We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Park Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Green Park Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Green Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Vientiane
Bangkok
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

The room was in excellent condition, nice and feeling very new. Combine with very good bathroom, these two reasons are more than enough to choose Green Park resort in Vientiane.

We enjoyed our stay throughout, the manager was very flexible and tried his best to make sure we are very well attended. Staff also very friendly and tried to serve always.

Location is on the back side road but not too far from the main avenue (Vientiane is small town therefore nothing will need too much traveling time) but that's not the problem, the upside is the hotel will always be pretty much quite and peaceful.

Breakfast was included in the room and was good enough amount and variety. Wireless internet was everywhere and free.

Will stay here again for my next trip to Vientiane. I was told this is probably the 3rd best hotel here but the quality of the room could be among the very best..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    105
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
129
24
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The hotel is very pretty and has lovely public areas. The room was enormous, very clean, and had lots of amenities. Lighting in the room wasn't great (I was there for work), but if I were staying there for leisure it would be just fine. Staff were very attentive and very professional.

Breakfast, included in the rate, was fine but nothing spectacular. All in all a nice stay. I would not stay here if I were on vacation; I would stay closer to town to walk around and have restaurant options.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights as part of my 5 week journey across IndoChina .It was my choice based upon the reviews at Trip Advisor and I was certainly not disappointed .

The hotel was designed and built by its owner who lives on the premesis .He takes great pride in his creation and personally ensures that everything is being attended to .
I met him a couple of times each evening while he was doing his inspection of the grounds and the hotel facilities .
The hotel is spotless and is managed with kid gloves .The grounds are full of matured blooming trees of many different species .There are many potted plants such as orchids and water plants peppered through out the complex which offer an array of colors and design contrasts .
The materials used to build the complex are of different textures and colors .The use of natural material complements the tone of the hotel's atmosphere .Water fountains and pool drops creates cool visual and audio feelings .
The breakfast was fantastic and is served either outside or inside ..your choice .The omlettes/eggs /pancakes are custom made to order.There many different choices each morning .
The breakfast staff are excellent .They speak fluent English and are always smiling and willing to offer helpful tips on sightseeing .
The manager is an guy who could not do enough for me to make my stay one of the most memorable ones of my journey.. .he was always on top of everything .He even knew all his guests by name .
He would most certainly have the job managing my hotel if I had one . In fact all of the management staff were excellent .

The meals and bar beverages are fantastic and reasonably priced considering the excellent quality that you receive .

The internet service is free which is a real plus . There is a fully equipped exercise center .

They have a shuttle to the airport .

The security is excellent as the entire complex is secured by a high wall complete with gate security guards and CCTV ,..not that they are needed as I found the Lao people to be very loyal and trustworthy people .It was probably the safest country that I visited on my 5 country tour .

The rooms are very large and tastefully decorated . The bed has a great mattress and quality linen .I had the best sleeps here as it is totally quiet , I prearranged to have a room facing away from the roadside .The bathroom has an excellent shower and tub combo The bottom floored rooms have a small glass enclosed garden that is a part of the bathroon .When you are in the bathtub you think that you are taking a bath in a small garden but it is really separated from you by a glass wall .A really unique experience ! LOTS of quality ammenities .
They even provide a room safe ..be sure to carefully read the instructions as it operates different than most hotel safes ..I quickly got the run of it after a few tries

Every room has a balcony that looks out over the swimming pool and the reflecting pools .

Their website has excellent truthful pictures of the complex be sure to visit it .

It is located within a 5 minute walking distance to a local market where you can get excellent pictures of both animal and vegetable produce .There are lots of tut tuts that you can flag down to get downtown .It will cost about 2 dollars one way .
The hotel is close to the city core but you think that you are out in the countryside .
Hire a car and driver and spend 3 or 4 hours exploring the farming villages and small immaculate village temples nearby .I
I visited about 4 monasteries and 4 farming villages in a 4 hour period .I went out into the fields with the farming families to experience the real Laotian lifestyle... ask the hotel staff to help you get a car and driver .
I was totally impressed with all the staff ..Everyone was Happy to be working here and therefore they all took pride in their jobs .
This hotel is on my list as being one of the Best Hotels that
I have ever stayed at .

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

All I heard and read about with regard to high class hotels in Vientiane was Settha Palace this and that. Well, I'm sure Settha Palace is wonderful but they could not--until the last minute--find availability for both of our nights in Vientiane so we booked at the Green Park. We paid about the same or a bit less than Settha Palace but I was very, very satisfied.

From the start, I found the airport pickup and the drop-off/pickup service to town very flexible and comfortable. New cars, nice drivers. The lobby is well air-conditioned with helpful, smiling staff.

Our room was well-appointed, had a great view of their absolutely exquisite pool area, and their bathroom was modern and fascinating. I wish I had a photo but basically, they have a glass wall adjacent to the length of the tub in the bathroom. On the other side of the glass wall is basically a fully-private, 100% enclosed garden that you cannot enter. It could sound a little exhibitionist/voyeur-like but trust me, it is none of that and only very cool and peaceful even.

The hotel location is very convenient. We walked practically everywhere with no hassle and felt safe doing so. I say this because I recall reading people saying the hotel was out-of-town, etc. It is a 5-min. shuttle from the center of town on the hour in the evening with a pickup time of YOUR choosing. They will shuttle you to the airport at no charge. The walk to the main temples is less than 10-15 minutes. I don't deem this an inconvenience. It's also a 5-10 min. walk from the main market, which is fun to shop at and the biggest in Laos.

The pool was not only stunning but comfortable. The pool towel service could be more attentive though. The business center is sufficient with two modern PCs and is free. The spa was alright but I'd recommend going to a place in town as you'll get at least as good a treatment for a better price.

Finally, check out Caruso Lao crafts while there. www.carusolao.com. Owner Sandra Yuck is delightful and makes the best quality silks, woodcrafts, and silver items you'll find in Laos and probably the best you'll find in all of SE Asia. Plus, she is fluent in English having grown up in Canada though has lived in SE Asia for nearly 40 years now.

  • Liked — Great pool and clever bathroom (see review)
  • Disliked — Spa was just alright
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

Good hotel, has about 40 rooms, service is good, but just one restaurant. Nice and quiet. hotel is quite new.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — internet speed is average
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed here for three nights on a private tour of Laos. After a glitch in the pick up arrangements at the airport, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and excellence of the hotel grounds and room.

It is located a little out of town, but within walking distance and there are always inexpensive taxis available.

The rooms overlook a central garden and pool area, well designed and well maintained. A good restaurant and bar complex completes the quadrangle. Prices there were a little higher than 'downtown', but acceptable.

We would stay there again, but it is hard to see why we would want to go back to Vientiane - the locals were surprised that we had allocated three nights for it, and so were we.

  • Liked — pleasant green enviroment
  • Disliked — confusion at airport pickup
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

After initial difficulties booking with the hotel direct, they finally rung us in England to confirm. The rooms are stylish, with all the facilities that you would expect for a 4 star hotel for tourists or business people. Just about near enough to walk, 20 minutes into the centre, passed all the Government buildings in French colonial style.
Breakfasts were good, but dinners were average in a lovely restaurant on the first floor with balcony overlooking the garden and pool area.
We were not disappointed - this is Laos !

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Park Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Park Boutique Hotel is capturing a Lao style orientation with a finest contemporary architecture of Laos. The elegance of the interiors, both historic and contemporary, and glorious settings are combined to create the most distinguished collection of stylish and luxury hotel in Vientiane.Green Park Boutique Hotel is perfectly located in the central business and embassy district, with a walking distance to Morning Marketing Shopping mall (Talat Sao Market) and tourist attractions. The hotel provides free of charge scheduled shuttle bus to city center as well as complimentary bicycles use to explore most of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Boutique Vientiane
Hotel Green Park Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Park Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.