We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special chicken!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namaste

Namaste
Sansar district inside Flower Hotel, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
+976 9927 0957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 186 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We, at Namaste Restaurant strongly believe that a business exists because of it's valued customers/guests". Therefore, whatever we do here is meant to ensure a happy and highly satisfied guest.You are the most important element of our business. We feel proud and enthusiastic to see that our business ethics are liked and awarded by our guests.Who have voted for us in "Lonely Planet-(2011 edition)" travel guide as Ulaanbaatar's "TOP CHOICE" Indian restaurant.Once again we extend our sincere thanks to those who supported us in this journey without you we were not be able to come this far.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special chicken!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was, without a doubt, the best meal I had in UB. I'd also recommend the garlic naan and the gobi aloo.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Indoan food in UB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have become a regular at Namaste. Quality quantity annd service are excellent and good value for money. I took two viitors fromIndia there the other night and they stated it was better than 95% of the restaurants in India!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was excited to eat here after reading the other reviews and being a lover of Indian food. It was OK but just OK, a bit bland really. Good atmosphere and good service though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra Kumar B, Manager at Namaste, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings of the day from Namaste Indian Restaurant.

First of all, i would like to extend my sincere thanks for your feedback, it's really embarrassing that our waitresses could not advice you about the fact that, it's always possible to make any of our food items on the menu more or less spicy to suit to your palate.

Next time, when you visit us ,i would like to request you to tell the waitress to make it very spicy / Indian style ,or you can always request to call the chef and directly inform him about your taste.

I assure you of better service and food next time.

Thank you and kindest regards

S.Kumar

99270957 (Mobile)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The "Special Chicken" is amazing! It's not on the menu; so, you have to ask. Great food; great price!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Business lunch at the Baga Toiruu location. As soon as you enter the welcoming aroma makes your senses perk up and take notice.

Lunch was lamb, daal and chick peas with rice and naan. All half portions and there was plenty of take away left overs. We requested spicy and it was perfectly balanced. The smoky, chili flavoured daal was an absolute delight. One of the best I have ever had. The Chana chaat was also perfect in every way. The right amount of chili's so that the heat was not overwhelming. The lamb had bones in it, it was not my first choice but it was all they had, it was the 11,000 MNT one, I don't think it was actually a kabab. Although I was expecting something different it too had excellent flavour, was tender and delicious.

The atmosphere of the restaurant was welcoming and tasteful. The music was not too loud as with some other Indian restaurants in town. The staff was friendly and attentive. They returned to the table to confirm we wanted spicy.

This is simply one of, if not the best restaurant in UB. No trip to UB would be complete without a visit here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namaste also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Namaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namaste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.