We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California

California
Seoul St | central Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
(011) 319 031
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 170 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I am a regular at the Californian and think the food is great! It has an extensive variety of food from traditional Mongolian to burgers and pizzas. Every meal I have eaten here has been of an excellent standard and I've never had to wait long for it at all. Higher recommended restaurant in UB!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great burgers & sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We ate at the California this weekend and enjoyed the meal.

My BBQ Pork burger was good, and my son's "Navahoe" burger on frybread was great. My wife and daughter enjoyed their meals as well. Fries were good and cooked perfectly (a challenging standard in UB it would seem). Portions were generous. The menu said our burgers would come with coleslaw - must have been out that day. We ordered shakes and were disappointed at how thin they were. Service was slow - waitstaff not very responsive.

For anyone trying to find this place, it's across the street from the Aeroflot building on Seoul Street, in the area in between Marco Polo and the new Naran mall. It is next to the Good Price grocery store. The shop-front extension work being done now means there is no sign.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
1 review
“Best cocktails in UB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Always busy, good to sit at the terrace in the summer. Food portion is huge, and best cocktails in UB.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ehh... I'd go somewhere else...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I went here for breakfast one day with my friends. The interior is a cross between a diner and an upscale hotel restaurant. But because it is a mix of both, it wasn't really working for me.
I ordered the brioche breakfast. Silly me for thinking it was actually going to come on a brioche bun (yea...negative on that..). It was basically a burger with an egg, smeared with mayonnaise.
The portions are huge, but not very tasty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“nasty burgers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

people were saying they had the best burgers in town, mine was inedible, YUK

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California also viewed

 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.