We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Cross Road, Peace Avenue | Bayanzurkh District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Offer
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Emerald, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

A long stay at the Kempinski, 10 nights, staff very pleasant whilst a touch far from the centre of Ulaanbatar, the staf are easy to help with a reliable taxi for 5000 MTB each way.

I have little extra by way of a local mobile and I pad if need. Compliments to Uuna the Customer Relations Manager.

I'll be back

Room Tip: Try the 7 to 9 th floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Kempinski Khan Palace! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the service! We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards, Jens Wycisk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    93
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
40
31
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

During our stay in Mongolia we spent 4 non-contiguous nights in this hotel; all rooms were slightly different but wi-fi worked and the bathrooms were a delight with hot water readily available, showers and bathtubs,complimentary bottled water, outstandingly good western as well as Asian breakfast buffets. The restaurant on the lobby floor - cannot recall the name for Khaan was in it - had a varied menu and both the food and the service were good.

Room Tip: construction is occurring on the rear side of the hotel and starts EARLY - request another location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in the Kempinski Khan Palace! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the restaurant and the service in our hotel! Warmest regards, Jens Wycisk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel, former simply Khaan Palace, is now managed by Kempinski, so you are sure that it can meet all your expectations. Unfortunately it is located not in the very centre, as it stands at the end of Peace Avenue, around 2 kilometers from Sukhbataar Square (that made by car in the always jammed traffic means around 20 minutes) in an area with some decadent buildings around. Rooms are spacious (I have been there 2 times and both the rooms vere huge), but ask in advance to have a king bed, otherwise the most part of rooms are equipped with two queen bed. Rooms are clean, two bottles of still water are complimentary and there is also the pillow menu. There is a wide choice of international tv channel in room tv and an international web newspaper service is offered for free at the reception. The best point of the hotel is the breakfast. It is not properly huge in quantity (also if all the food is always refilled) but there is an incredible choice of everything, included made at the moment sushi of your choice..and the best muffin I’ve ever eaten. A breakfast box is arranged if you have an early departure. Staff at the reception speaks very good English, not the same for the one serving the wellness centre. A massage service is offered also if it is often busy because there is only one massage room. About that, it is not bad but the pictures shown on the hotel website are better than the reality. There is a fast internet pc in the lobby for free but is not nice that it is located over the reception desk, without privacy and without any chair, so you have to use it standing. There is a useful limousine service managed by the hotel with a fixed price of 6 euros (8 Usd) to every destination in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at the Kempinski Khan Palace. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel! We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us.Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our team. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon for your anniversary.
Kindest regards, Jens Wycisk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

All is good about this hotel. Everything at the right place. Staff is nice, smiley and friendly, especially serviceable. Wifi everywhere in the hotel. Rooms are spacious, location is fair.
Will probably go back when on short business missions to UB.
For leisure that is another story. Then I will ask to my friends from Mejet Tours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Still far away from the City Center but in the summer, traffic is easier and we're not talking massive distance (20 mn walk) but service (although deteriorating) remains very friendly, rooms and common parts are being upgraded, restaurants remain good and breakfast is the very best in UB.
My stay next month will be there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently stayed a few nights at the Kempinski through the recommendation of a friend who travels to UB for work. I stayed before my nomadic adventures and after I returned. No problem at all to leave luggage at the hotel, very secure. The service was above what I expected. Very helpful and friendly, everyone knew you by name. Getting taxi's in UB was actually difficult, most don't look like taxi's from the outside. The staff always handled the arrangements for us. Also gave us great tips and advice for getting around UB. The only issue we had was location was just a tad outside the main city center. 95% time no issue only 5-10min in a taxi, but one day we had heavy traffic and took almost 1hr to get places. The buffet breakfast was also probably one of the best in UB.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmstadt
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is not on par with its cousins in western europe but makes the best out of the circumstances. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large and well mantained, the bath with shower and tub is well equipped and has ample hot water. The beds are reasonably comfortable, especially compared to the hotels in provincal towns where you have the impression of sleeping on a concrete slab.

Having said this I did have some negative experience with the service of the front desk and the and the downstairs restaurant. When my local flight back to UB was delayed for many hours and it was clear that I would not make it to the hotel during opening hours of the Sakura Restaurant I called reception and asked to prepare a large plate of sashimi and put it in my room. Upon arrival I found that they did not take care of that. The laconic remark was "The reaturant has closed cook has gone home". My complaint was answered with a shrug and the remark "if you want to eat go to the (other) restaurant, it is open ungtil midnight". Well, at 23:00hrs it was - and it was not. The commentary there was "the kitchen closes at 10:30, you can only have what´s on the room service menue". I had a "ceasar" salad which was not a Cesar at all: no croutons, sone brownish unidentifiable sauce with not the slightes resemblance of what it should taste. Plus chicken wings which had the consistency of rubber, pale and not browned, appearantly warmed up in a microwave. Same story next morning: my order of a cappucino for breakfast was very friendly and politely declined with the words: "the barman has not come in yet"
Some praise too: the service at breakfast was very good and caring. Food and service at the Sakura restaurant were excellent.

Of course all this is complaining at a high level in comparing with experiences elsewhere in the country. But I feel the hotel could do better here. Nevertheless I really believe that this hotel is one of the 3 best choices in Ulan Bator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your valued comments regarding your recent experience at the Kempinski Khan Palace.Your feedback is extremely important to us and I would like to call you at a convenient time for you to follow up on your visit and comments. I would be grateful if you could grant us a few minutes of your precious time. I hope we can connect soon and we are looking forward to hearing from you. Sincerely yours, Jens Wycisk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace

Address: East Cross Road, Peace Avenue | Bayanzurkh District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#1 Spa Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, Ulaanbaatar combines European standard and attention to detail with Mongolian hospitality. This luxury hotel, with 102 rooms and suites, is located in the heart of the city's metropolis District. The hotel offers direct access to the Chinggis Khaan Square at city center and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are attending to important business trip or on a well-deserved vacation; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference. Rooms & Suites includes all the modern amnesties required for the travelling guest well as unique amnesties namely; Latest Air purifier & humidifier, individually adjustable climate controller, free mobile phone, I pad rental, Large working desk with ergonomic chair. Also Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, buffet breakfast is rated has the best in the town by the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.