We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narantuul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Narantuul Hotel to your Saves list
Narantuul Hotel
2 Khoroo, Baruun Durvun Zam | Chingeltei District, Ulaanbaatar 15172, Mongolia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
DAYTON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Safe lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our tour company put my travel partner and I in this hotel for the couple nights in UB. It is a business person hotel - or so appeared to us. We were the only women at breakfast; the men appeared to be on business trips to UB. The food in the breakfast buffet was good, and varied. The options were suitable for my tastes (American). Service was excellent. The room was comfortable, clean and huge! Included desk space, kitchenette, living room. Bathroom was clean, and more than adequate. We were on the 9th floor, and had a good view of the neighborhood leading up to the Temple. I accidentally left the key in the door, on the outside of the room, all night our first night. No disturbance.

My one complaint is that there were construction going on in the commerical lot next door until about 2 AM. Our tour guide said that this was typical because of the terrible traffic in UB; the construction vehicles would not have been too hard to deal with during the daytime traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
6
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and picked this hotel from Lonely Planet Review. Hotel is 3 stars and within 30 minute walk to the central Square of UB: Sukhbaatar Square. Hotel is right off the main road: Peace Avenue and short walking distance to the State Department Store. Many shops, restaurants next to the hotel.

Review of Hotel itself:

As other reviewers have stated, rooms are spacious and clean although showing it's age with older carpets, some stains and few wall sockets coming out etc.... reason I gave it a 3 star Avg rating......I would say they need to some remodeling very soon or this hotel could loose it's status very quickly.

I paid $159.00 per night for a Double room and other people I was with had a single for $109.00. Reasonable prices as you are on the main road and close to the city center. Rooms are well over $200.00 at the city center so again the price is good.

Room was spacious and came with a small kitchen, sink, stove, small refrigerator so could be used for a longer stay. Bed was very firm but clean sheets and I slept well. Only issue is the noise as other reviewers have commented on. No way of getting around this unless they put in sound proof windows to keep out the constant honking and traffic noise.

There was fast free internet/wifi in room and throughout hotel which is a plus. Did not use the TV but fellow colleague said TV was "in and out". Shower was large and clean with hot water and excellent water pressure.

Hotel offers a sauna (did not use) and business room. There is no gym or weight room on premise. Staff were helpful and spoke some English which is nice. I had breakfast both mornings at their cafe/restaurant which was a relaxing setting in a glass enclosed deck room overlooking downtown. Food and service was good.

Bottom Line question: "Would I stay here again?" I would say yes given the location and price but as stated above they need to do some upgrades or routine maintenance if they want to remain competitive and keep their 3 star status.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Due to a business trip I stayed one week with no major issues. The room was comfortable, although the television needed some upgrade. Friendly staff, an average breakfast and for my business trip a very good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was lucky to be on the ninth floor, room 92, which was an extremely large suite with added kitchen and dining area.

The hotel was spotless, had excellent staff and was very welcoming. I only had one evening at the hotel and was extremely glad of its comforts and service after a few days living in a ger.

Others have said language and issue, which I agree with - but nothing was not sorted and service was always given with a smile.

I think some rooms at lower levels may have been troubled by traffic noise - and if you have ever been to UB you can appreciate this can be an issue. The rooms on the 9th floor had bedrooms overlooking the rear that helped.

I may be back in two weeks - and have no worries about returning.

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Narantuul hotel. The staff were friendly but their English skills were a bit patchy so it sometimes took a few attempts to get what you needed. The rooms are very generously sized (I did not stay in a standard room however as there were none available). The televisions were a bit dated but showed 4 or 5 different English language programs which was relatively reasonable for this price range. Breakfast is not included but there is a basic room service menu, two restaurants (neither of which i went to) and the room kitchen facilities are clean and ample. The bathrooms were big and the water pressure strong. The hotel is on Peace Avenue. It is a ten minute walk to the State Dept Store and twenty to Sukhbataar Square. I felt very comfortable at the Narantuul hotel during my stay and would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I used the Narantuul for a couple of nights during a business trip to Mongilia at the end of July and it was my first stay there based on the comparsion of room rates aginst other UB hotels. If you are looking for 4 star "normal business" facilities do not use it but for a clean, value for money, friendly stop over it is excellent.
All the room types are spacious and clean. I stayed in a suite one night ( which was massive) and a standard room ( perfectly adequate for one person) the other. The furniture and decor is not luxurious but the bathrooms are new and clean , which was good as I hate old bathrooms.
Internet was free and easily acessible in the rooms. Both had a little kitchen area with fridge , microwave and work top area so you could get your own food in if you wanted to ( breakfast for example)
I only managed breakfast once and it looked typlically basic but get down early if you want fresh stuff. I did not use the bar but it was open both nights I was there.
There is a cash point 30yds from the front door if needed. The staff I had dealings with were very friendly and easy going.
I would stay again even for a longer period just for the value for money and lack of "hotel hassle". Hard beds as usual. I would need more hangers in the wardrobe. No A/C but a fan was provided which was okay for me but might not suit some.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed a few nights here after my trip through the Gobi. Nice hotel and walking distance to a temple that is open for tourists. service was OK, varied breakfast, a bit noisy at night but generally good value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narantuul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narantuul Hotel

Address: 2 Khoroo, Baruun Durvun Zam | Chingeltei District, Ulaanbaatar 15172, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narantuul Hotel is located in the centre of Ulaanbaatar, nearby Gandan Monastery and State Department Store. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a balcony and a patio. There is a full kitchen with a refrigerator and kitchenware. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with a bath and a bath or shower. You can enjoy mountain view and city view from the room. At Narantuul Hotel you will find an airport shuttle, a 24-hour front desk and a bar. Other facilities offered at the property include a ticket service, a tour desk and luggage storage. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1 km from Ulaanbaatar Opera House, 1.5 Km from National Museum of Mongolian History and 1.7 Km from Chinggis Khan Statue. Chinggis Khaan International Airport is 13 km away. Guest can enjoy Mongolian and European cuisine in Slade Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Narantuul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narantuul Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narantuul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.