We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, unique, great food, Laotian oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel to your Saves list
Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fa Ngum Road | Ban Seetarn Neua, Vientiane 54120, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, unique, great food, Laotian oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Stayed here for about a week while doing the Indochina loop a couple years ago. It's run by foreigners, I think an Australian man (?), who runs the hotel very well. He greeted us when we arrived and let us use the reception computer internet. Service is top notch, the attached open air restaurant has delicious, French-infused food. We ate at the attached restaurant often during our stay and it has several excellent dishes and a good, real breakfast.

The hotel itself faces the river, which is a great view if you're on that side of the hotel. We were in the cheapest room in the hotel, the single room overlooking the garden, and were very happy. The bed is comfortable, bathroom is spotless and has a Casino Royale-style glass shower. The staff are very helpful and friendly; we had no problem getting a tuk tuk to take us to the Buddha Garden and they were frank about telling us where we could get cheap public transport to Thailand.

This was one of my favorite hotels from a year of travel abroad. The style and decor of the hotel is very unique and creative. Each room was different and eclectic, but pulled together. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

We were backpacking so this was a bit higher in price than our usual budget accommodations. If you're ok with the price, I highly recommend it! It is a bit of a short, flat walk to the more central part of Vientiane, but walking along the river to get into town was a pleasure stroll for us and we did not mind the location at all.

It was a great place for couples, quiet and very safe. We paid for our stay when we checked out and paid in cash in kip, but I think they also accept other currencies too.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    124
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
134
38
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orewa Beach, NZ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We had a Superior River view room - it was a very unique layout, the shower being behind a screen in the main room but it was fine for us as a married couple and it was a very quirky and cool room really! The whole room was pale blue and looks just like the one on the website. The wall opposite the bed is floor to ceiling glass windows over the delta - very cool! The hotel is about 10mins walk to the centre along the river so we liked the location. Breakfast at the Spirit House was pretty good.
We really liked our stay here but the best part of the whole hotel were the amazing staff! On arrival at the hotel my husband realised he'd left a jumper in the mini van that brought us from Vang Vieng. We'd given the receipt with company details on it to the driver so had nothing on us confirming what company we'd even booked the mini van through! We told the receptionist when we were checking in as the jumper had a lot of sentimental value and within 45 mins the ladies on duty at the hotel phoned around Vang Vieng tracking down the company we booked through right through to the driver who drove us and gone to where the driver currently was and brought back by the jumper! We didn't think we'd ever see it again, we were absolutely gobsmacked they'd done all of that for us on our casual mention of being sad at losing the jumper! We were soooo impressed by their friendliness and service! On the last night we went to tell them we should check out then as we had an early flight out - they arranged our transfer to the airport and not long after a staff member came up with a plate of fruit and biscuits for us to take with us as she said we would be up too early for the breakfast at the restaurant. So sweet that they thought of us! ;-) The staff there deserve soooo much praise, we'd definitely recommend this hotel for charm and for service.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopstal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I regularly travel to Vientiane for my work. The Lao Office Manager thought he was doing me a favour by booking me a room at the Beau Rivage (I usually stay at the Lao Orchid). Unfortunately, he didn't. The place looks spectacular at first sight, but when you start using the premises, they turn out not to be very practical. Nice eye candy, but it's design for its own sake. Also, way too far out of town and no easy transportation found. You don't need to be that far out to have quiet. Vientiane is a quiet town, even in the centre of town. I was booked for 4 days but stayed only one night. Back to reliable, practical and very nice Lao Orchid.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed in the only room available. It was really large with a beautiful view over the Mekong River and an area where you could make tea and coffee. The room was beautifully presented and very clean. It was creatively decorated. You get used to the pink colour! It's probably the classiest room we've stayed in in Asia. The location is just out of town and an interesting walk along the river to the main drag. I agree with other reviews that there are better places to eat than the restaurant next door, although it's location for a drink in the evening around sunset is great. Helpful staff. Just a couple of minor issues. The aircon was a bit noisy overnight and the hotel itself has a lot of tiles and hard surfaces, so it can be a bit noisy at times. However, it's great and bought a smile to our faces as we walked in the room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This is a lovely small hotel. My wife loved the pink room. The room was very stylish, large and spacious. Could not fault this place and great value for money. Get a room with river views if possible. The attached restaurant is very good and well patronised. The manager Gordon was helpful with no nonsense advice about Vientiane. And the staff were all charming. Nice quiet location on the river about a 15 minute walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

You have to try this place. The rooms are quirky but spotless. The staff amazingly kind and helpful - proactive even. The beds are perfect and the air-con is absolute bliss. Add this to the fact that they'll lock up your rented motorbike bike overnight and you have the perfect home in Vientiane. Even the fact that it's operated by an Aussie can't put me off :-)

I'm not much of a fan of the food at the Spirit House next door but I think that's just me - everyone else thought it was super. Go before they tarmac the dirt road outside and the feeling of being in old Vientiane is just a memory.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

A charming, clean and friendly hotel oppoosite the Mekong river. You can have breakfast over looking the river in the cool of the morning. While it is walking distance to the city centre, it is slightly away from the main crowds so it is quiet and peaceful (but most of Laos is anyway). The owner is Australian, an affable chap, who is interesting to talk to about local customs and affairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel

Address: Fa Ngum Road | Ban Seetarn Neua, Vientiane 54120, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Mekong Vientiane
Hotel Beau Rivage Mekong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau Rivage Mekong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.