We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got food poison!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda

Veranda
Jamyn Gunii Gudamj 5/1 | central Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
(011) 330 818
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 151 restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Got food poison!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Say away, bad service and I got very ill. Don't order the meat! Overpriced as well. There are better options in Ulan Bator.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    35
    60
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had been looking forward to coming as I heard good things about it, decided to go there for breakfast as a change to our hotel before going home. It felt a bit like they weren't ready, they were open but we waited quite a long time for my order and it smelled a bit from the night before. Seemed a bit expensive for what I had. terrace was dirty. I'm wondering if it's the same owner for Silk Road downstairs, they seem to be better organised?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still one of the best restaurants in UB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

One of the oldest, and best restaurants in Ulaanbaatar. Many restaurants have opened during the past 6 years, but just a few have managed to continue attracting all the local clientele. Veranda, for Mongolian standards, continues being a fairly priced restaurant that offers a continental (European) quality menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food and service were both excellent. The prices were north American but worth it. It is a lovely spot for a special dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very disapinted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I came after my friends recomendation and after seeing positive reviews. Oh boys , best view to beutiful temple and that was it . They ruined my evening with their smelly shrimp and dried beef steak and after i refused to touch the tiramisu. The service stuff was quite quick, but when we startred to complain they just hide away. One more place to avoid in UB. At least for me...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veranda also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.