We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic but clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mali Namphu Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mali Namphu Guest House to your Saves list
Mali Namphu Guest House
114 Pangkham Road, Vientiane, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 173 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, basic but clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Shaky start after the airport transfer we arranged through Mali Namphu never showed up, the young guy on reception just shrugged when we told him (after catching a taxi). Excellent location in the middle of town. Room was quite basic and small, however, it was clean and was big enough. Breakfast was very good. As stated by others there is no lift but it wasn't an issue for us (we stayed on the 3rd floor). We could not get wireless in our room which was a minor inconvenience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    75
    40
    20
    9
See reviews for
10
60
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First night in Laos @ Malinamphu Hotel‏..is good location and center point, we can walked to the temples and Mekong river and foods.. the hotel no lift and we are stay 4th floors and air conditioner are closed and not have the remote control. we had to inform staff..he got's it! After back to room, air still closed.. high room rate compared with service. because now, Vientiane have to many hotel are new born..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We didn't had any booking, when we first arrived to Vientiane from Thailand. So we were lucky to find this wonderful place Mali Namphu. The Rate was not the cheapest, but it turns out to be value for money.

The rooms were not big, but well situated. It had aircondition, mosquito net on the window and a wardrobe with lock for valuebles. The free wifi worked perfect. The room was clean and got cleaned every day. The place don't have bike rental service, but you can rent bikes on many places. Just remember to have a copy of your passport for the deposit unless you like to leave the original one!

We stayed for three nights and booked the night sleeper vip bus tickets for Luang Prabang through the hotel reception with a pickup at the hotel included, which was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location is near with the attractive and conveniece for travel, you can walk to around. The room is clean , I stayed the triple room that very cool for me & my friends. The receiptions are very nice and cute to service , them give us the good advise for travel in vientaine. But in the morning less than space for breakfast and waiting for a while.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mekong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recommended by a colleague in Viantiane, I decided to select Mali Namphu Hotel for my business trip to Vientiane by the end of May 2013. The hotel is located in a nice place, close to the Fountain and just ten minutes walk to the riverside. There are a number of nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
The room I stayed was on the 3rd floor, very basic but more than sufficient to sweep away the tiredness from daytime activities. Stairway instead of elevator probably is a bonus for guests staying on 2nd and 3rd floor to have a small exercise, but I suggest that it is not fair for guests staying on the 1st floor…!
Breakfast was also basic but sufficient to start the day. Like most of the hotels in Laos, they start to serve breakfast at 07:00 (while in hotels of Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, breakfast is served from 06:00).
The room I stayed was in the older building with an old air conditioner installed just below the ceiling; it is a large unit with terrible noise. When the air conditioner is in operation, the noise level in the room was measured at about 40 dB; it is much higher than around 28 dB noise level when the air conditioner was off (measured by a Samsung Smart phone and Noise Meter App).
On the second day, the water heater kept the water flowing, the automatic water shutter did not work. It is quite annoying too but the problem was fixed easily.
The staffs were quite friendly but they need a lot of improvement particularly about basic information of Vientiane City – some of them even do not know where a ministry office is located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I began to stay at this guesthouse when it first opened. In its early years, the rooms were around $13, the rooms were clean and new, the breakfasts very tasty, and the staff very professional and polite. Over the years, Mali Namphu has declined. It grew in popularity so it grew in size, adding more rooms in a 4-story tower. The staff are definitely less courteous than in the past, providing little assistance. Of course, the prices have increased, but the quality of the rooms have declined.The rooms in the newer wing are very small with very little room for luggage. The bathrooms are tiny. A higher price doesn't translate to a bigger and better room, but on a higher floor. There is no elevator so the rooms should be cheaper as you go up the floor. There is no view for the higher rooms to justify the increase in price on the higher floors.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building are a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is very conveniently located close to the city centre. There is a very nice central courtyard which is a great place to relax. The room was very comfortable, clean and with a comfortable bed. It'd an easy walk to plenty of restaurants along the Mekong river and the royal palace. The fountain (Nam Phou) just 100 from the guesthouse is great and changes colours at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mali Namphu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mali Namphu Guest House

Address: 114 Pangkham Road, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mali Namphu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mali Namphu Guest House Hotel Vientiane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mali Namphu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.