We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayangol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bayangol Hotel to your Saves list
Bayangol Hotel
Chinggis Khan Avenue 05, Ulaanbaatar 210643, Mongolia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed on two occasions in this hotel. The first time was after getting off the overnight train from Russia. It was great to be able to check in early in the morning rather than waiting until after lunch. The two rooms we had were well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Wi-fi was accessible in the rooms but was a bit slow during peak usage periods. The breakfasts were great and plenty of choice catering for a variety of tastes and dietary requirements. The location of the hotel was also good, being in walking distance from the centre of town and only a few kilometres from the train station. The hotel staff had limited understanding of English but were generally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    65
    85
    20
    5
See reviews for
19
35
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Bayangol hotel in August of 2013. The hotel is in a great location and is walking distance to the center of the city and many of the sites in Ulaanbaatar. Unfortunately, it is quite dated. The floors creak, the bathrooms are old and the elevator is tiny. The beds were comfortable and the room clean. Because we travelled throughout Mongolia a bit, we actually had 3 seperate stays and 3 different rooms at this hotel. We were on the 6th, 11th and 12th floors. The only room we had where we could control the airconditioning was on the 12th floor. Also, if you have to take a shower before 6:30, beware...the hot water heaters are not yet on that early in the morning...brr!

Also, the service was a bit spotty. There were some really nice employees, but others didn't seem to care. For example, our room didn't get cleaned one day (we are not sure why) and we needed clean towels. When we went to the front desk to request them they acted annoyed and like it was no big deal that our room hadn't been cleaned. Also, they provide bottled water, but often the housekeeping staff forgets to give you new bottles so you have to request them.

The breakast was very good with a lot of options from eggs made to order, to cereal to Mongolian dishes.

Overall, the hotel was okay, but the best thing is had going for it was the location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If this hotel doesn't do something drastic in the next year, it will probably have to shut down. With so many new hotels in UB, The Corporate Hotel next door is a great example, this will be empty. It needs to be shut down for six months for renovation, then re-open. The rooms are looking old, the plumbing is ancient, the pipes and taps make a noise when you turn them on, the bath is about a foot deep and the cream bathrooms fittings are disgusting. We went for breakfast and although there were maybe ten staff on duty we had to ask for plates, cups, orange to be filled, food to be re-filled and tables to be cleaned. They need a system where staff do their own jobs and not just react to what we are asking for, predict what customers need. Clean tables, plates, cups, drinks, etc. The wifi on the 5th floor was not worth having, on and off more than a green traffic light, which is very frustrating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Although walking distance from the main shopping areas the hotel is shabby both in the exterior and interior. Both wings A and B could do with a 'face lift'. Staff is slow does not understand much English and so communication is a challenge. electrical connections in the room don't always work and the bath tubs are meant for midgets. Lighting is poor and many rooms do not have air-conditioning or any air circulation system as in a fan! Breakfast buffet is OK but agin staff is slow and inattentive. Same goes for the sports bar. Aside from the alcohol that arrives promptly all else takes for ages!

Room Tip: Do some more research on hotels in Ulanbataar before you pick this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is clean and the amenities are nice. We stayed here twice. The first time we did not have air conditioning in our room but the second time we did. The nights are cold but without the air conditioning we needed the window open and there is some street noise. The breakfast buffet had good variety. The manager in the restaurant was very nice and welcoming. The hotel is not luxurious by western standards but it seemed like a palace after camping in Mongolia for 2 weeks. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for six nights in September 2012, when I was in Ulaanbataar for business. The hotel is situated near the centre of Ulaanbataar. The hotel has several restaurants and bars. The rooms are well equipped. A free WIFI connection is available. Breakfast is basic, but OK. Temperature in the rooms is rather high, but windows could not be opened. If you would like to stay in a quiet and well maintained hotel in Ulaanbataar this place might be what you are looking for although the price, even to West-European standards is rather high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of everything that I wanted to see. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding and made it easy to start the day. Rooms were clean albeit outdated. The air conditioning could use an upgrade so I had to sleep with the windows open. Staff was very helpful. There is a very good restaurant located in the hotel if you don't feel like navigating the traffic for dinner or an evening drink. While I would recommend the hotel, your expectations have to be in keeping with the destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayangol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayangol Hotel

Address: Chinggis Khan Avenue 05, Ulaanbaatar 210643, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome esteemed guests,Dear guests and customers, we thank you for choosing Bayangol Hotel. Since 1964 our 4 star hotel has been continuously serving business travellers and tourists and has a capacity of hosting 400 guests in our 215 suites. Also we are operating a modern restaurant capable of receiving up to 500 guests for a stand-up reception. In order to ensure every possibility for your comfortable rest, travel and business our experienced staff shall strive to make your stay as memorable as possible through various service centers.Bayangol hotel’s location in A level zone of city center, within close proximity of business, cultural and commercial centers at 17 kilometers from airport and 2 kilometers from train station provides excellent conditions for our guest service convenience.We wish you to enjoy your stay and hope you will stay with us again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bayangol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayangol Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayangol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.