation, since most of the tables are outdoors.
"Making your own" pasta is always a better choice. The place is kid and family friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OMG! Sooo tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I went to this restaurant a few years back. This was one of the best Italian restaurants I've ever been to. Honestly I was not expecting much thinking how good can the Italian food in Sri Lanka be...but I was pleasantly surprised. It was outstanding!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were less than impressed with this place. They sat us at a table in the smoking zone although the restaurant wasn't full and pretty much ruined the entire experience. Food was average - nothing exciting. Service was mediocre and ambience was so so.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ponte also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Il Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.