We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Park Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Green Park Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 79 hotels in Vientiane
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. Only wish we had stayed longer. Although it is a little on the expensive side the whole experience was faultless and worthwhile ... Our room was beautiful and overlooked the pool area. We had a gorgeous bathroom with a window overlooking a small enclosed garden area. The room was extremely clean and very spacious with a balcony

The pool was really lovely ... We had read previous reviews that suggested that the water was somewhat murky but we didn't find that to be the case at all. Some work was needed just to fix the pool ladders but it was minor

The staff were great and extremely helpful and it was really useful to have a free shuttle taking us into and from the centre of town which ran every hour

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    91
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
113
20
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great hotel in Vientiane to stay. The hotel is clean, quiet and spacious. Staff are very friendly and helpful. From outside, the hotel does not look big but when you get inside, you will see a big space with all green trees and grass. This will give you a peace of mind and feel quite relaxing. Recommended for stay in Vientiane.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recommended for great staff, great atmosphere and a quiet setting. Top marks for kind staff who seem to know everything, have all the answers and round up help whenever needed. Layout makes it quiet and location is good.

Room Tip: Upstairs is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were not great as they did not collect us from the airport, apparently there was a mix up with our booking and they soon refunded the $10. We were upgraded to a better room as apology which was a nice gesture but we found that we were put in a 2 bed apartment which was a little pointless seeing as there were only two of us. The surroundings are very nice and the pool area was lovely. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options and lovely fresh pastries.

But.... Somehow there were just too many niggles... The main bathroom had a very awkward shower in the bath which was difficult to use, there was a shortage of sockets throughout the room, air conditioning leaked the pool was a bit murky, beers were served warm, the spa treatments were way overpriced compared to in town, and even though we were willing to pay for one they then couldn't accommodate us anyway. In fairness staff were great and quick to help whenever asked.

They are minor issues, that would not stop me considering this hotel again, but at their prices I feel these should not exist.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Spent 4 busy business / sightseeing days in Vientiane and the Green Park Hotel was the perfect place to reload the batteries. Starting from the excellent breakfast overviewing the pool area to the relaxing and quite atmosphere when 'coming home' from the (very close located) city center. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were somewhat disappointed after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites, but we were coming from the River Resort where everything seemed flawless and effortless, so maybe the let down was inevitable. We were shown a room on the first floor and after unpacking and getting ready to head out to town for dinner, I discovered the safe didn't work. My options were to carry my camera, tablet, and a lot of documents with me or try and fix the problem. The staff came right away but I noticed even when I entered a wrong code by mistake, the safe would open, clearly it was not working properly. In the meantime, I looked over the hotel guide/instruction booklet left in the room and noticed several statements regarding security issues and that the hotel would not be responsible. The first floor room was on a corner with a balcony ground level and with outdoor corridors leading to a parking lot nearby. Just before arriving at Green Park I had also read on another site that police reports confirmed problems with theft on the premises. So, I requested a room change--extremely inconvenient for us after we had unpacked but I didn't want to lug around a lot of stuff in town. Again, the staff was very accommodating and moved us to the second floor where we felt there was less risk. And the safe worked fine. Yay! By this time we nixed the idea of taking the free shuttle into town and decided to have dinner at the hotel which was excellent.

A couple of issues came up on day 1 (beside the safe not working) and I have to say when I mentioned it to the staff they responded almost immediately. First, there were no pool lights or spot lights around the pool after dusk. I usually swim laps with goggles but thought, next time, geez I'll have to bring a waterproof head lamp. This was a safety issue as there were two children swimming in the dark pool (unattended by adults) and even folks sitting on the balconies overlooking the pool would not have been able to keep an eye on their kids because it was so dark. Secondly, one of the lower steps on the ladder at the far end of the pool was broken. Not a huge deal, but not what one expects to see at a boutique hotel.

A few notes to make visitors stay more comfortable. The first room did not have a non-skid bathmat and having to climb up stairs and step into a deep bath tub was a potential safety issue especially for elderly guests. Leaving some softer pillows in the room so guests have a choice. Lastly, the lighting was insufficient for reading. There were several lights in the room but most were ineffective.

Other than these small, really minor glitches, our stay was fine. There was wifi in the public areas, it didn't work for me in the room but not a big deal as we were there for a short stay. The architecture and courtyard garden and pool area were attractive. Staff at the front desk helpful and friendly. We enjoyed having dinner on the outside terrace upstairs. Food was good, (so were the Margaritas) and service too. Breakfast buffet fine. Coffee lattes were good.

The free shuttle to town was a nice touch. We had the driver drop us off at the Morning Market where I hired a tuktuk driver for a day of sight seeing. He dropped us off at Cope Center (a must see while in Vientiane) and it was just a short walk back to the hotel. We really enjoyed Vientiane and would probably stay longer next time but I think we would stay closer to the town center.

Room Tip: Upstairs, balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip to Vientiane. The hotel is only a short 5 minute tuktuk or van drive away from the centre of the town yet it feels a world away due to the lovely landscaping and hotel designed with all rooms facing into a lovely big courtyard area which houses a huge pond and a pleasant swimming pool.

All rooms have a private balcony/terrace area which face onto either the pond or swimming pool. We really enjoyed spending time on the balcony to enjoy a wine or two. Our only suggestion would be to include a small gate off the ground floor room terraces for direct access to the swimming pool. The room itself was a nice size including a large bed, mosquito net, a two seater sitting area, working desk, cupboards etc. There was a small mini bar available too, along with room service. Would suggest a few more juices and snacks in the mini bar but it was not anything which impacted our stay.

The bathroom was clean but had a bit of a poor layout / design in that the toilet was squeezed up against the wall - if anyone has a larger body frame, they may struggle to have a comfortable moment on this toilet ;) Apart from that, a nice combination bath / shower with a very high pressure shower head and pleasant amenities were available too, including bath robes, slippers, toothbrushes, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser.

Breakfast was to a very high standard with both local and international options and all very fresh. From freshly prepared eggs in a style of your choice (sunny side, scrambled, ommelete), bacon, sausage, ham, pastries, fruits, yoghurt, congee, etc - all available in a beautiful setting.

We ate at their restaurant many times - the food was to a good standard. We just found the local steak to be a bit on the small side. I had a salmon steak and that was absolutely beautiful and perfect. At other times, we had simple sandwiches or local dishes and they were also good. Staff were very friendly and service orientated at the restaurant. Prices were somewhat high compared to other restaurants in the region.

Swimming pool - the water did appear to be very cloudy / milky. Whether that was related to over or under chlorination or certain debris, we do not know. This didn't seem to stop other guests from using the pool so we assume it was fine.

WIFI internet was fine - we didn't experience any access issues during our stay.

I was excited to book some of the spa treatments available in their spa menu. Sadly, none of the treatments I requested, were available so I settled for a foot reflexology massage. The therapist did a fantastic job on that - it was one of the best I had ever had. It is just a shame that the hotel lost potential revenue as I was set to book several other treatments. Also, the spa facility itself, could probably use a bit of nice soothing background music and some nice burning oils to give it a bit more ambience.

Upon check-out, the manager provided us with some water and juice to bring along on our long drive up to Luang Prabang. We really appreciated that initiative.

This hotel really is great value and has a good location in Vientiane. We fully intend to book here again when we are next in Vientiane. The friendly and smiling staff were wonderful and service orientated - nothing was too much trouble for them. The staff are 5 star. Other elements are excellent and with some small tweaking, would also be 5 star too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#1 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Park Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Park Boutique Hotel is capturing a Lao style orientation with a finest contemporary architecture of Laos. The elegance of the interiors, both historic and contemporary, and glorious settings are combined to create the most distinguished collection of stylish and luxury hotel in Vientiane.Green Park Boutique Hotel is perfectly located in the central business and embassy district, with a walking distance to Morning Marketing Shopping mall (Talat Sao Market) and tourist attractions. The hotel provides free of charge scheduled shuttle bus to city center as well as complimentary bicycles use to explore most of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Green Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Boutique Vientiane
Hotel Green Park Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Park Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.