We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lagoon

The Lagoon
77 Galle Road, Colombo 3 | Cinnamon Grand Colombo, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
0094112497371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 323 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Haven't had better seafood ever ! And this from a person who is not fond of seafood except for the occasional fish n chips. The best dishes - steamed moda fish with coriander and green chillies, pepper crab and tamarind cuttlefish. Not to say that the other items are not good, but these were exceptional. I would go back to Sri Lanka simply to eat here.
Quick tip : try the curries/ preparations which are distinctly Sri Lankan, they are super delicious.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    110
    28
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We go to Sri Lanka about 2-3 times a year, without failing, we visit Lagoon as much as possible. This time, we visited with friends once and just the 2 of us several times, and each time the food was wonderful. We find that this is one of the few restaurants in Colombo we can get a healthy selection of vegetables (boiled or lightly wok fried). At about Rs 250/= it is very good value for money too.

The service is fantastic every time we visit, and the service staff are very friendly and pleasant.

One of our friends doesn't eat fish, which was a bit of a problem in a fish restaurant. But he ended up eating Cuttle fish (in Tamarind sauce), lobster tail starter and the lobster main course. We had hot butter cuttle fish, prawns, modha fish and pasta (very inexpensive and tasty).

Being Christmas time, it was very busy, but when we turned up for dinner one night, they still managed to accommodate us. The only problem is, you just tend to order too much, because they all look and sound very good. Several times we took doggy bags back with us. They are happy to give you the left over.

If you chose wisely, you could have an inexpensive, but very high quality healthy meal. Having said that, if you go overboard with shell fish, the cost can be high. But worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good choice of dishes for business dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had the dinner/meeting in the garden outside the restaurant.Good food for a business outing. But a bit noisy for a meeting. Staff is friendly and the service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“If you like fish look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is probably my third visit to the Lagoon, a fabulous fish restaurant based at the wonderful CINNAMON GRAND COLOMBO, and it just gets better and better. The star of the show this time to the Modha fillet.

All I can say is yummy yummy and good value , despite the poor acoustics.

The modha (also known as koduwa, barramundi and sea bass) is a great fish in it's own right and calling it anything else i.e. sea bass is somewhat misleading although I understand the comparison. However, It's a really big fish and I'm told that the skin is uneatable, so don't expect a slow baked fish with a crispy skin but it is superb grilled with a sauce of your choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Make your reservation early and wear long pants for the men in the party as there is a dress code. The crab is cooked perfectly and I highly recommend the black pepper sauce choice. Unlike true Singaporean black pepper crab from Long Beach, etc - the black pepper sauce is in the serving bowl rather than slathered over everything making it a bit less messy to eat and giving you the ability to set the perfect amount of spice. Crab is about US$50 for 1kg which is actually in line with Singapore pricing (wish it was a little less) but everything else is on the less expensive side. Pair the crab with the local steamed fish, locally veggies, and even after wine and beer you are looking at a $100 tab for 2, which is a phenomenal value for this high end establishment. Also, you will find the staff very attentive which is actually a bit unusual for Sri Lanka. I highly recommend fans of real seafood take in this jewel. I can't really give a high romance score based on my dining - black pepper crab should only be eaten with people you have known for a long, long time (like garlic and onion pizza), but this would be very romantic depending on your food choice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lagoon also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.