We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lao Orchid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lao Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Lao Orchid Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chao Anou Rd., Vat Chanh, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Boston, Mass. USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. 2 minute walk to Mekong, night market, and good restaurants. Very good traditional and Chinese breakfast options. The open air breakfast balcony was pleasant and had views of a local temple. The day front desk clerk was very helpful and spoke English.
Our 4th floor room in the back was spacious and had distant views of the Mekong over several other rooftops. We had a small refrigerator and a small balcony without any furniture to sit. The walls are thin and we could hear hallway noise, but the hotel was not too busy. Internet in the room was very weak, but stronger in the lobby areas. We used their transport to/from the hotel which was very convenient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    131
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
126
52
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Room was comfortable although a little noisy in the morning with other guests getting up early. Breakfast was the best we had all trip. The steamed wantons and dumplings were delicious! The location is also great. Close to the riverside and opposite one of te cities many wats.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in mid-December at the end of 5 weeks in Cambodia and Laos and we loved it, even though it was the most expensive place we stayed - but this could just be Vientiane. The hotel has a nice ambience and is conveniently located very close to the Mekong River esplanade and all that happens along here, including the night market, and it is walkable to many of the temples and other city features. Our room on the back was quiet and still had a view to the river, very clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities (fridge, kettle, safe, TV, WiFi, bottled water). Reception staff were very courteous, and the buffet breakfast in their lovely open air bar and dining area on the first floor with its leafy temple outlook was excellent. We booked by email with no problems and the airport transport service when we left was smooth and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Mostly the staff had little English, just standard phrases. We booked two nights in transit from Luang Prabang and realised we needed late check-out. We asked when we booked in and was told they would get back to us. Next day we were told the hotel was fully booked but we went back the following morning and spoke to a manager who arranged a 7pm check-out for half the daily rate. We were happy with this but could have saved a lot of worry had we got the right person at the start. Airport pick-up and drop off was excellent at $7US. Breakfast toom overlooking the Wat was lovely. Good selection of food. Just round the corner from night market and reasonable selection of restaurants

Room Tip: What was described as a balcony room with river views was a little overstated. The river view was di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lao Orchid is a quiet, comfortable no-frills hotel located a half block away from the park that runs along the Mekong River. The Night Market is held in the park every evening. Most of the hotel's simple, functional rooms have views of the river. The covered open-air dining area on the second floor overlooks a pretty wat and the river beyond. A basic buffet breakfast is served in the morning and it's a pleasant place for a coctail in the evening. Some other nicely restored wats are within a short walk but, perhaps most important, the hotel is just a half block away from two extraordinary restaurants, Makphet and L'Adresse de Tinay (not to mention some wonderful French bakeries a couple of streets beyond).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and have recommended it to people visiting Vientiane. Location is very close to the Mekong River and the night market. Excellent views from the great "apartments" with large outdoor terraces (book well in advance). Breakfast buffet is good. However, the front desk staff are sorely lacking. Their English and French are poor at best and they cannot answer basic questions about hotel policies, reservations, amenities, or directions. I have given up trying to make a reservation over the phone altogether. Make sure you get a phone reservation confirmed by an email or the front desk people will likely never have heard of you when you show up.

Room Tip: If you can't get one of the large "apartments" with outdoor terraces stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had a good location- in town, near the river and night market - but that's it. Staff were uninterested - just sat at reception on their mobiles, no welcome at breakfast ( I could have rolled in off the streets- to breakfast and to my room- no acknowledgements give at all). Wifi was appalling- different codes for different areas- eg room, reception, but none ever worked unless you were up at 6am having breakfast- probably because the receptionist was on Facebook! Breakfast was appalling- I am open minded to trying anything but the only hot food was a lime green boiled dumpling- toast was the only option. Room was a fair size with a balcony. Other than the location, our experience was let down by the staff and services.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lao Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Orchid Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Rd., Vat Chanh, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lao Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lao Orchid
Lao Orchid Vientiane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lao Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.