We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Park Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green Park Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Green Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Vientiane
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Altogether we spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. Located a little away from the hustle and bustle of central Vientiane, it is never the less a lovely place to stay. Our room was located on the ground floor, facing the pool and it had a lovely terrace. The bathroom was quite large BUT because the bath tub was a bit elevated, it had step to access it and thus rendering it somewhat dangerous and slippery. The sink console did not provide much space to put our toiletries and also it lacked hooks to hang hand towels and other towels.
The garden and pool area of the hotel are lovely and people are friendly, polite and helpful.

There is a free shuttle bus to take you downtown every hour and you just have to book with the reception the time when you wish to return to the hotel…useful if you do not wish to take the local transportation (taxis, tuk tuk or even bikes). The hotel has bikes for rental as well.

The breakfast spread was quite good and the place is spotless. We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel so we cannot comment on the quality of food but they did have functions when we arrived the first night and the spread of finger foods at the bar for that particular event, looked very enticing!

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor facing the pool are lovely...do not know whether all rooms are supplied with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    117
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
155
24
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston,uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel less than 10 mins from the centre by tuk tuk.
Pool and gardens gorgeous. Love the oil lamps all around in the evening.
Lovely room, great bath and shower with garden window, bit strange but very nice.
Step up to and into bath and shower might cause a problem for some.
Bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in.
Excellent breakfast and really attentive service.
Gorgeous gorgeous!
Quite a few Mosquitos around tho so spray needed. Big mall being built next door too, didn't disturb in any way but may change the vibe of Vientiane in general.
Would stay here over the more central hotels just for the pool and excellent rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is overrated.. Reception area, lounge bar and garden with pool look nice, but it feels strange to stay here. Staff looks quite demotivated except a few.. You have no feeling to be in a award winning boutique hotel but rather packed away more or less nicely outside of town.
For 160 dollar per night, you can do better..
Rooms are noisy and wrongly setup. If you sit on the sofa you cant watch tv.
Rooms are not decorated nicely and you you look at a white plain wall from bed.
Only plus: moskitonet.
Aircon terribly noisy.
Electricity goes off when you leave the room, so you cant recharge properly. Very badly positioned plugs. Cant find much positive things in here.
Chairs on balcony very uncomfortable, matrass too hard and cheap.
Restaurant offer very disappointing, food horrible and wine by glass boring. Breakfast ok but food is not protected from flies.. And in the evening, small insects would try to shre the table and plate with you.
View from the restaurant is showing clearly that nothing will be in walking distance.

Too far outside town, you need to take a shuttle bus.
Very low service level, no service at the pool, you need to find your drinks yourselve..
Towels too small, no shower at the pool.
I am happy to check out after one night, this is not at all a happy place to be.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When booking the hotel I sent the hotel manager an email to enquire about a pickup from the airport on our arrival, which remained unanswered. A week later I sent a follow up request and unfortunately again no response. I then had to resort to asking our hotel in Luang Prabang to call ahead to make arrangements for our arrival (US$10).

The setting of the hotel is nice (although a distance from the centre of town [10 minute tuk tuk journey costing +/- 50,000kip one way]) with lots of citronella candles around the fountain which gives it a tranquil feel in the evening. Good idea considering the amount of still standing water and mosquitos. The pool is unfortunately slightly green with leaves in the bottom.

When we stayed, repairs to the surrounding water feature was ongoing which made the hotel feel a little like a construction site. I am understanding of repairs that needs to be done from time to time but was irritated by the work commencing at 8am in the morning right outside our bedroom.

Asking for a late check-out (4pm where normal check-out is 2pm) we were quoted US$60 and said we will think about it. When we went to confirm the late check-out charge the following day, we were quoted US$80. We complained and the reception staff agreed to the US$60. I did not realise it was a negotiation!

Staff overall are friendly enough but some reception staff does not speak english particularly well which makes arrangements (tuk-tuk into town, restaurant bookings, etc.) a little bit tricky.

On our last day, I requested to speak to the manager to raise some of my irritations about the hotel (not responding to emails, construction starting too early and negotiations on late check-out costs) I was told there is no manager on site and that he is in Bangkok on business. I would suggest to him to try and manage his hotel better first before looking for new business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant grounds and nicely appointed rooms made the Green Park a perfectly pleasant place to stay. Mosquitos are clearly a challenge here (probably not helped by the water features that seem to operate very infrequently) but spray and nets were provided so weren't a problem. Beautiful citronella lamps everywhere in the evenings. Service varied from anxious to please to seemingly indifferent. Breakfast was consistent and good.

It's a bit of a yomp into town so be prepared to wait for the hourly shuttle bus or flag down tuk-tuks (which were the most expensive I've experienced to date) though this did lead to some good opportunities to engage with the locals

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, Surrey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Green Park boutique hotel with my wife and two teenage children for one night. The hotel is beautifully designed and has a very calm feel about itself with the rooms set around a courtyard of decorative ponds and the swimming pool. It has a very zen feel about it.

The 'green park' that the hotel is named after is an area of undeveloped land that is beginning to be encroached upon by new developments, however it does mean that breakfast can be peacefully enjoyed on the verandah overlooking the 'park'.

We had two adjacent rooms as there are no interconnecting rooms. The rooms were of a good size with very comfortable beds and decent size bathrooms with good showers. The air-conditioning was efficient and quiet. The bedrooms are stylish, but due to the design of the hotel the rooms are not overly light and bright.

The restaurant is approached using an outdoor set of steps - in the traditional Laos style. Whilst dinner was more expensive than you would expect to pay for in a Vientiane restaurant it was not excessively so and the food was good.

The breakfast is a typical Asian hotel buffet with a mix of Western and Asian dishes. Sitting on the wooden verandah looking towards Vientiane it was a very enjoyable meal.

There is a small but well-equipped gym near the swimming pool.

Free wifi is available throughout the hotel.

There is an hourly shuttle bus that runs between the hotel and the fountain in the centre of the city taking no more than ten minutes. Equally you could walk from the hotel to the central market in around 15-20 minutes or take a tuk-tuk.

The hotel will arrange hotel pick up and drop off at no charge.

I would certainly recommend the Green Park Boutique Hotel for a stay in Vientiane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Overall this is a good property but there are some small details that keep it from being a great property. We had a very large room--two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a living room and dining area. While all the furniture was lovely, it was not particularly comfortable. The shuttle bus service is convenient to get into town but the schedule is quite limited. While the garden outside the tub/shower in the bathroom is lovely to look at, there were broken slats on the fence surrounding it. To their credit, the minute we mentioned it, it was fixed. While the pool is lovely, there is no beverage or food service at the pool. A sign on the back of the door to the room advised something to the effect that bringing prostitutes or teens to the room for sex is discouraged--a bit disconcerting to see this and to have to explain it to the children. All in all the room was comfortable and we were satisfied, but they should probably pay a bit more attention to details. The food for breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We did not feel that there was a problems with mosquitos, and in fact did not use the mosquito netting at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 12 Khouvieng Road, Ban. Nongchanch P.O. Box 9698, Vientiane 9698, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vientiane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vientiane
#1 Spa Hotel in Vientiane
#2 Family Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Park Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Park Boutique Hotel is capturing a Lao style orientation with a finest contemporary architecture of Laos. The elegance of the interiors, both historic and contemporary, and glorious settings are combined to create the most distinguished collection of stylish and luxury hotel in Vientiane.Green Park Boutique Hotel is perfectly located in the central business and embassy district, with a walking distance to Morning Marketing Shopping mall (Talat Sao Market) and tourist attractions. The hotel provides free of charge scheduled shuttle bus to city center as well as complimentary bicycles use to explore most of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Green Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Boutique Vientiane
Hotel Green Park Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Park Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.