We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Funky Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
Funky Monkey Hostel
Francois Ngin Road, Ban Mixai, Chanthabouly District | Fa Ngum Road, Vientiane 856, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Vientiane Travellers House Felt like a home away from home! free poll table is very good for fun,great location with everthing near by and good place for meeting new frien. Lovely people and surroundings. All staff was very very helpful and friendly.STAY HERE IF YOU ARE IN VIENTIANE.. this the best Hostel for stay in vientiane.....i come back again, Thank you

Room Tip: Room 401 good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
1
28
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Since every 3 months I need to do the Thai visa run I know Funky Monkey will be my home away from home. It is clean, well run and has the most comfortable beds EVER. The owner is amazing and goes out of his way to help in anyway possible. The downstairs chill area is cosy so your bound to stike up conversations and make a few new friends. Love this place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hostel is all a backpacker could want. Clean dorms with air con, good social area with pool table. Great place to meet people & in a good central location. This hostel is made even better by the helpful and friendly staff. Also the price at 40.000 kip with breakfast is unbeatable in my opinion......great place. Ken will take care of you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The Funky Monkey is an alright place to spend a night or two in Vientiane. Spacious dorm (40,000 kip). Cool hangout downstairs with pool table. Wifi and location are at par. Free breakfast is included.
The only serious downside is the overwhelming number of mosquitos throughout the hostel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

just let you know, i arrived in vientiane and get to this place with the advice of a local people friend. the guesthouse is situe 50meter to the mekong river, in the town center with many restaurants, bars all around and just in the riverside a little night market so cut, also 200meter far you can go to the municipality swimming pool, play tennis and watch great local football match in the national stadium. but if you want to stay cool and chill all the day, don't worry, guesthouse offers free pool, you can watch last us movies or sports or whatever you wish on the tv, just sitting on the sofa, or use good wifi connection at every floor. or you can just stay outside on the table for share your last destination with your friend or just read a book quietly. you can also bring your own food and eat it inside or outside the guesthouse. i was leaving in one of the dorm for 2 week, wish was cleaned everyday. i used to meet lots of every generations people. staff is nice and sometimes we were having a beer together, while speaking lao. well, just make it your own feeling it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great location in fun area, good environment and comfortable beds. Lots of good restaurants nearby and a walkable distance to the river. The dorms are clean and showers have good water pressure. They offer all services for your convenience like motorbike rental, bicycle rental, laundry, free western breakfast, and good English speaking staff. The management was very accommodating as well! I would return to this hostel when I get a chance to return to vientiane.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Upon our arrival the staff refused to honour the prices advertised on HostelWorld (through which we booked), nor would they recognise the deposit that I put down through the site. Staff were rude and unhelpful throughout our (thankfully brief) stay. The rooms were not particularly clean (in keeping with the rest of the hostel), the beds were also particularly uncomfortable. I realise that this is a hostel and I should not be expecting the same standards as a Marriott hotel, but this was severely substandard considering there are cleaner and cheaper hostels with better facilities, staff and atmospheres within walking distance.

The showers weren't bad, though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Hostel

Address: Francois Ngin Road, Ban Mixai, Chanthabouly District | Fa Ngum Road, Vientiane 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky Monkey Hostel offers a variety of dorms and private rooms. All with A/C and fans, WiFi in all rooms, laundry service, lockers, 24 hour security and reception and complimentary breakfast each morning. All showers are equipped with hot water All solo and group travellers are welcome. Hang out in our common room to meet other guests. We provide local tourist information and maps as well bicycle and scooter hire to get you around town. We have in house travel consulting and booking facilities includes visa specialising in bus, airline and rail bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Funky Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.