We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, spicy and pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lagoon

The Lagoon
77 Galle Road, Colombo 3 | Cinnamon Grand Colombo, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
0094112497371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 314 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice, spicy and pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A table looking out onto the pool/garden with a cold beer was just the thing to wind down a bit. There is a good selection of seafood here and neither the flavour nor presentation disappointed. The mixed platter had a good array of seafood but came out a bit cold (sitting on ice) - I let it sit for a while to warm up and the flavours were much improved. The mains was a prawn curry - with a real kick to it - and I am used to hot food. But nevertheless very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful, the decor modern and stylishly understated and the atmosphere a nice mix of bustle in the middle but quiet near the tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    109
    27
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Spoiled for choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were lucky to get into this restaurant as we didn't make a reservation and it was busy, but the staff looked after us as we were hotel guests.

The floor to ceiling glass creates a wonderful atmosphere for this restaurant as you look out onto the hotel gardens. The style of the restaurant, with seafood laid on tables of ice for you to choose from and then to select the method of cooking, makes the meal seem like a very special occasion and one you have contributed to.

Many of the fish varieties had local names that we didn't recognise so didn't know where to start. The waiter was extremely helpful, asking us the method of cooking we felt like and the types of seafood we preferred, and he put these options together to suggest dishes. We were then offered the choice of produce but suggested that the waiter was probably a better judge of quality and the quantity required.

The food quality was outstanding,the presentation appealing and the portions were just right. All in all a great meal and a memorable experience. We would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to returninhg there if we ever get back to Sri Lanka.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing to say wow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This has some good sea food but the presentation is not up to the mark as well as the souse types can improve . my wife and i had a ok night out here but nothing to boast about

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent but a bit pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The freshest of sea food cooked any way you like it. If unsure the staff will guide you. The service is excellent. Only downside is that it is expensive in a country where food is relatively cheap. Cost us approximately US$100, without alcohol.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the BEST restaurants in Colombo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We dine here very often and I always have Prawns or Crabs... The seafood is ALWAYS fresh and the staff is very polite and helpful but their English isn't perfect they can only understand basic English so I end up talking to them in Sinhalese when I want to explain to them how I want my seafood prepared :) The ambiance is stylish and you can always sit by the pretty pond outside...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lagoon also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.