We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central yet old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Michelle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulaanbaatar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michelle Hotel
Save
You added Michelle Hotel to your Saves list
Zaluuchuudiin gudamj, 13-3 | Sukhbaatar district, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 53 Ulaanbaatar B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Central yet old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Location is very good, but the rooms are so so. Staff can soeak a little English. With family I do not recommend. Yet expensive for backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

After travelling more than 20 years criss-cross Europe and
the United States, this is definitely the worse hotel i saw. Nothing worked. Everything was dirty, torn and broken, the sheets had holes and blood-stains, the carpet was terribly dirty and full of
stains like from chewing gum. The chandelier suppose to have, 5 bulbs, in which only 2 of them
worked. The room had two more lights, in the lateral walls, but didn't work. The bathroom suppose to have 2 bulbs, only 1 worked. The room was very dark. The reading-lamp on the night-desk
didn't work either. When I asked to replace some of the burned bulbs, they told me that the basis of all of them is broken, that even if i will replace the bulbs by myself, it won't help and they refused to provide us with new bulbs. The bathroom was appalling as well: all around the bath-tub, the ceiling, the corners, and the joints of the tiles, full of a thick layer of black mould. The door between the room and the bathroom, broken, and the wood completely rotten. The two windows were stuck and we were unable to open them. Their brochure advises that they have free wifi in the room and in the lobby. Neither of them worked. Nothing. They don't have internet at all.
The couches in the lobby are completely torn and peeled. The lady from the reception was
the worse clerk I saw in my life. I asked for a room in the front of the building: after she looked at her computer she said that regretfully no available rooms left. Afterwards it turned out that the hotel was completely empty and we were the only guests. Our guide asked from the lady to see to have our breakfast ready in the morning in two plastic bags, as we had to catch a train very early. At 05:30 she phoned us that breakfast is ready and we can come down to have it. And of course it wasn't in bags. She brought the poor cook at 05:00 am to prepare us the breakfast in the hall, not to take it with us. As we hadn't the time to sit, we grabbed a plastic bag and we put a coulpe of sandwiches in, and said good bye. Thank G'd it was just for one night, otherwise we had changed to another hotel. I have already slept in catacombs and believe me it was better than this hotel.
This hotel is definitely not to be booked anymore, and not to be recommended to anybody, it's a real nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gailingen am Hochrh.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Hotel is quite OK - at the price it had originally been offered (35'000 MNT). On arrival we were charged 70'000 MNT insteead, ... the original offer being "for Mongolians". Where in the world (since Hitler and Apartheid) have you got 2 prices for 2 different kinds of races. The quality of the room and breakfast was really Mongolian (protruding bedsprings, tattered sheets, dirty carpets and bathrooms, partly without hot water, overheated room /no seat valve. Also not tourist-compliant the fact that you cannot pay with credit cards

NOT FOR FOREIGNERS!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My stay there was fine, standard motel type compared to US standards. Pretty clean just very outdated decor. A friend of mine did get cash stolen from her room.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelle Hotel

Address: Zaluuchuudiin gudamj, 13-3 | Sukhbaatar district, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.